We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and (vastly) Improved”
Review of Jamaica Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jamaica Bay Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“New and (vastly) Improved”
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I grew up about five miles away from the "old" Jamaica Bay Inn. It was a funky place better known for it's Sunday Brunch than its hotel rooms. Locals loved it but never stayed there. Eventually, people from out of town stayed away. The "new" Jamaica Bay is a radical change from that. It combines a great location with a stylish decor, nicely appointed rooms, good food and drinks and friendly staff. Look no further. I stayed in #211 with a nice view out to the water and across the sand. When I called the front desk of the morning of my check in to reconfirm my reservation, they had actually UPGRADED me to a suite, which I had to turn down because I needed the two queen beds. Imagine a hotel that voluntarily upgrades you! From the moment I checked in I knew I'd like it here. This hotel has been rebuilt from the ground up. The lobby is warm and welcoming. The rooms are warm and welcoming. The area is warm and welcoming. I liked it here! Comfortable room with a great TV, nice deck, big bathroom, on site bar and restaurant. A nice deck with a couple of chairs, but found it odd that there wasn't a sliding screen door that would have allowed me to enjoy fresh air in the room. A nice pool and hot tub. Didn't get to enjoy the restaurant for dinner but I did sample it for breakfast. Interesting and unique menu. Very eclectic, but the portions were a bit small. I was hungry two hours after eating here. The bar scene seems to be local, loud and active. Valet parking is $22. Park it yourself is $14 which is kind of a joke considering how huge the parking lot is! Regardless, this is a nice hotel. It has a great location and a great view. The landscaping is quite nice...textured grass, flowers and plenty of palm trees that border the water side of the property. You can hear the palm fronds blowing in the wind. There's a walking path-bike path right in front of the property, too and so you see a never ending parade of people passing by. The nearby Marriott and Ritz Carlton should be very concerned because the Jamaica Bay Inn is now a major player and serious competition. I'll look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingManVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    348
    109
    32
    20
See reviews for
444
405
59
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reno
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I attended a business workshop and absolutely loved this location. The staff were incredible and knew our names when we walked by the front desk by the 2nd day. Johnny Diaz took care of us during the meeting. We knew he was great from the first minute we got there, we asked him to re-set the room configuration on the first day and he did so with a smile in under 10 minutes. He brought in all of our meals and was so quiet and careful, we barely knew that he came in. The food was excellent. Much better than most business meeting food. I loved that we could look outside during our meetings - a rare treat to have a meeting room with windows!
The sleeping rooms were lovely - I was on the Marina side and it was very quiet and beautiful, although one morning I think I did hear the person above me doing his/her morning exercises.
I'll be participating in another meeting in May and am looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2011

After a 14 hour flight from Australia, we were expecting to have to wait until 3pm to check in, as it was only 8am. When we got to the Jamaica Bay Inn, Ken had a double queen room ready for us, just until our King room was ready. That on its own was a pleasant surprise and after freshening up we went out (to try to stay awake). When we returned to the hotel a few hours later, expecting our King room to be ready, we were escorted to our room by Richard, who introduced us to the 'executive suite'. The upgrade was totally unexpected and was gorgeous! The bed was the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in and the decor was beautiful. Throughout our 5 night stay, all the staff were extremely helpful & friendly and went out of their way to answer our questions, call taxis, a lincoln town car, provide maps and directions and advice on places to eat (thanks Ken). Overall, I would say the staff made the difference in what would have been a very nice stay already, into the most comfortable stay we could have imagined. Thanks SO much to all of you. G'day....Craig and Wendy, Perth, Australia

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crendy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2011

I had a wonderful stay at the Jamaica Bay Inn. I can recommend it at all. The rooms are generous, nice and brand new. The room I had, was a Marina View room, which was totally quiet and with a lot of sun in the morning on the terrace. The staff always has been very nice and helpful.
I would quote the Jamaica Bay Inn as a very good 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Marina Bay View - quiet and with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZurichSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2011

This was a first time visit to the Jamaica Bay Inn and let's just say it is now going to be my go-to hotel. The location is amazing, the view and proximity to the water is closer than even the pictures represent. Upon arrival, the room I had requested wasn't right and they bent over backwards to upgrade me. The service was impeccable. The room was clean and contemporary. I stayed on the first floor and my patio was lovely. The executive chef at Vu, for the foodies out there, is reminiscent of Wylie Dufresne and the recently crowned Top Chef Richard Blais (he actually worked with him in Atlanta), and his food was creative and bursting with flavors. The waitstaff and bartenders, well, let's just say top to bottom and everywhere in between, this hotel has what in my humble opinion, LA is missing. Not only a great location with great prices but NO attitude. It's the only place I'll stay when I'm in the LA area again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olten, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I would like to thanks the Jamaica Bay Inn team for a beatiful week stay. It is a fabulous setting, my room overlooking the pool and the beach. New Look, huge rooms with balcony. The staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik-Wyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I stayed at the Jamaica Bay Inn for a few weeks on a business trip and really, really enjoyed it.

This place deserves its #1 ranking in Marina del Rey, and should be rating high in LA's hotels. My room was large and nicely designed, extremely comfortable bed. Wonderful bar and lounge downstairs for relaxing, great restaurant. Friendly, helpful staff - couldn't have been nicer from start to finish.

Bonus points: Showers are hot and huge.

Negative points: I am not a fan of the gym, a bit small.
And the lift is very slow.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rondorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
702 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,300 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 351 in Los Angeles
762 reviews
Marina del Rey Marriott
#7 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Bay Inn

Property: Jamaica Bay Inn
Address: 4175 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-6299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#3 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jamaica Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While here, enjoy onsite dining at Beachside Restaurant & Bar, serving up California coastal cuisine with marina views, take a swim in our heated year-round pool and enjoy our location near Mother’s Beach, Venice and Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jamaica Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Bay Hotel Marina Del Rey
Best Western Marina Del Rey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing