We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation close to Yosemite.”
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, wasn't sure what to expect for $75 p/night but we were pleasantly surprised when we walked into our room. It was huge! It was nice and clean and well styled with a comfy King bed, microwave, fridge and small dining table. Also a small balcony out the back of the room. It is well located in Mariposa, only a short walk to some good restaurants and the supermarket. The only small issue some people may not enjoy is the noise of the heater but this wasn't a big issue to us.
The drive into Yosemite is approx. 40 minutes and is a great scenic drive. We really enjoyed staying here and would definitely stay at the Mariposa Lodge again if ever back in the area. Can''t beat it for the location and price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme_Mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 625 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was a nice place to stay for our 2-day visit to Yosemite. It's located outside the park (45mins drive) but the price makes it worthwhile. The room was big, clean and comfortable. Downtown Mariposa is small but a little place to walk around and has some nice places to have breakfast or dinner. Go to The Alley bar for nice beer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

For the price (especially when compared to the lodging options in the park) this place was a no brainer. The room was roomy, comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. We went in Feb 2014 and we were one of the few people staying at the lodge. The drive from here to Yosemite was only about 40 minutes, and being that it's a scenic drive it makes this hotel an even better value.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyTravels29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We arrived at this hotel for a 2 night stay on the 2nd January 2014. We had moved our booking from Cedar Lodge within the Yosemite park due to the time of year we were visiting and we had not read great things about that hotel.

We were so pleased we did move, this hotel was fantastic as a base for visiting Yosemite. We had booked a tour to go to Yosemite as we had read the weather would be really bad and as it was our first visit we were not sure what to expect.

We arrived at the hotel late afternoon after a 7 hour drive from Vegas. The woman on the check-in desk was welcoming and very friendly and quickly checked us in. We parked easily and was really pleased with the room, it was big, airy and spotlessly clean. We had one big double bed with a large dresser with a TV and a table with 4 chairs so you could easily bring food in if you wanted. There was a fridge and a little alcove with a rail for hanging clothes, coats etc and room underneath to store your cases. This was out of the way of the main bed part of the room so it was all hidden really which was useful.

The bathroom was a decent size, the shower was powerful and there were plenty of towels provided. There is a coffee machine in the bathroom with a hairdryer fixed to the wall just above it.

We didn't use the pool even though the weather was unseasonably warm for the time of year but it looked clean and well kept. Mariposa itself was a lovely little town, there were some great places to eat and a couple of nice bars to have a nice drink in. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Yosemite in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tink1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had never stayed in Mariposa before, but chose this accommodation because the people we were travelling with had dogs. This was listed as a pet friendly hotel. The front office was immaculate. We were placed in an end room, which had a king bed. The room was large and well laid out. The bathroom was spacious. The shower was spic and span and nicely tiled. The bed was comfortable. There was a flat screen TV. The heater worked very well (and it was chilly weather). Parking was right outside of the room. The grounds were also immaculate with nice plantings. I felt that this was one of the cleanest establishments I have stayed in, both inside and out. It was also very cost efficient, especially a great value compared with staying inside Yosemite National Park, which I had done recently for more cost and a much less nice room. We came by in the off season, so had the entire row of rooms to ourselves. That made it very quiet. Our family members had the room next door and even though they had two big dogs with them, we did not hear them through the walls. The place seems handicapped friendly as well. All in all, I would say the management does a very good job of keeping up this place and we would return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CacheOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here on two occasions and have found the Mariposa Lodge to be a great alternative to staying in Yosemite itself. Rooms are spacious, clean, and have microwave and a small refridgerator. The grounds are pleasant and the lodge is located within easy walking distance of downtown. The savings is well worth the extra time it takes to gget to the park.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Large room, king bed, fridge and microwave. Compared to other budget accommodation we have stayed in, this is easily the best. The heater was very loud, however, for $75 a night, you can't expect everything to be perfect. The room was clean and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Essence_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
20.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
13.5 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
23 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Address: 5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range: $98 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariposa Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Mariposa
Americas Best Value Inns Mariposa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing