We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise!”
Review of The Kinney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kinney
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Chose this hotel because of a deal on another site. I was pleasantly surprised to find the location was perfect and so close to the beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast provided in the morning got a thumbs up from both of my kids, and myself. The parking garage is free and convenient and it took us less than five minutes (hitting ever light) to get to the beach! I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you Marianne! We sincerely appreciate the time you took to write this review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, free parking garage and friendly service.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Warmest regards,

Stacey Rivera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    533
    131
    32
    10
See reviews for
505
409
50
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

The room decor and layout was wonderful. Staff was friendly and helpful. It was about a mile to the Venice pier with lots of interesting shops nearby. It was also very convenient to LAX. This is now my first choice when staying in LA.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahalo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our friendly team members and closeness to Venice Beach. We hope to see you again soon.
General Manager
Stacey Rivera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I was surprised to find this unique, well-located, recently rehabbed property priced so moderately in the expensive Marina del Rey area. Yes, it is probably a converted 1960s motel, but the conversion includes granite countertops on the bar and bathroom surfaces, oversized rooms, coffee available near the front desk 24-7, 2 computers with printers attached in the lobby, a cool fire pit with seating and small pool on the second level and a helpful staff. It has a 'Wow' feeling.
The housekeeper stopped his task to allow me to check in for my flight. The desk clerk offered to book a transfer back to the airport for me in a car for just a few dollars more than the cost of a taxi. At 4:00 in the morning, this reduces stress.
Located in a mixed neighborhood of small businesses, fast food and quality restaurants, it is about a 15 minute walk to the ocean.
Yes, the rooms that face Washington Blvd are a bit noisy with traffic at night, but the sound deadening (and light restricting) inner curtains help allay that problem. I even slept with the window open one night. And, the breakfast room is small with much dancing around to pick up food and drink. Try it later after the early departures get out the door, or grab a muffin and a cup of coffee and sit in the lobby and enjoy a book until the crowd eases. These are small, to me, concerns in an otherwise enjoyable, low cost stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your time! Your review is important to us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your compliments on our friendly team members and modern furnishings. We hope you come back again soon.

Warmest regards,

Stacey Rivera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
177 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Chose this hotel as it was close to the airport (have just flown in from Sydney) and I had work to do both in Santa Monica & Costa Mesa. It was exactly what I needed. Clean comfortable rooms. Helpful staff. Adequate breakfast. If you're looking for 5 star - look elsewhere. If you're after a comfortable nights sleep in a well run hotel at a reasonable price then this one's for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the road as they will be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurferPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your review, Pete! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and especially our comfortable rooms and helpful team members. We hope you come back again soon.

Warmest regards,

Stacey Rivera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had a medical emergency while vacationing in LA, but the staff quickly became like a family supporting us with last minute changes and helping out. I cannot say enough nice things about the staff, and I normally can find fault rather easily. But my wife, son and I were also impressed by the space in the room and the privacy the room gave us.

Great area, and close to many things to do.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tong1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We genuinely appreciate your feedback. Thank you! Your compliments about our helpful team members will be shared. I hope to meet you and your family, should you return.

All the best,

Stacey Rivera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was a great little hotel. We were in town to see The Eagles in concert (reopening after a $100M renovation). The location was perfect, the room was clean and well appointed and the front desk staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. Parking is free and secure inside the hotel. The only down side is our room was right on Washington - it's a busy street but given we were exhausted after 3 hour concert we really didn't mind. It was quiet until about 6 am so ask for a room off of Washington Blvd. Our friends were in the back and there was definitely a difference. But other than that it was just fine and we would definitely stay again. C&O Cucina down the street (see separate review) was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side away from Washington Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12Susan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We genuinely appreciate the time you’ve spent on your review. Glad you enjoyed our friendly service and well appointment room. Should you have the opportunity to return, we will gladly provide you with a room in a different area.

With hospitality,

Stacey Rivera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was really very impressed with the Inn at Marina del Rey. The entire hotel is very well run. Staff are extremely friendly, from top to bottom (management to front desk to breakfast server to cleaning staff to ....). Staff are helpful and friendly.

Parking on-site is free and abundant.

The location is excellent to explore the west side of LA. The large beach area is a close driving distance. Highway access to the 90 is easy. The hotel is close to the intersection of Washington and Lincoln, and has a myriad of restaurants, grocery stores, and shops if necessary.

The modern suite rooms are extremely clean and well maintained. Each room is equipped with a microwave oven, bar fridge, two TVs, comfortable seating area, comfortable bed. I found the bar fridge and microwave to be particularly helpful as I stayed for a longer period.

The complementary breakfast, for this class of hotel is best-in-class. A huge desire for me in the morning are eggs. Not only are scrambled eggs on offer but boiled eggs as well. And, instead of sugar laden Quaker Oats oatmeal packages, fresh, natural oatmeal is made every morning. You want it sweetened? There are raisins. You like nuts? There are shaved almonds. Coffee and tea are abundant. There are even gourmet teas. I had one called Watermelon Green Tea. Pastries, fruit, yogurt, waffle maker, all provided. Likely the best breakfast set up I've had at a hotel in this class for quite some time. I get the sense the hotel has gone over and above the call of duty here to try to exceed expectations. They have definitely done so, in my opinion.

Computers with printer access in the lobby are complimentary. The common seating areas are inviting, including the outdoor seating in the courtyard adjacent to the pool and hot tub.

Inn at Marina del Rey is a fantastic place to stay. On my next trip to southern California, I intend to stay here again.

If I had one minor quibble, I found the free wi-fi connection to be a bit slow. At times the connection was extremely slow. At other times, speed was better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cabbagetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinney

Property: The Kinney
Address: 737 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5542 (Formerly The Inn at Marina del Rey)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kinney 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our playful style and central location, live like a local at The Kinney hotel in Venice Beach. Grab your entourage and truly experience So Cal - from courtyard loungin' to beach cruisin' - our house is your house. Keep the Snaps going with complimentary Wi-Fi, cool off in our dipping pool, and when you're ready to call it a night, refresh in brand-new beds. Now is the time to truly experience Venice (and give your friends a little FOMO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing