We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value”
Review of The Kinney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kinney
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great hotel and reasonable value for the location. Staff very responsive and they address problems shortly after they are reported. Very roomy beds and top notch amenities.
Free wifi .
Breakfast included

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mishakites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to providing you with superior customer service on your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
There are newer reviews for The Kinney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

I recently stayed at the Inn at Marina del Ray, and was very pleased. Vaurisio, the assistant general manager, was knowledgeable about the area, and accommodated an early check-in, even though I forgot to book one. The room was great, and the location couldn't be beat!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Signal1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Marina del Rey! On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to have another chance to provide you with superior Customer Service experience in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Really good hotel in a fantastic location.

Rate is expensive but everything included. Wifi and parking. the location close to Venice beach is really handy for restaurants and access to Santa Monica

Staff on frontdesk are extremely helpful and the place is extremely clean.

The pool is small but very functional

Thank u for a great stay

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenfamily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better guest experience in the future. Please come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Inn was excellent place to stay. We were in the area for a medical treatment for my wife.The rooms were very quiet,clean and spacious for the 3 of us. The manager and the help were friendly all the time and catered to our needs and wants. My wife and I would recommend to anyone to stay at this Inn. In fact my wife has handed out the hotel business cards to 2 couples already. We have been here at the Inn for almost 4 months, and are happy we chose this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Marina del Rey! On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to have another chance to provide you with superior Customer Service experience in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Inn was very clean. Had a one bedroom suite. Quiet and very clean. Great people at desk. If you forgot anything like shaving cream they had it. Easy walk to Venice Beach and easy drive to Santa Monica. For the price in that area all is included. Free parking. Excellent complimentary breakfast.... lots of variety including eggs, sausage, waffles, and more. Coffee and fresh fruit in lobby all the time. Relax in hot tub or in courtyard on comfortable seating with firepit. A good value and would return again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Modie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Marina del Rey! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our breakfast. On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to have another chance to provide you with superior Customer Service experience in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here as the wife didnt want to stay in downtown LA, and Santa Monica was even more expensive. Rooms are large, clean, but furniture a bit dated. For what the rates are, rooms are expensive. Breakfast was the same spread the 3 days we were there - scramble eggs, sausages. thats it, no rotation at all. The breakfast room seats about 15 people, and there were ALWAYS people standing around waiting for a table or a seat, no matter what time you went down for breakfast. The front desk staff are very helpful though, with any enquiries. and the free coffee available all day was a very nice and appreciated gesture. The fact that there were many amenities within 1 mile (several supermarkets, lots of great restaurants, drugstores etc) meant location was excellent. The free car park was great as well. BUT you do pay a relatively high price. Still clean rooms, good location means i will stay here again - if i cant find anything cheaper

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisneoh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our location and friendly Front Desk staff. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better guest experience in the future. Please come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was an older hotel but clean

They did make a mistake and we arrived without a balcony room , however, when I called the next morning the gal was very accommodating they asked us to pack everything up and they would take care of the move while we were out enjoying our time . When we returned we were moved as promised and it was actually into and upgraded suite.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Marina del Rey! On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we hope that we exceeded your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 353 in Los Angeles
784 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,332 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,274 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
746 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinney

Address: 737 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5542 (Formerly The Inn at Marina del Rey)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range: $228 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kinney 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our playful style and central location, live like a local at The Kinney hotel in Venice Beach. Grab your entourage and truly experience So Cal - from courtyard loungin' to beach cruisin' - our house is your house. Keep the Snaps going with complimentary Wi-Fi, cool off in our dipping pool, and when you're ready to call it a night, refresh in brand-new beds. Now is the time to truly experience Venice (and give your friends a little FOMO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing