We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for he budget wise traveller!”
Review of The Kinney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kinney
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for he budget wise traveller!”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Awesome deal for the money. Free parking. Free bottled water. Location wasn't the best but if your out traveling it doesn't really matter. Great place to come back too!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingfamily90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    546
    133
    34
    11
See reviews for
520
422
54
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor, MI
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The hotel is very modern and has large rooms. The location is good for travel to Marina Del Rey. The price is very competitive. Best of all, the hotel staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I enjoyed my suite tremendously. I stayed for 2 nights the room was very clean, neat and inviting. The staff was very friendly. It was close to the beach and plenty of good restaurants nearby. I stayed there just as a get-away stress free weekend from work. This is a great hotel for relaxation.

Room Tip: The queen suite is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We always stay at this motel.
Best staff anywhere in the world
Great location if visiting L.A .
Undercoving parking free
Free breakfast
Rooms faultless, clean and spacious.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walkywarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights in Aug whilst travelling around he states for 6 weeks!!
The main reason for staying here was to visit Venice/ Santa Monica and due to it being walking distance to Venice beach and 5 mins in the car to Santa Monica it was a great option.

The hotel was lovely, it was in a great location 5-10 min walk from Venice Beach, friendly staff, a great free breakfast, free wireless, There were 2 pools and some lovely outdoor areas with big sofas to relax on which was a nice touch, i also used the gym which was small but adequate!

The rooms were a great size, comfee beds, and spotlessly clean.

I would definatley recommend this hotel and area to anyone, a great find!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mims6321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at this property last year, and had a very peaceful time. In town for work at a nearby school, I needed clean, efficient, free parking, and just a tad bit of R&R. The Inn at Marina del Rey fit the bill perfectly! The staff were friendly upon check-in, and I had a good two nights stay. I really enjoyed working on my laptop from the pool--that was heaven!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed in a queen suite for one night during October, 2011. My main destination was actually Santa Monica, but Marina Del Rey was only about 5 minutes away and this hotel was much more reasonable than others so it worked well for me.

Upon check in I asked for a quiet and ocean view room, to which the gentleman laughed and said he wished they had ocean views. But it WAS quiet (on the second floor), clean, and well appointed with microwave, refrig, two TV's, complimentary bottles of water and internet. There is also a very small pool w/attached jacuzzi on the second level, along with a nice lounging area.

The complimentary breakfast was most adequate with hot/cold cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, a few other items plus various drinks.

A big plus was the garaged parking, although not gated it was free! My car stayed there for most of the time as Venice beach/pier was only about a 20 minute walk straight down Washington Blvd. where one can find several little restaurants. My stay was short so I didn't explore the area in depth. However, be prepared to pay for parking practically anywhere you go in that area!

The outside of the hotel is a bit nondescript, but the inside was very comfortable and pleasant. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanDiegoRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 350 in Los Angeles
773 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,315 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
722 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,259 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinney

Property: The Kinney
Address: 737 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5542 (Formerly The Inn at Marina del Rey)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kinney 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our playful style and central location, live like a local at The Kinney hotel in Venice Beach. Grab your entourage and truly experience So Cal - from courtyard loungin' to beach cruisin' - our house is your house. Keep the Snaps going with complimentary Wi-Fi, cool off in our dipping pool, and when you're ready to call it a night, refresh in brand-new beds. Now is the time to truly experience Venice (and give your friends a little FOMO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing