We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kinney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kinney
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

When we arrived Jason checked us in. He is very nice. I went to our room and was not so sure when I saw that outside our window people sat around the courtyard on lounge chairs right in front of the window. I went back to get another room but the other room seemed to far away from the pool area which was right outside the door of the first room. Jason was very understanding and gave us our choice of rooms that were available. I stuck with the first room and I am glad i did. We never experienced any noise problems from people being outside and no one hung outside at night so there was no problem. The hotel has a boutique kind of feeling. It is very clean and bright and decorated with pretty pictures and the courtyard by the pool has a nice fountain. I would always go out there and relax. The pool is very small but it is usually empty so unless you are a lap swimmer that does not matter. It is too small for laps but it is fine to unwind in and relax when no one else is in it. The rooms are clean, a little on the small side when the sofa bed is out but for the price this is fine. The bed is comfortable. The sofa bed mattress is not, we had to ask for extra blankets to make the thin mattress comfortable. They brought the blankets right away and asked if we had enough. The bedroom where the main bed is gets a little stuffy if you close the door at night to give the person in the sofa bed privacy. We ended up leaving the door that leads out to the side by the sink open so we could get some air. They might consider putting a vent or another air conditioner in the bedroom. The breakfast was very good. They offered little boxes of different cereals which my husband likes a lot. They had eggs and a waffle maker, oat meal which I like, yogurt, muffins and bananas and apples. They also had apples in the lobby which was a nice touch. There was plenty of food. They kept refilling everything. They could use a few more tables because if you do not go down early you might have to wait for a table or bring the food back to your room. (or you could bring it to the nice outdoor area-no real table there but you can balance it on your lap or use one of the ottomans) We only had to wait once and then we went down earlier and were fine. We had a refrigerator in the room which was great. The parking lot had small spaces but we were there at an empty time of year so there was plenty of parking. When I arrived the first day I took a walk to Venice beach. It is about a mile away. On our last day there I went to Mothers beach which is about 3/4 of a mile away. Turn left on the Via Marina rode way. I wish I had gone there sooner. They were teaching people how to do different water activities. It looked like fun. I never checked for the prices of the lessons because I was leaving that day. Nice restaurants in that area too. When you walk down Washington Blvd. and make a left turn you are right on the Marina. There are also nice restaurants on the way to the beach. We went for a walk along the Venice Beach Canals. They are very pretty. This hotel is in a great location if you do not want to spend a fortune for a beachfront hotel. We enjoyed the free breakfast and the free parking. Brad, Jason and Francisco at the front desk always answered all of my questions and were very nice. I would stay here again, in fact I wish I was there now and I would take a walk to the beach and take a lesson on the water in Marina del rey. We had a very nice stay.

Venice Beach is quite an experience. We took a long walk one day to see muscle beach and all of the venders that line the walkway. Wear comfortable shoes, we thought we were going to just sit on the beach and wore flip flops and when we ended up taking a long walk our feet got a little sore. It is an experience. The hotel also had computers in the lobby that we usually did not have to wait for and I printed our airline tickets easily. We needed to be in this area and this hotel was great. I felt like I could have a beach vacation and visit my family at the same time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 112Les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    509
    127
    32
    9
See reviews for
487
386
47
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Don't spend the additional money on a "better named hotel" in the Venice Beach area. This hotel has it all. Rooms are great (we had the one bedroom)and it had plenty ofroom for a family of four. The staff were exceptional from the reception to the cleaners, they were the friendliest hotel staffI have ever encounted. Free parking, an easy walk to Venice Beach, a good free breakfast, great room and superb staff - you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Pillows are quiet thick. I would bring my own if you don't like thick ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonza U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel through Hotwire, which meant we only paid about £50-£60 per night for the room. The staff were really helpful and friendly, and the lobby had a computer with the internet, tea & coffee and apples! The room was really big, with a living area separate to the bedroom. The room had two really big TV's with loads of channels to choose from. We got complimentary bottles of water and shampoo & conditioner and body lotion etc. The bed was really comfy and we weren't troubled by any noise on either night. The breakfast selection was plentiful, with a great waffle maker, yoghurts, bagels & toast, muffins, cereal, eggs and sausages along with a selection of tea and coffee and juice. The walk to the beach is about 15 minutes and is really quite easy to get around without a car, within reason! We would absolutely go back to this hotel and had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel, so weren't near the main road and we didn't hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magnumgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I was pleased with the customer service at the front desk. Hotel was clean, walking distance to great places to eat and beach wasn't too far. Patio was great to sit at and have a cocktail. Free breakfast was nice!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvcruz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

The last hotel we stayed in after driving the whole of route 66, and definitely welcome!! Really nice friendly staff, lovely big room, comfy bed and spotlessly clean, nice food, good quiet location, good value for money, Brad, Jason and Francisco were great at restaurant recommendations, and places to visit, and after so much driving, we hired bikes from them to cycle around and down to visit the beaches for just £10 for the whole day, large underground carpark, pool is quite small, but clean with fresh towels, and also a hot tub, vending machines etc, stayed for 3 days and was perfect relaxing haven for us!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mazza018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Very pleased with our stay. Nice rooms, breakfast, and parking. Very attentive staff. Hotel was EXTREMELY clean. Walking distance to Venice, and short drive to Malibu.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I thought this hotel was the cutest thing ever, loved the indoor/outdoor floor plan. Rooms were very spacious; we had the suite with the French doors. If I went back to CA I would stay here as long I could. Great location for all the LA/Hollywood attractions, even the Warner Brothers Studios was under 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queball1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Jamaica Bay Inn
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#11 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#14 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinney

Property: The Kinney
Address: 737 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5542 (Formerly The Inn at Marina del Rey)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kinney 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our playful style and central location, live like a local at The Kinney hotel in Venice Beach. Grab your entourage and truly experience So Cal - from courtyard loungin' to beach cruisin' - our house is your house. Keep the Snaps going with complimentary Wi-Fi, cool off in our dipping pool, and when you're ready to call it a night, refresh in brand-new beds. Now is the time to truly experience Venice (and give your friends a little FOMO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Kinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing