We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Buna

Cafe Buna
Ranked #13 of 133 Restaurants in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Venice
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We live near Cafe Buna and often walk there for breakfast. For such a small space, they have a very large and varied menu. Everything is prepared well and served in generous portions. We have taken many friends and family members there and all of them have enjoyed their meals. The omlettes and pancakes are favorites of ours. The people who work there are all friendly and helpful. Great neighborhood restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marsha665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    34
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the walk from Venice strip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great place for a quick bite...with so many selections for a great breakfast ! Awesome omelets,→ with the healthy conscience in mind.! 1.2 miles from the Venice Pier and Beach.! Great, fast service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigBear_in_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
189 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wow! This place ROCKS IT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great prices, great service and an early dining breakfast special, all located on a busy street. This is obviously a local's delight since most folks were addressed by name. I would almost consider moving here to get back there!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, WA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow! Great Food Plus Many Gluten Free Choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife has celiac disease so when we eat out she has to get gluten free meals. This restaurant was walking distance from our motel when we last stayed in Venice/Marina Del Rey, CA. We like to go there to chill and take in all that is "Los Angeles" while we are at it.

This restaurant was recommended by the hotel manager (I think he was the manager). We stayed at The Inn At Marina Del Rey Best Western. Guy's name was Jerry. Anyway, we go there for breakfast. Awesome meals. Wife had a gluten free big breakfast that consisted of a very yummy Turkey omlet and fresh fruit. I had Chorizo egg scramble. Also quite tasty. The apple juice is like fresh home made cider. When we left I ordered a large Caramel Macchiato to go. It looked like a work of art. I didn't want to disturb it, but being the caffeine addict I am, I had to do it. Tasted fantastic.

We dined here three more days. Had lunch and three more breakfasts. For lunch I had a Turkey club sandwich. It looked like fresh carved turkey. Wife I think had a salad. Breakfasts were Cornflake French Toast (highly recommended), Pancakes and eggs, and cinnamon-raisin French Toast. All great. They also have a red velvet white chocolate chip pancake dish that I did not try but want to try it next time we are in Venice/MDR. Wife tried a sample of the corn bread French toast, and I tried it too. It was great and totally gluten free. They have a LOT of gluten free choices. Including gluten free pancakes (wife had them) and they are fabulous.

Our servers were great. I did not get the names of the two gentlemen who served us but our main server was a really cool lady named Donna. You can't miss her, she will be going around in there like a whirling dervish, serving customers, pouring coffee, etc. She has this bubbly personality that is so magnetic, she is absolutely irresistible. You will want her to serve your table for sure.

They have a lot of gluten free items on their menu. Open from 6 am to 4 pm daily. The biggest breakfast menu of really great foods and many choices of meats and different pancakes and French Toast, too many to list. They have a menu. Then they have a chalk board which is full of more items. Then they have a smaller chalk board for overflow items. Then they have a white paper poster with more items, and one more paper with even more items. How can you go wrong eating here? I don't know. Great servers, great food, great location if you are staying on or around Washington Blvd near Lincoln. (about a mile from the beach). There are also tables on the sidewalk if you want to eat outside.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband had the vegetarian omelet with hashbrowns (huge!!!) and I had the cornflake french toast with strawberries and bananas. We ate every drop! The best I have ever had. Cannot wait to go back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cbauer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Buna also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Buna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing