We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay for early flight home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kinney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kinney
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for early flight home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our stay here was very good for two nights after visiting Disneyland for two nights. We wanted to spend time at Venice Beach and Santa Monica Pier and both are very close to this location. I felt it was in a safe neighborhood and has a small hotel feel. Indoor parking is just steps from the front desk and then up the elevator you go to your room. Our room was very nice and clean. The hotel has been redone in the last few years and upgraded from what used to be a Best Western. Also, they have some very nice and updated outdoor space with the pool and a fireplace with nice seating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street if you are not used to city traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woopif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our accommodations and our local attractions. Your business is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    524
    129
    32
    10
See reviews for
495
403
50
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here in the end of December 2012. We were positivly surprised upon arrival when we had been upgraded to a two room suite! The staff was friendly and the location is great, about a 15 minute walk to Venice Beach boardwalk. The free breakfast, parking and wi-fi were a good bonus. Be sure to hit the breakfast early because it gets really crowded. The rooms are spaceious and clean. Would consider staying here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helsinkianna82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better guest experience in the future. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I needed to find a hotel near my home for lots of relatives in town for a wedding. I booked it just based on location but was pleasantly surprised by the wonderful staff, the free parking, and the beautiful rooms. There's even a courtyard and small pool. I'll definitely use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quite a distance from the elevator because of the courtyard in the center of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjweil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to offer us your feedback. We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed our accommodations. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We had our concerns (internet sluggish at best, gym opened at 9:00 and breakfast ended @9:30)... but the room was nice / clean and great location for enjoying area (quiet). staff were exceptionally nice...we drove by other similarly priced properties and felt lucky we got in here...so seemed a good choice to me. Get an IT guy in there and lengthen hours on ammenities....would be 4.5 for sure! For exercise we went to beach anyway...about .8 mi. Down Washington.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BTMNSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to offer us your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodations. The Wi-Fi issue you experienced has been addressed. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Almost hate to even mention this place because it is truly a hidden gem in L.A. Super easy from LAX and surprisingly not that bad for commuting around West LA and W Hollywood.

The hotel is low key but awesome. Really friendly staff, good coffee anytime you need it, exceptionally clean rooms, and FREE parking. My room was perfect with 2 flat screens and a pretty comfy bed. Noise level was low and even though I was on the third floor it was a quick escape to the street by way of the stairs.

The WiFi wasn't too good but I think they were working on it as I was checking out. I'm definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seabound2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We really appreciate your review! Thank you for your time. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your accommodations. The Wi-Fi issue you experienced has been addressed. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed 5 nights on business trip. Hotel is good. The only thing I actually didnt like was internet connection, which was very slow even for browsing. Internet is something what I need for work. Sometimes I had to reload a page several times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jirim863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Inn at Marina del Rey for your business trip. We really appreciate your review! The Wi-Fi issue you experienced has been addressed. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions over the past ten years. They have continually made improvements and it has become one of my favorite places to stay. The queen suites are really nice. Parking is free and covered. My advice is to skip the complementary breakfast because it has always been a disappointment compared to the rest of the hotel. The location is really great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowboykw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your continued loyalty to our hotel, and thank you for taking the time to write this review. I apologize the breakfast has been a disappointment. We have added scrambled eggs and sausage to broaden our selections, and we are also open to any suggestions you have. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinney

Property: The Kinney
Address: 737 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5542 (Formerly The Inn at Marina del Rey)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kinney 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our playful style and central location, live like a local at The Kinney hotel in Venice Beach. Grab your entourage and truly experience So Cal - from courtyard loungin' to beach cruisin' - our house is your house. Keep the Snaps going with complimentary Wi-Fi, cool off in our dipping pool, and when you're ready to call it a night, refresh in brand-new beds. Now is the time to truly experience Venice (and give your friends a little FOMO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing