We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay in Marina del Rey”
Review of The Kinney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kinney
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2008

We were in the Santa Monica area for a wedding March 13 - 16, 2008 and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Marina del Rey. The location was perfect, the staff was friendly and helpful, and it was a fantastic value. We had a suite with a queen bed and a living room with a queen size sofa bed separated by a pocket door. There were two televisions, a welcome basket, a microwave oven and a refrigerator. The room was clean with plenty of towels and had been updated. An underground garage with free parking made it a fantastic value. We had stayed here about 10 years ago and would recommend it to anyone traveling to the LA area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2008

Probably because I am a Priorty Club member who has stayed at this hotel once before we were upgraded to a suite which was clean, comfortable and spacious for a hotel of this classification. There is a free car park at the hotel. The staff were welcoming and efficient. It was one of the more expensive HI Expresses that we used on our holiday but I think that all hotels in the LA area tend to be rather expensive and I think that it was good value for money. (A hotel I used on a couple of previous visits to LA changed from being a Best Western to being a HI and the prices almost doubled.) The free breakfast was standard HI Express fare but this was fine for us.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank V3971RTjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

This hotel is just a fantastic value. I paid $149.00 a night for a suite.
When you drive up to the hotel it looks like any other motel. However, you can't judge a book by it's cover. This is a gem.
Rooms are fresh and new and include internet, parking, and a great breakfest. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Located in Marina Del Ray there are many food options. The only downfall is the small pool but the desk next to it is nice.

This hotel is located 20 minutes from Century City and 15 minutes from Santa Monica.

I love my stay and will return.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cruisejp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

The rooms are a lot nicer than I expected. A 2-room suite with about 500-sq. ft. A welcome basket with water, juice, and snacks.
A real living room with a separate TV, dining table, sofa and chairs. There was a computer with internet in the lobby that everyone could use, and that was not a problem since it is a small hotel. There were a lot of restaurants within a mile, and the neighborhood appeared safe for walking in the evening.
The included breakfast had enough to get you started; coffee, juice, pastries, cereal, yogurt, eggs and meat. The items were replenished frequently.
We were originally going to stay near LAX, but I think this was a better choice. Also free covered parking.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank waynay6405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

The main reason I am writing this review is that I read a review where a LAPD policeman told a guest that the area is not safe after dark. This is not true in my experience, in fact I have never felt at all threatened or in danger when I stay at this hotel. Because of my large truck I cannot park in the underground parking lot and I have to park down the street and walk over to the hotel at night. Also, I often eat at the pizza place in the next block and walk back and forth.
I have always felt very safe walking in the environs of the hotel at night.
I stay here every week on business and have had a very good experience with the staff and the rooms. I have stayed at this property over 200 times. The rooms are always very clean. The front desk has been very friendly and efficient. The newly remodeled rooms are very nice. The bedding and towels are top notch. They have just upgraded their breakfast bar and now have added cheese omelettes and other hot breakfast items.
I highly recommend this hotel for value, comfort and location.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank citrusfarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2008

Stayed at the Holiday Inn at Marina Del Ray for 3 nights on the 26th of January. Hotel is around 15 mins walk to the marina and has all the facilities required to do business or chill out for a few days. I enjoyed the good customer service from the staff and the rooms were pretty good considering the price i payed ($US149 per night), whilst i was there i had the free breakie one day but ended up walking to a mexican cafe on the 2nd day and had a hot breakie for $US10. There is also a Marriott hotel about 5 mins from this hotel but they charge $US285 a night and its 5 star service. The be honest its easier to just stay at the Holiday Inn.

Across the street is a dry cleaner/Laundry who can clean your clothes for less than $US5 for one big bag. Next door is a liquor store who is open until midnight, he also sells food and toiletries.

Definately would stay again :)

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JasonFSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2008

We stayed on the third floor. Room was remolded, very nice. The hotel was easy to find. Staff very friendly. The only problem was that their breakfast bar didn't open until 6:30 A.M. I think that's too late for someone trying to beat morning traffic in LA.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank explorer1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#10 of 358 in Los Angeles
810 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#12 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,394 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
834 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#13 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinney

Address: 737 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5542 (Formerly The Inn at Marina del Rey)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marina del Rey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#3 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range: $237 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kinney 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our playful style and central location, live like a local at The Kinney hotel in Venice Beach. Grab your entourage and truly experience So Cal - from courtyard loungin' to beach cruisin' - our house is your house. Keep the Snaps going with complimentary Wi-Fi, cool off in our dipping pool, and when you're ready to call it a night, refresh in brand-new beds. Now is the time to truly experience Venice (and give your friends a little FOMO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing