We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Marina Del Rey Hotel(Marina del Rey)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$309
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kinney(Marina del Rey)
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$257
$228
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jolly Roger Hotel(Marina del Rey)
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel(Marina del Rey)
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada by Wyndham Marina Del Rey(Marina del Rey)(Great Value!)
$236
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,381)
Filter reviews
1,381 results
Traveler rating
822
384
119
35
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
822
384
119
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeachside restaurantsanta monicavenice beachmarina viewself parkthe cheesecake factoryhappy hourmothers beachhotel restaurantparking lotgreat restaurantnice locationkiller shrimpla arealos angelesvalet parkingbalcony
Filter
Updating list...
1,206 - 1,211 of 1,381 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Planned a trip to the area and booked a Bed and Breakfast nearby. Due to weather, in the midwest, I came out to LA a day earlier and needed a place to stay just one night before moving to the B&B. By luck, I found the Jamaica Bay Inn. It is completely renovated and what a wonderful hotel. The staff was superior in every area. They remembered their guests names and went above and beyond to assist any way they could. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. The pool was heated and very clean and enjoyable. It is located on the end of one of the fingers of the marina and there's a great beach walk to the marina and to the "Cheesecake Factory". I didn't try the Vu restaurant but could smell the wonderful aroma from it from my balcony. It is well located to the airport, Marina del Rey and the activities around the area. After checking out and going to the well recommended B&B, I wish I could have canceled the B & B and gone back to the Jamaica Bay Inn. (another review) Since my son has moved to the area, I will be making many trips to LA and will be using the Jamaica Bay Inn as my "home" for future visits! Absolutely would recommend this place for any visitors to Marina del Rey! Sure beats the snow in Ohio!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palomine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Brand new and very clean. Well managed. Trendy hotel with great restaurant. Marina location makes for nice, quiet environment. Will definitely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRMARINAANDSUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at this completely renovated and tastefully appointed small hotel just when it opened the week of Thanksgiving. In addition to getting a very good introductory rate, there's something quite special about being the first guests to sleep in the bed (which by the way was supercomfy) or to use the shower (loved the rain shower option). The room we had was in the older section but you would never known it was older from the extensive renovations. The room was huge, very quiet, and I loved that it had a refrigerator and a coffee pot and coffee, along with a desk and a comfortable reading chair. We had a very large balcony complete with two comfortable chairs and a table that overlooked the marina. While this part of the hotel is only two stories tall (the other, new part is only four), the view is unobstructed and off in the distance (out of hearing) you can watch the planes taking off from LAX. We only wish the LA weather had been warmer so that we could have enjoyed our time on the patio more.

In addition to loving the room, I have to say the highlight of our stay was the wonderful guest service provided by the front desk. One expects that in a hotel that only opened a day or two before that the staff might not be well trained. Far from it -- the front desk couldn't do enough for us and it's clear that the hotel values its employees and has spent the time and effort to train them well. We must particularly complement Rich (hopefully I've got his name right) on his thoughtfulness.

I'd say my only complaint was the large amount ($22) charged to park our car in the nearly completely empty lot. While the valet was always ready and willing to help, it seemed more logical for us to park ourselves. Under these circumstances the hotel should revisit the hefty price they charge for parking.

We have family in the area and are glad to have this option at which to stay the next time we come to LA. While there is a high rise Marriott and a Ritz Carlton nearby, this hotel, which is smaller but offers beautifully appointed rooms and exceptional service, will be our choice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RockyMountaintravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

The Jamaica Bay Inn has been a pretty well know hotel to people like myself who have lived in the Santa Monica / Venice / Marina Del Rey area for the past 15 years.

For the past couple of years, the hotel has gone a massive renovation and had just opened its doors recently.

Since we now live outside of Southern California, but often come back for family and friends, the timing could not have been better to stay at the Inn.

Here are the highlights:

1. Perhaps one of the best front staffs we have ever seen at any hotel. This is a bold statement because we often stay at five star hotel / resorts when traveling. Richard, Courtney, and Gustavo are immaculate in help and understanding.

2. Very nice appointed rooms with great stand up showers. The rooms had all the amenities one would need to be comfortable. We loved the fireplace, but make sure to keep your window open slightly when using.

3. Great house keeping. Everything was delivered to us in a timely manner.

4. Location: Very close to the Marriott and Washington Blvd is a block away. You can walk or drive to a lot of places in a convenient manner. We walked to Venice and it was approximately one mile in distance.

5. Valet: Fast, efficient, and friendly.


The only thing that slightly pissed us off was a group of inconsiderate clowns decided to chat it up in the wee hours of the morning. This is not the hotel's fault, and the situation was immediately rectified.

In this day and digital age, people have forgotten or condone things like etiquette, manners, and simple common sense.

Screaming and chatting with your buddies when others are sleeping showcases stupidity and lack of regard in the highest sense. I don't give a hoot if they were drunk or not.


The Final Verdict:

Great first stay. At the price point we paid, it was well worth it. We are going to be back, and we think that others now have a fantastic choice if they wish to stay near the water without paying exorbitant prices. Jamaica Bay has a wonderful staff of cordial, intelligent, and respectful associates that will do anything in their collective power to ensure a fantastic stay and a positive memorable experience.

In my opinion, they are going to be well received both in the local community and to travelers near and far.

Merry Christmas to All.

MB

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews