We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Marina Del Rey Hotel(Marina del Rey)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$289
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$257
$228
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kinney(Marina del Rey)
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$385
$369
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$279
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jolly Roger Hotel(Marina del Rey)
$186
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel(Marina del Rey)
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada by Wyndham Marina Del Rey(Marina del Rey)(Great Value!)
$236
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,380)
Filter reviews
1,380 results
Traveler rating
821
384
119
35
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
821
384
119
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeachside restaurantsanta monicavenice beachmarina viewself parkthe cheesecake factoryhappy hourmothers beachhotel restaurantparking lotgreat restaurantnice locationkiller shrimpla arealos angelesvalet parkingbalcony
Filter
Updating list...
1,003 - 1,008 of 1,380 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2012

booked 5 nights on business, was looking for an alternate than LAX hotels.

Location is great - on arrival I went for a long walk up to Venice Beach (approx 15-20 minutes) and there's a small mandmade bay right outside the hotel. There's a strip mall with Ralphs and some shops about a 5 minute drive, and plenty of eating options very nearby also.

Room was modern and very clean, didn't spring for the marina view so overlooked the car park and main road, was on the 2nd floor so didn't bother me that much. There is plenty of space in the room, much better than The Westin at LAX. There is a LCD but no pay-per-movie option, just able programming. The fridge is empty so great for buying your own wine/beer if you wish. The drawback with the fridge is the heat it puts out in the cabinet - it's like an overn. I made the mistake of switching off the A/C at night at aorund 2am the room became an inferno.

The A/C are individual units as opposed to ducted, so they are quite loud especially when they are chiing the air. Some people may find it difficult to sleep with it on, and suffer the heat, I had ear-plugs so again didn't bother me too much.

Now the one criticism I have is the shower. When you see the size of it, and the magnificent shower head you think you are in for a treat. Afraid not, the pressure is so low you get a thin jet of water. It's even worse then the so-called "Heavenly Shower" at the Westin which resembles a slow dripping tap on a good day.

Room service is remarkably good value and great quality - soup $8, burger $15, salad $13 - and very quick delivery from the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZiggyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The members of staff were very friendly and helpful, did an early-check in for my mom and when she arrived, the hotel gave me a call as promised, I was "WOW"ed by this great level of service!
The room was spacious,clean and quiet with seaview and free wifi, very nice.
Room service was good. too, delivered promptly and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoPurplewildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The bar was horribly overpriced ($14 for 2 cappuccinos), the food was awful, the breakfast coupons were limited to one choice of breakfast and the staff were rude and unhelpful.

On checking in, the staff wouldn't accept that the person whose email had been used to book the stay was not staying. Comparing the hotel to an airline (because the staff also worked on planes), they began by refusing to complete the check in. They then said that they would happily charge the day's rates and re-book another stay.

When it was pointed out that, firstly, airlines have those rules for international immigration purposes and that, secondly, the person whose email address was used would never be able to turn up because she was in another country, they finally continued with check in.

Although the Marina is nice, the balcony looked straight onto a noisy dual carriageway. When the "Do Not Disturb" sign was removed at 9.30am, the cleaners had already been and left a note saying that they would not return due to the sign.

Overall, it was terrible.

Room Tip: You might have better luck across the road at the Marriott.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toma357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shighland, General Manager at Jamaica Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Toma357,

Thank you for taking the time to share some very valuable feedback with us. It is true that we typically do not register a guest if the name on the reservation does not match the name of the ID presented at check-in. This is done to protect our guests from fraud. I'm glad that the Front Desk was able to offer you alternatives and get you checked in. I apologize for any inconvenince this may have caused. In adition, I regret that your room was not serviced as you wished. Please know that we offer service by request even if our guests have a "do not disturb" sign earlier in the day.
At Jamaica Bay Inn we take great pride in providing our guests the warmest and best service in Los Angeles. To hear that we fell short of your expectations is a serious matter to us and I can assure you our entire staff will review your comments and take note of ways we might better serve in the future. We hope you will review our history of comments on Trip Advisor and note that this is very out of character for us. We do hope you visit again so that we might "wow" you with the Jamaica Bay Inn hospitality we are known for!

Warmest Reagrds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Six months ago I started doing research on where we should stay for our son's wedding in Marina Del Ray. We had many choices but when Rob and Tara went to look they were very impressed with this boutique hotel. It was right across the street from the ship where they were married (The Fantasea) and right on the beach at the marina. I am so glad that we made that decision. From the very beginning the customer service was impeccable. I dealt with Richard, the manager and he was professional and very helpful on every level. There was a misunderstanding about the suite that we booked (it didn't have a pull out sofa and I needed that). Didn't find that out until two days before. They fixed it and got us what we needed. The front desk (Courtney, Maria and Kenny) were wonderful and so accomodating to all of our needs. Unfortunately the weather was not good so that some of the pictures which were supposed to be on the beach couldn't be and they let us use the lounge and I am sure the pictures will be beautiful. Rooms were upgraded with huge bathrooms and very comfortable beds. The bar was excellent and we ate in the restaurant and the food was good. The wedding was beautiful and everyone had a great time. Having a home away from home (we are from NJ) as nice as the Jamaica Bay Inn was fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryVDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Have been staying at this property for several years - both before and after the renovation. This last visit was very disappointing. The desk staff was quite unfriendly and not helpful resolving problems with the room. The rooms in the new portion of the hotel are lovely. The rooms in the renovated section - although priced the same as the new ones - do not compare. Will be looking for another hotel for our stay in Marina del Rey next winter.

Room Tip: Rooms are nicer - and quieter - in the new building. View on the marina side is beautiful.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traintraveler_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews