We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Mariposa
Post
Inbox
Search
California State Mining and Mineral Museum
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great specimen and some amazing information

Spent about an hour - I was the only one in there during the time. They have great samples and... read more

Reviewed October 22, 2019
nancyjesca
,
El Segundo, California
Great site to visit

Ranger Randy was great. He welcomed us and checked in on us constantly throughout our tour. He... read more

Reviewed August 2, 2019
AllenM1191
,
Leitchfield, Kentucky
via mobile
Read all 90 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Mariposa
from $118.79
More Info
from $152.57
More Info
from $142.57
More Info
from $257.41
More Info
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
60
23
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
60
23
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mine shaft gold nugget junior ranger fair grounds scale model gold exhibit on display on duty gold rush gift shop minerals fairgrounds tunnel rocks gems randy fricot
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 90 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2019

Spent about an hour - I was the only one in there during the time. They have great samples and good information

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank nancyjesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019 via mobile

Ranger Randy was great. He welcomed us and checked in on us constantly throughout our tour. He encouraged our son to try and complete the junior ranger handout (which he did). There was plenty to see, with all types of gemstones from around the world. There is part of an old mine shaft to walk through as part of the tour. Very educational and I would highly recommend it.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank AllenM1191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

Fantastic and very educational esp. regarding the gold rush days. We stopped here when it was 101 degrees out. I can't believe it is such as well kept secret. We were the only ones in there and the gentleman that worked there knew everything. They have a indoor mining shaft that is a great way to get the feel of how the miners felt. The museum has been robbed a few years ago and some thieves took their entire gold exhibit, except for the giant gold nugget that was in a large safe. I love this place!

Date of experience: July 2019
4  Thank Odyssey796690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2019

I take my friends, family, and friends kids here all the time! Randy is the greatest! This place is so neat. They have rocks from all over the place in different stages. So informative. There's even a Mine shaft to get a first hand idea of what miners did underground. Good clean fun!!

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank KariOnTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

If not for the rain, we would have been hiking today and would not have discovered this gem!!! We decided that this would keep two 9 year-olds entertained for an hour or two but we did not realize how much fun they would have. They learned so much about the different gemstones, California mining history and the most expensive mineral (which is not the diamond!) Ranger Randy was awesome!!! He was so informative and just so passionate about imparting his knowledge to others, you can’t help but feel as excited as the kids are If you are unsure of visiting, just go! You will not regret it!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank TravelingDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews