We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming again”
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just checked in, busy saturday night for a little town and the weather is amazing. The Hotel is right in the middle of town which makes it perfect to walk around to the restaraunts and shops. Got honest reccomendations for dinner and breakfast from the very nice young lady at the front desk, made us feel very welcomed, and helped alot with the area.The room is super clean and spacious with wonderfully kept gardens out front. The pool and spa are very small, but nice and the bed is super comfortable. We will definatly keep this place in mind! Im only rating the fitness center as terrible because there was none...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jared S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 620 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hmmm...my husband and I found this to be a clean place but not great for a solid night's sleep - which is our top priority.
We ended up in a room near the street, but the very loud A/C unit (which we don't mind so much) did a pretty good job drowning it out. The main problem for us with the loud A/C unit was that it would totally shut off when the room finally got cool. So we went from loud white noise to zero white noise - very disruptive for sound sleep.
The night we stayed as on a warmer day, so the room was very warm when we got in about 9 PM. It took hours to cool down the room.
The mattress was too saggy for us. With the warm room and the saggy mattress pushing up around me, I ended up sleeping on the floor for a few hours till I could stand the heat the mattress put off. Then we both got cold on top with having to run the A/C at the lowest temp possible to keep it from shutting off. Last part of the night was disrupted with being hot on the mattress and cold (even with the duvet) on top of us...ugh....
The internet connection was a bit of an issue at first. Try a couple of the extra connection options for a better connection.
The service we experienced was tired after a long day and a little apathetic. The office smells very clean.
Won't be back. We'll stick with better accommodations in Oakhurst.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room in the back to get some distance from noise from loud vehicles on the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaLovesPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Not 'cheap' but probably one of the best value places within 1 hour drive of Yosemite. Beds are exceptionally comfortable and staff were helpful and friendly. We didn't get a chance to use the jacuzzi and pool but it looked very clean and pleasant. Very easy to walk to a couple of great places to eat in less than 5 minutes. This gives better food options than staying closer to or within Yosemite NP.

Room Tip: It is on the main road, so you may want to request a room away from the road. Although we certainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jilly1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a great find cheap and cheerful but staff knowledge about area was great outdoor pool and jacuzzi and we definitely needed this after a long walk ay in the park great restaurants in walk distance and great little shop opposite for breakfast

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. Large comfortable room with table and chairs. Balcony with two chairs. Super comfortable bed. Although on the main road the place is set back and my room was very quiet. The room was very clean and the staff pleasant. Walking distance to shops and diners in town. Allow an hour and a quarter for the drive to Yosemite park. One quibble. They could put more than one coffee satchet and two tea bags in the room like all the other places I stayed on this trip.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony facing the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mistral260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. Our room was large and clean and the bathroom was modern. The grounds were nicely appointed and there were tables for sitting outside. The location is such that you can walk to local restaurants and a couple of taverns. Service was friendly, helpful and efficient. I would definitely recommend staying here while in Mariposa. If you are looking for a Yosemite base, the drive along Highway 140 is extremely scenic and takes approximately an hour. Our only complaint was that the wifi was not always reliable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here 14th September 2012. We stayed here as hotels in Yosemite are a bit hit and miss. You will not be disappointed with this hotel. The rooms are big and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the swimming pool and spa ( although small) is beautiful in the evening and is a good spot with a beer. The court yard has free and secure parking and there are lots of summer seats around for a sit down in the sun.free wifi also. Got up the the next morning fully refreshed for a day at Yosemite. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank francey75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
13.5 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,187 reviews
20.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
23.0 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Address: 5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range: $128 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariposa Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Mariposa
Americas Best Value Inns Mariposa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing