We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
Review of The Kinney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kinney
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I booked this hotel last minute and they have accommodated me wonderfully. The rooms were clean and very comfortable, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. I will book this hotel again when I come back to Marina Del Rey.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tragique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    533
    131
    32
    10
See reviews for
505
408
50
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The rooms were lovely and clean in this renovated hotel. The location was great--close to beaches, restaurants and walking areas. Check out the canals in Venice-- great place for a morning walk. The staff was wonderful from the front desk to the housekeeping staff.
The breakfast was excellent--always hot and fresh. The employee in charge of preparing and keeping everything filled was really on top of it. Our desk clerk gave us great restaurant suggestions.
We took a tour of LA and were picked up at the hotel so we didn't need to deal with parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were traveling with our son who is paralyzed and on a vent. We called ahead to check on
the bed frame as we need the open kind of frame to get a hoyer lift in far enough to get our son
into the bed. I was able to speak to the engineer (didn't know they had that position title) and
he was able to assure me the frames were open, not pedastal type. They even had a manager
call me to say if there was any changed that needed to be made to the frame they assured me
they would help us. I couldn't believe it! The bed turned out just fine, we didn't even have to use
the 4 props for each leg of the bed. I wish all Best Westerns were as accommadating as this.
The value is great and the free breakfast and parking was appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel was very modern and nicely appointed. I liked the breakfast which was free and worth at least $15 if you ordered it at a restaurant--and the quality of the food was good. I also enjoyed the coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Twp, MI
Level Contributor
218 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I had travelled down the coast from Portland, OR and were meeting an Aunt and Uncle for brunch the next day. The hotel's rates and easy access were main attractions. The front desk personnel greeted us with smiles, assigned us to a wonderfully spacious and clean room--the suite set up allowed us both to relax after a day of travel. Rooms were also very quiet, we never heard any invasive sounds. Again, the staff was outstanding!

Room Tip: The suite set-up is great, whether just a couple or travelling with others. You are not paying any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

From the very moment we parked our car (yes, free, easy parking, indoors and safe) Jason at the front desk greeted us with a smile, information and a great restaurant recommendation (Tony P's Dockside). Vaurisio was always avaiaiable. The easy bike rental as well as free business center (computor) access with printers was a very convienent perk. Did I mention the well maintained breakfast service! Always delicious and the staff work hard to keep all items avaialble, even though guess are greedy when it's free. (daily newspapers too!). AND the location, next to a store, gas station and walking distance to the sweet part of the beach. A great loccation for shopping at Abby Kenny street as well. Pool, hot tub, vending machines, coffee all day and the nicest staff! "I'll be back" (said in a low deep Arnold voice)

Room Tip: Our room had a view though many have interior (courtyard) views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were in town for a wedding and stayed at the Marina del Rey Best Western for five nights. We had a suite that was perfect for us. There was a living space with a couch, comfortable chair and table for eating, if needed. There was also a bedroom that could be opened or closed to the living space. The room was bright, fresh and clean. The staff was friendly and jovial. They had a very relaxed but professional attitude that gave a really pleasant vibe to the place. Free breakfast was included which we ate out in the very pleasant Courtyard each morning. Parking was free. I would gladly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMcL_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#9 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinney

Property: The Kinney
Address: 737 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5542 (Formerly The Inn at Marina del Rey)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kinney 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our playful style and central location, live like a local at The Kinney hotel in Venice Beach. Grab your entourage and truly experience So Cal - from courtyard loungin' to beach cruisin' - our house is your house. Keep the Snaps going with complimentary Wi-Fi, cool off in our dipping pool, and when you're ready to call it a night, refresh in brand-new beds. Now is the time to truly experience Venice (and give your friends a little FOMO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing