We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go Garlic Balls!!!”
Review of C&O Trattoria

C&O Trattoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Venice
Description: C&O Trattoria (C&O) has been open since 1969. Now a well known Venice Beach landmark, serving Northern Italian breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. It has become known for good food and friendly service in a relaxed garden setting. On May 1, 1993, C & O Trattoria officially opened a Northern Italian concept, unlike any other in Los Angeles, serving gargantuan portions of high quality Northern Italian pastas at unbelievably low prices. Add our "Killer Garlic Rolls," nightly sing along, honor wine bar, and friendly team service and you have the C & O Trattoria, one of LA's premier Northern Italian eateries.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Go Garlic Balls!!!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

While vacationing in California, we looked online for a restaurant with outdoor seating (in Marina Del Rey area). We decided on C&O Trattoria as the seating area looked nice. It was right around the corner from Venice Beach and I vaguely remembered biking past it a few days before. We were immediately pleased with the atmosphere. It had heaters as well for the evening. I kept reading about the Garlic Balls online and was curious about them. They arrived soon after we did and the waitress told us the plate would keep being filled every 5-10 minutes. She was correct and we had to stop eating them as we knew (and we were told) we would spoil our appetite. They were delicious! Can't say enough about them. The waitress was fantastic. She was knowledgeable, made suggestions, and explained how dishes could be modified to our liking. The soup, pastas, and pizza were great. The service was as well. It was quite fast - almost too fast if you wanted to hang out for a while before dinner. If you are in the area, give it a try - even just to try the Garlic knots...rolls...balls... Whatever you call them, they are yummy good!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tafierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at C&O Trattoria, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you so much fro writing the kind review! We always love hearing that our customers enjoy their time with us, as we take great pride in our service and menu items! We hope you come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    206
    73
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best garlic knots ever”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The italian food is okay - but the best part is the having a glass of wine or beer and eating warm, buttery, salty delicious C&O's garlic knots until you burst!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at C&O Trattoria, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your review Michelle! We love hearing how much everyone loves our Killer Garlic Rolls, and this is no exception! We look forward to seeing you in for more Garlic rolls and wine soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Long time favorite”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have been going to this restaurant for well over 20 years and the experiences have been consistently good. The "killer garlic rolls" are amazing with endless refills - just don't overdo it or else you won't be able to finish your main course. The calimari is a great way to start the meal and the pastas are delicious. The atmosphere is always lively so if you are looking for a quiet dinner this may not be the place for you. The servers work as a team so anytime you need something you can ask any of them and they will help you out. This is also a great place for Sat/Sun breakfast/brunch. Can't beat sitting out on the patio enjoying the amazing So Cal Weather literally 100yards from the beach. The combination of a great location, really good food, lively atmosphere and reasonable prices makes C & O a must whenever I am in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at C&O Trattoria, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, and for your loyalty as a customer! We pride ourselves on being a very welcoming and enjoyable place, so we are always very excited to hear that people have been satisfied our meals and atmosphere for so long. We look forward to continuing to live up to that service for you, for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a great place for a solid meal and found it! Food was perfect - atmosphere fantastic. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank DMLaRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at C&O Trattoria, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Not so much...”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We'd been recommended to go to C&O, but found it a bit too heavingly busy, noisy and hectic for our tastes. The food wasn't wonderfully-cooked, and though we had reserved a table earier in the day, we still had to stand in line waiting for quite a long time till one became free. So - hallo?- what's the point in making a reservation. We felt a bit like units moved through a food-retail process. Wouldn't go back based on this experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jojoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C&O Trattoria also viewed

 
Marina del Rey, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Marina del Rey, CA
Marina del Rey, CA
 

Been to C&O Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing