We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but overprised” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Certificate of Excellence
Solrød Strand, Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok, but overprised”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This motel is OK, but overprised. The aircondition was so noisy, that it was difficult to sleep and it did not really get the rook cooled down anyway. Nice and clean though. No breakfast and no restaurant available. You had to cross the street to a nice little restaurant to get some breakfast

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lars C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    275
    113
    27
    16
See reviews for
150
252
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our room was great: new carpet, paint and bathroom . Bed was really comfy. Only lack were towel rack in the bathroom. Reception helpful and knowledgeable. Quiet! Just 1 hour to the Valley, either Mariposa Grove or the West entrance.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikirose13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at this lodge instead of staying inside Yosemite Park. We enjoyed our stay here. Plenty of food in walking distance. Our room was quiet and comfortable. Everything was clean. I would recommend Mariposa Lodge. The bathrooms are updated. However, the shower head is fixed and if you are short, then it's right in your face. Our guide for our tour of Yosemite was able to pick us up at this location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Mariposa Lodge for two nights on August 6 and 7, 2013. We were very pleasantly surprised. The Lodge was cute and had very pretty flowers all around the property. The rooms are all exterior and you pull your car up to your door. Our room was very large and comfortable. What matters the most to me and my family is how clean everything is and it definitely was very clean. The shower worked great and we were able to relax and watch some TV after a long day in Yosemite! We didn't use the pool but even though it was small it wasn't crowded. The office staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet and we really didn't hear any street noise or neighbor noise. There are several good places to eat nearby and the town is old fashioned cute! Yosemite is about an hour's drive away but it's a nice drive and we didn't have any traffic ( we went early). I would definitely recommend a stay at the Mariposa Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiedust49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids mi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights based on reviews & location & were very satisfied! We were pleasantly surprised at how large the room was. The bed was extremely comfortable & we slept like rocks! The room was very clean, which is key to getting a good review from me. Plenty of restaurants to choose from in the town & the front desk has a book with menus from each. We enjoyed our meal at Happy Burger so much we got takeout the next night as well (try the teriyaki chicken sandwich, I had it 2 nights in a row).
Now for some tourist tips. We arrived mid afternoon on a Wed and had to leave town by mid afternoon on Friday so we stopped to the visitor center to find out how we could maximize our time there. The woman that helped us said there are 2 MUST SEE destinations: Mariposa Grove of the Giant Sequoias (not in the town of Mariposa) and Glacier Point. She was dead on with this advice. We drove to Mariposa Grove the evening we arrived. We took 49 to the grove...a little over an hour drive. Amazing place to visit....LOVED it! Barely any crowd that late in the day. The next morning we set out for Yosemite Valley. The drive is very twisty & I did not like it. We left at 8:00am and barely encountered any traffic, which was great. Took under an hour to get to the first stop of Bridal Veil Falls (very easy, short paved hike). In the valley we used the free shuttles to hop on & off a few stops then headed towards Glacier Point. It is about 1hour 15min from the valley floor. Again, hated the dizzying drive but when the scene unfolds before you it takes your breathe away. LOVED this place too! We then drove back to the valley & went to the stops we still wanted to see. We really got a lot in, everything we wanted to see. We left the valley around 7:15pm because I did not want to be on the roads after the sun set. Again, very few cars on the road.
Stay here, stop at the visitor center & enjoy your trip. The whole experience was more than we expected.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyof4fromGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at this motel for 2 nights while visiting Yosemite. Usually I like to stay within the park when visiting our national parks but the poor quality and high prices of in-park accomodations lately has me leaning more toward these hotels on the edges of the parks instead. This hotel was about an hour from Yosemite valley driving one path and an hour from Wawona via Oakhurst driving the other path. So a fine location for a full day visit to park but not really practical to go back to in middle of the day or anything. We were happy with the room and beds. Pool and hot tub are small but we used them both evenings to cool down after hiking at the park and were satisfied. Several places to eat and shop within easy walking distance of the motel. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank spiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We chose to stay here versus paying the higher prices for places within Yosemite or very close to it. We have learned (the hard way) that very often you are not getting what you pay for at these places. Many times they are overcharging and not bothering about taking care of the lodgings because they know they have you over a barrel and that you will pay it regardless.

When we arrived, we went to check in at the office. The lodge is obviously a family run operation, as there was a mother with her kids in the office. She had a little trouble finding our reservation, which made us a bit anxious, but she did locate it and gave us a room away from the other occupants. This made for a quieter stay, which was much appreciated.

We inquired about laundry facilities and while the hotel didn’t have any for the lodgers to use, she gave us directions to one in town. As it was a rainy afternoon, we figured it would be a good time to do it.

The room was supposed to be a non-smoking room, but you could tell by the stale, musty smell that the previous occupants had smoked quite a bit in there. I sure hope they were charged the hefty fine the sign stated violators would incur for breaking the rule. Opening the windows helped vent the room, but, as anyone who has had to deal with cigarette smoke knows, it is quite near impossible to totally get rid of. It is because of this unfortunate detail that I had to rate the cleanliness lower than I might have otherwise.

The room came equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, TV, and Wi-Fi. While the lodge didn’t serve complimentary breakfast, we went to the grocery store in town and got our own breakfast items.

The town of Mariposa, while small, still has a number of restaurants and other essential services, so you should be able to find anything you need.

This was a fine alternative to paying the high cost of staying closer or within the park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandVtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
13.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
20.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
0.6 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Property: Mariposa Lodge
Address: 5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariposa Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Mariposa
Americas Best Value Inns Mariposa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing