We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost what you want it to be.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jamaica Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jamaica Bay Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Almost what you want it to be.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

It is clear that someone went to a lot of effort to turna once shabby motel into a nice inn. Unfortunately for me, many of the details missed the mark. Door keys that didn 't work, a confusing parking situation and...no hot water. Even though I was assured it would be resolved, I had to take a cold shower both days. Nobody likes that and it just makes your day start out in a bad way. Plus, they charge for parking in an unsecured open lot.

All in all, not the best bang for the buck.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank askulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    334
    107
    32
    19
See reviews for
432
397
57
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We arrived on 10/18 only stayed 1 night but every part of our stay was WONDERFUL from the workers to the room the food was beyond amazing we ate breakfast lunch and dinner there! The view from our room was out at the Marina. the day we were about to leave my boyfriend proposed to me on the balcony with the sunrise right behind him! Very romantic hotel and i will defiantly be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
229 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights while in Los Angeles and really enjoyed our visit. The hotel is far removed from the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles, yet is not a long drive away from the city. We were happy with the bay view that our room came with, the service of the front desk staff, the quality of the rooms and the meals at the restaurant. However there were a few things that were a bit lacking. We had to change our room key three times as it would not open our door and or give us access to the building from outside. The hotel does not seem to have many rooms with king size beds that have a bay view, so we had to settle for two queens. Not our first choice, however the bedding was quite good. The parking fees seemed quite excessive for an ample parking lot. Be prepared to drive for restaurants and things to do. Not much to do in the immediate area.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with a water view. The city view is not so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We arrived to be told that the king-size room we had booked more than 6 months earlier was not available and that we had been allocated a queen room - not a good start. However, when I expressed some dissatisfaction with this Brittany on reception worked hard to try to fix things and eventually upgraded us to a suite, so we ended up impressed by the level of customer service.

The location suited us well, as we wanted a quiet break, but others might find it a little isolated as everything is a drive away. The suite we had was large - it even had a spare bathroom with shower in case we didn't like the main bathroom with its bath, shower and two basins - and the view over the marina was pleasant in the morning. Other rooms overlook the main road outside the hotel and don't get the same view.

Staff throughout the hotel were very pleasant and the restaurant and balcony area was a perfect location for breakfast, cocktails and dinner. The restaurant was the best we found in the Marina area.

Their "Pancakes and Parking" package was good value for us, with valet parking at $22 and breakfast for two costing around $25- 30.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arderyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a beautiful place but there were some problems. I was surprised when checking in that I was asked to intitial on several places of the check-in sheet. I immediately got the feeling that perhaps there were past problems. After checking in, as we approached the elevator, the lady at the desk came running over and said she forgot to give us a letter stating that there would be no water from noon until 3 o'clock due to a plumbing problem. Lucky for us, we were going to be gone most of that day. But when we returned, the elevator was out of order. We continued to use the service elevator for the next 2 days of our stay.
I booked this hotel on a Fall discount which said most rooms with a water view...our room was a city view. Even with a discount, this is an expensive place. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean. The bed oh so comfortable. The lighting in the bathroom needs to be brighter. We loved having 2 very nice chairs for relaxing.

Room Tip: This inn is located on a nice marina with a beach and some of the rooms have that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Me and my wife found this hotel on trip advisor and booked it due to the reviews it had received. We were disappointed with the location and wish we has stayed nearer Santa Monica, where there was more happening. We thought the hotel was quite expensive, and during our stay we didn't find much to do in the area. The hotel was clean and the staff were pleasant but be prepared to travel to see the best of the LA coastline.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomsquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

we were staying at the omni in downtown l.a. (one of our convention hotels) but decided to leave a day early so that we would not have to fight the early morning rush hour traffic to the airport. looked on tripadvisor for something near marina del rey (just north of the airport). what a nice spot! it has been updated, tastefully, with nice large rooms, an in-room mini frig and a nice bathroom. beds are firmer (the way i like it!). near to ralph's (a grocery store) and other amenities. but you'll need a car! although within an easy walk is venice (muscle) beach which is always interesting! this property sits on a beach crescent with a small marina in it. a lovely bar overlooking that. nice. staff are friendly and helpful. parking is $14 per night which by downtown standards is a bargain! the restaurant food was excellent and with the two for one it is impossible to beat. would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: we stayed on the top floor (4th) with a partial view of the marina as well as the street. noise was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boxsterbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
631 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,332 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
734 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
409 reviews
Marina del Rey Marriott
#7 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Bay Inn

Property: Jamaica Bay Inn
Address: 4175 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#3 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jamaica Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While here, enjoy onsite dining at Beachside Restaurant & Bar, serving up California coastal cuisine with marina views, take a swim in our heated year-round pool and enjoy our location near Mother’s Beach, Venice and Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jamaica Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Bay Hotel Marina Del Rey
Best Western Marina Del Rey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing