We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent italian with great service in venice”
Review of C&O Trattoria

C&O Trattoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Venice
Description: C&O Trattoria (C&O) has been open since 1969. Now a well known Venice Beach landmark, serving Northern Italian breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. It has become known for good food and friendly service in a relaxed garden setting. On May 1, 1993, C & O Trattoria officially opened a Northern Italian concept, unlike any other in Los Angeles, serving gargantuan portions of high quality Northern Italian pastas at unbelievably low prices. Add our "Killer Garlic Rolls," nightly sing along, honor wine bar, and friendly team service and you have the C & O Trattoria, one of LA's premier Northern Italian eateries.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent italian with great service in venice”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We were greated by the extremely friendly serving staff and immediately taken to a table in the courtyard.

Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable of the menu and gave us his advice and recommendations which were greatly received.

We had antipasti to share to start and each had pasta as a main. Accompanied by a magnum of house chianti that you only pay for what you drink.

A word of advice. Dont fill up on the complementary garlic bread! We found it impossible however as it is delicious!

For three people with tip it was $150. A great place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    209
    74
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Göteborg
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic - garlic bread from heaven”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The italian cousin at Trattoria is wonderful. The service marvelous and the size of the portions big. Don't miss out on the garlic bread...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank s96talle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Makes You Feel Like Family”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Visiting schools in the L.A. area and dropped in one night. Old world charm with an updated menu. Owner came by our table and remembered us the next day. At ~ 8:30 they sing "That's Amore" and all the servers toast everyone in the place. Food was good, however, you can easily split an entree as the portions are enormous. Garlic rolls are to die for (and the keep coming the entire time you're seated). The white bean soup was amazing, pasta not over sauced. Prices are very reasonable and there was a line outside both nights we were there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justsayhey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good and affordable”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The experience here is magnificent. The sing-a-long, mentioned by others, makes for a special night if you're looking for that experience. We enjoyed that, but were primarily interested in the food. The food was a 4/5. The service was a 5/5. We had three things: pasta bolognese, eggplant parmiagiana, and shared a Mediterranean salad. The salad and bolognese were EXCELLENT. The only minor negative? The eggplant. Although we were told it was prepared fresh, it came out in perfect circles and seemed a little too battered for both of us. Still, good, but I would make another menu choice next time. The server was outstanding. Was honest about what didn't work on the menu and honest about what did. And he was right. Be careful on the garlic balls. Like those can't-resist chips & salsa at your favorite tex-mex place, these can fill you up in a hurry. Overall, highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JudgeAlexT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenton ,va
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great food nice outdoor seating”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Met with an old friend here and staff let us visit for "hours". The food was great , plentiful and very affordable. Thanks for letting us have our reunion!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank perWarrenton_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C&O Trattoria also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Marina del Rey, CA
 

Been to C&O Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing