We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible customer service and clean , spacious rooms.”
Review of The Kinney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kinney
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Incredible customer service and clean , spacious rooms.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Convenient secure self parking at no charge. Staff (Jason and Francisco) very knowledgeable of LA area. Great home baked oatmeal raisin cookies at check in. Wonderful breakfast. Cleaning staff courteous and helpful. Even the other international and local guests were friendly. Great location for restaurants: Cucina for Italian and Eva at Akbar Indian cuisine. Jason recommended both. Loved the patio firepit and exceptionally reasonable room rates for the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normnbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our knowledgeable staff and nearby restaurants. Please come back to see us again soon! We genuinely appreciate your business.
Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    541
    131
    34
    11
See reviews for
513
419
54
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Inn at Marina del Rey for 4 nights, from the 14-18th of August.

Breakfast was included and you could get tea, coffee, and cockies for free in the lobby. There is this cute little pool area, which is open 24 hours a day. It is located near the beach, and the beach Broadway is lively and filled with small stores, which is well suited for tourists!
Room quality overall was perfect, there was a small kitchen area with a microwave, a fridge and a coffee machine. Our room was cleaned every day, we got new towels, the staff made our beds and fulfilled all of our needs.

Service was REALLY good! One of the Staff members named Jason, was exceptionally friendly - he helped us finding the best places to eat, what to see while we visited LA and how to get around safely. We needed a new suitcase, and he told us where it would be cheapest.
They let us check out an hour later than we were supposed to, and they kept our luggage while we were waiting. The common areas were nice with free Wi Fi, we even stayed there for 4 hours after we checked out because of our late flight departure, they didn't mind that at all and were still
friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajlacatovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We greatly appreciated your review, and thank you for choosing the Inn at Marina del Rey. It’s nice to see that you enjoyed our friendly service, and swimming pool. Please come back to see us again very soon. We’ll have the cookies ready for you!
Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here on a recent visit to LA.

It was a $25 cab ride from LAX.

The rooms were nice & clean. Also very spacious. Although we did not spend a lot of time in the actual hotel, as we were out seeing the sights.

The breakfast was good, with lots of various hot & cold foods available (oatmeal, cold cereal, make your own waffles, scrambled eggs, bacon, yogurt, fruits, juices, coffee & teas) The attendant was filling up foods that needed to be replenished, very quickly. The breakfast room was average size, but was full both days I was there. You could also take a plate to various other spots around the hotel. Just make sure you're down there before they stop serving, or you'll be out of luck!

The second morning I was there, I arrived to breakfast a little late & had to wait in line for food! Some people that were already eating, decided that they did not need to wait in line again to get seconds & this really upset me. Jerks!

I stayed during July, so I guess it was very full of people vacationing during the summer. Seemed like a lot of European travelers (as I heard many different languages being spoken). Not that I have a problem with this, just pointing it out.

They had underground parking, which was nice. They also rented bikes, which you could ride down to Venice Beach. The hotel pool was very small, although I did not go in, it looked very clean & well looked after. There were nice places to sit & have a drink or just relax, around the hotel as well. They had a nice electric fire pit. You could also just sit & relax during the day, to catch some rays, in various spots around the hotel.

There was a few restaurants close by, which was convenient, as this was my first time in LA & I had no clue how to get anywhere. We arrived around 8 pm & went next door to the burger restaurant. The burgers were great! They did also serve other foods.

We were able to walk to Venice Beach. Although it was a 25 min walk, but it was doable. But just don't expect to walk out the hotel door & step onto the beach. If you want closer to the beach, it is available, but I'm sure you'll pay a little more for the convenience. Also don't be afraid (if you're not familiar with the area) to walk toward the beach, there is many more restaurants & stores along the way. I feel like the hotel employees kind of discouraged me from walking toward the beach, in search of food. Maybe because they want you to eat at the restaurants within a block of the hotel, or possibly because they don't want to be responsible for sending you on a hike to eat!

If I ever went back, I would stay at the Inn at Marina Del Rey again, it was a nice place to stay & the staff was also very nice & helpful.







  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevieT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We greatly appreciated your review. It’s nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the local area attractions as well. We hope to see you again very soon!
Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle nsw
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

good stay. facilities are good, staff exceptionally helpful. a fair walk to the beach, further than I expected so the bikes are recommended. the breakfast was pretty average the free parking a bonus. would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happydaze-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are glad to see that you and your family enjoyed our free breakfast, our friendly staff and our free parking.

Please come back to see us again soon!

Stacey Martines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,065 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We've enjoyed our 2 nights stay in July while starting our vacation in Los Angeles.
Booked the room well in advanced under hotel website and got a good rate for our "One bedroom Queen Suite". Paid 165 USD + taxes and it was aggod value in the aera.

The room was big enough for us 2 and our luggage, with 2 TV's, a fridge and a coffee maker, a nice comfy bed and a sofabed to relax. The minor issues were that the room was on ground floor near the fire place so you don't have full privacy and you could hear people at night. The bed sheets weren't clean as well upon arrival. Bathroom was rather small.

Otherwise, staff at front desk were nice, free parking was a big plus and the breakfast was included (nothing special about it and very crowded).

The beach is not far by car and the airport is only a 15 minutes drive, so very easy access.

If we come back in the aera, we might choose this hotel again unless the rate is very high (a new Hampton Inn was very close).

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and not on ground floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissAirTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Your comments are greatly appreciated. It is nice to see that you enjoyed our friendly service, our free parking and our comfortable queen suites.

Please come back to see us again soon!

Stacey Martines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hotel is 10 minutes walk to the beach, 15 minutes from venice beach. Hotel is clean, friendly, helpful; our double queen room was spacious and everything in it worked properly. Breakfast had choice of various cereals, cooked porridge, cooked eggs and a meat (sausages one day bacon another), bread for toasting, bagels, waffle machine, different spreads. Small pool but it did the job, excellent jacuzzi. Francisco on the desk was most helpful. Would definitely stay there again as only 20 mins from airport and cheap to get to by taxi

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argybargy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for the time you spent on your review. It is nice to see that you enjoyed our friendly staff, our free breakfast and our proximity to Venice Beach & local attractions.

When in the area, please come back and see us!

Stacey Martines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Hotel is conveniently located, easy parking included in price, clean, older but updated, a decidedly European feel to it.....that's a good thing for us, but some Americans with chain hotel expectations may not think so....Would stay there again, for sure....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlEric29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are glad to see you and your family enjoyed our clean rooms, our free parking and our proximity to Venice Beach local attractions.

Please come back to see us again soon!

Stacey Martines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 351 in Los Angeles
765 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#12 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,300 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jamaica Bay Inn
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,250 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
703 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinney

Property: The Kinney
Address: 737 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5542 (Formerly The Inn at Marina del Rey)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kinney 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our playful style and central location, live like a local at The Kinney hotel in Venice Beach. Grab your entourage and truly experience So Cal - from courtyard loungin' to beach cruisin' - our house is your house. Keep the Snaps going with complimentary Wi-Fi, cool off in our dipping pool, and when you're ready to call it a night, refresh in brand-new beds. Now is the time to truly experience Venice (and give your friends a little FOMO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing