We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel !”
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We really fell in love with this place, on our way to Yosemite ! Hotel is very nice, rooms are spacious and clean, we felt like at home ! The pool is not big but ok for the kids since it was very hot. Girl at front desk is ok.
Had a terrific diner at Happy Burger !

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank louloute921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 618 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

I don't have a bad review about the hotel. However, the young lady that attended us when we arrived on June 20nd at 11 am-ish, were almost yelling at us for arriving before the cheking-in hour, she was very impolite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannier p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of May 2013.
Pros: the motel is clean and quiet. The queen bed was very comfortable. The room was large and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I found the whole town to be friendly.
Cons. No microwave or refrigerator in the room. The 27" tv needed to be updated. The room was pricey for what you get. But this is due to the closeness to Yosemite, all the hotels in Mariposa are over priced.

I would stay here again. It provided a great home-base for daytime trips to Yosemite Park. The Pizza Factory has good pizza and green salads with 10% off if you go to their website

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spacious and comfortable rooms. Car park is in front of the rooms so you won't have to walk far or climb too much to reach your room. Staff is very friendly and helpful in advising us on a day trip to Yosemite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violetferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Mariposa Lodge is a nice place to stay. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. The front desk was very good at making recommendations (Charles Street Dinner House was an excellent recommendation), and helpful with any questions. We had a double queen room and noticed that the room was bigger than the typical chain hotel room. It is nice having that extra space when having four people in the room.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in the Yosemite area.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Mariposa Lodge was OK, but I'm having a little trouble understanding all the "excellent" ratings. It's an "average" motel...or a little better. If a 3-1/2 rating was possible, I would go for that.

We stayed in one of the dog friendly room...#104 as I recall. May be these rooms are not as nice as others as I felt that our room, although clean, was in need of a facelift. The location is excellent. You can walk to all the restaurants in town.

The young gals at the front office were nice and helpful. For a motel that bills itself as dog friendly it sure would have been nice if the Mariposa Lodge would have provided a little strip of grass. Our dogs are "city-girls" and they have a little trouble getting the hang of being out in the country where grass is not readily available.

Mariposa gets HOT...!! When we checked in at 4:00 PM it was 97 degrees in the shade. That was considered cool. The day before the temperature had been 111 degrees...!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Chose this motel in Mariposa to stay while visiting Yosemite for two nights. There are closer options, but much more expensive, so for this reason, it suited our needs. If it were not for being within an hour of Yosemite, I would say this place is very overpriced. It is basically an older, although well maintained, motel or motor lodge. Rooms are older, but very clean and spacious. There was a mini fridge and microwave in the room. Coffeemaker in the bathroom with decent coffee (usually this coffee is awful). No breakfast included, but I knew that when booking - eat at Sugar Pine Cafe! (see other reviews). Good choices for eating within walking distance. Right in the center of a very small town. Very small outdoor swimming pool and hot tub. Not heated and very cold, so really couldn't use the pool in June. Did use hot tub once. Was disappointed with the described "courtyard view" - aka parking lot! Nice landscaping around parking lot, but that's about it. Also, if you are on the 1st floor, your "patio" consists of two plastic chairs outside of your door, in front of your air conditioning unit, looking at the parking lot - not exactly what I envisioned. Did have one small maintenance issue that was handled quickly. Overall, this is still a good value for the area, but would be way overpriced if it were anywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms face the parking area, no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
13.5 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,187 reviews
20.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
23.0 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Address: 5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range: $128 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariposa Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Mariposa
Americas Best Value Inns Mariposa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing