We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Fair price”
Review of Jamaica Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jamaica Bay Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed four nights for a long weekend getaway. The sad truth is that if you want to stay in a decent place near the water in LA, you are going to pay a lot! However, this hotel provided a terrific location and ambience for a fair price. For an avg. nightly price of $262 we had a room facing the water. It came with free wireless internet and coffee, with a patio overlooking the Marina del Rey beach and the hotel pool. The room was well-appointed and cared for. The pool area was very nice. The beach was right there. The restaurant and bar (Vu) was also al lot of fun, with compliments to the bartender!

The hotel is a two minute walk from a beachside Cheesecake Factory, and a ten minute walk from Venice Beach. There is also easy access to the Marina Freeway which quickly connects to the 405.

Our four days were very pleasant. Given the amenities, price, location and service, we would highly recommend this hotel. (Some complain about parking--we self-parked for $14/day. All I can say about this is that there is virtually no free parking anywhere you would want to be in this entire city! I am sure there is plenty of free parking in Bakersfield...)

Room Tip: A great bar--no driving home!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JordanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,275)
There are newer reviews for Jamaica Bay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2011

stayed here for one night - really impressed - check inn easy - rooms were magnificent - great happy hour and food - spotless clean, great pool area overlooking the marina...only one slight problem is its a 15 min walk to venice beach but no real problem when the sun is shining - I have to say one more thing - I had checked out and was through the security at LAX when I noticed that i had left a bag in the hotel room which had numerous valuables in - after ringing the hotel from security area at LAX, the bag was located by francesca and valuables still intact - now the amazing part - Kenny Santos who worked at the hotel and appreciating the problem, actually drove the bag to LAX for me and delivered it to me with only 2 hours left before my flight departed back to the uk - thats what you call devotion to customer service - never experienced such a good deed in all my years of travelling - massive thanks to the staff - will return even if to reward Francesca and kenny for their actions

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbjjpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Super friendly staff, great location, well priced and large rooms. I would be back, no questions. Jamaica Bay Inn is not a very luxurious place, but a comfortable one where the staff makes you feel at home and is always ready to help with restaurant or activities recommendations. Walking distance to Venice and Santa Monica, close to LAX airport.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CondorcetMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

My niece got married at Jamaica Bay Inn in July and we had family and friends from all over attend the beach front wedding in MDR. The hotel was a pleasant surprise and even better than the website photos. The rooms were spacious and decorated with a clean uncluttered style. We arrived early from Austin and were pleased to see that management had honored our request for an early check in. We were given a beach view room on the second floor with a balcony that looked directly out on the beautiful grounds and beachfront where the ceremony was held.
The weather was a perfect 68 degrees and a pleasant break from the Texas heat we left behind. The grounds were lush and well maintained with mostly tropicals and vibrant flowers.
The beach in MDR is public but this part of the marina in front of the JBI was mostly empty. Next door was a public park and it attracted most of the local crowd.
Over half of the out of town wedding guests stayed at JBI and most seemed pleased with the boutique hotel. Guests who stayed at other hotels in MDR were within walking distance to JBI and there was not a problem getting a room closeby.
Vu Restaurant was quite a pleasant surprise and had a broad menu offering. The reception was catered by Vu and the numerous courses were tasty and plentiful. The presentation of the many courses was more like a tapas party than a reception which in my mind was a plus.
The staff was attentive and professional and solved every need we presented.
The property had valet but we chose self park on site at a lessor rate. It was an honor system and the rate was added to my bill when I mentioned it at checkout. The public park next door has 24 hr metered parking at a lower rate but I suggest self park.
A beautiful property, fantastic location in MDR and an excellant staff that made every effort to make this special event memorable.
Only 15 min drive from LAX a perfect alternative for a LA place to stay. We will be back without hesitation.

Room Tip: I would request a second floor room facing the marina.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill78727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Arriving in the dark doesnt give many clues to where you are but the hotel is a lovely place to arrive no matter how long you have been travelling. The patio area is great for breakfast or late evening drinks and if we had stayed longer, we would have tried the restaurant.

The marina view rooms are recommended but very popular as we found out when we tried, without success, to extend our stay!

We didnt reaseach the area before booking and it is a great location unless you want to be in a very lively area. Venice beach, plus muscle beach are walking distance and there are lots of places to get a drink or more if the mood takes you.

We would recommend going to the Cheesecake factory which is very close to the hotel and walking some of the canals on the way to the beach.

A fantastic hotel in a lovely part of the world with a great team running everything.Highly recommended.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonStagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed in this Hotel for about 10 days. Our stay was smooth and very comfortable. The roomwas situated in the lower building and overlooked the Marina. So, we had a nice view and it was absolutely quite (except for some noise from the swimming pool just underneath, but nothing serious). I would recommend this hotel. Be careful however to negotiate your rate beforehand and be specific about it. It took me several roundabouts before the whole package was made clear and to my satisfaction. A negative point: the handling of parking for visitors. We didn't have a car but our son was coming to have breakfast, to check carefully the bill as in our case the initial rate was not totally reflected in the final statement.

Room Tip: Marina view is essential - the lower building is better as it is further removed from the main stree...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paredi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is our 8 th year for a family reunion-foundation meeting and it was unanimous that we had the best stay yet at this wonderful hotel.The staff were friendly and helpful(Michelle Baird-the event coordnator and waiters:Jacob,Johnny,Tim,Jeremy, and Khan),the rooms and hotel were clean and cheerful.We loved eating in the Vu Restaurant-the food was novel and delicious.We had a great meeting in the Antigua Room and a wonderful family dinner in the same room . We also hung out frequently on the back patio with it's gorgeous Marina views and at nght they turned on the firepits and heaters.There are restaurants in walking distance and right out the back of the hotel is a long walking -running path.The prices were also very reasonable for the beach area and it was our 4th year coming to Marina del Rey and Santa Monica.Linda Serviss

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
747 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 353 in Los Angeles
785 reviews
Marina del Rey Marriott
#6 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,150 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Bay Inn

Address: 4175 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-6299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#3 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range: $258 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jamaica Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While here, enjoy onsite dining at Beachside Restaurant & Bar, serving up California coastal cuisine with marina views, take a swim in our heated year-round pool and enjoy our location near Mother’s Beach, Venice and Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jamaica Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Bay Hotel Marina Del Rey
Best Western Marina Del Rey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing