We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise in MDR”

Beachside Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Beachside Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 136 Restaurants in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Admiralty Way
Description: Sip a cool beverage, savor a flavorful dish and enjoy the beachfront scenery at Beachside Restaurant & Bar, a casual Marina del Rey dining destination. The menu features classic seafood dishes and simple California cuisine, enhanced by innovative touches. The refreshing bar offerings are inspired by the restaurant’s fabulous view of the beach, marina and water. Dine in the main dining area or on the trellis-canopied outdoor area, both with amazing waterfront views.Casual and approachable coastal fare and refreshing drinks just steps from the beach.
La Quinta, California
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise in MDR”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have driven by the Jamaica Bay Inn for years without giving it a thought. Then some local Marina friends took us there for Happy Hour, we found out what we had been missing!

The Beachside is indoors with a view or outdoors with a VIEW. As long as it is not inclement weather, eat outdoors (there are heaters if you get cool,) The view is of :"Mother's Beach" and a a nice weekend day, it is almost magic.

The Happy Hour selections are eclectic. Huge Buffalo Style Wings, nice fresh ahi, sliders and the list goes on for about 25 items. With four of us, we ordered about 8 selections and called it dinner. A nice way to end the day.

Service was outstanding, ambiance was outstanding, all was ..... outstanding.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank navigator53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    98
    28
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Remarkable Food!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Jamaica Bay Inn, where this wonderful emerging restaurant is located. Had it been a warm enough night, we'd have eaten overlooking the marina, or had they had a heat lamp for one of the empty tables, we'd have had a 5-star experience. But we had to eat indoors. There was a sports bar TV playing loudly over the bar and it could be heard in the dining room which had concrete floors and a high factory ceiling. This interior part of this restaurant is not a place you want to take a business client to or for a quiet evening of conversation. But the food is just extraordinary! And the atmosphere is a work in progress.

I had ahi with a coulis topping--out of this world. The coconut risotto was creamy and fragrant with subtle spice and the asparagus grilled to perfection. My husband had a crab cake with a tomato, corn and mini-basil salsa--I think also with ginger. It was just extraordinary. This was preceded by an order of salad--blue crab, with red grapes, red onion, pines nuts, topped with fresh shaved parmesan cheese on a bed of arugula. However, it didn't arrive before the main course. It turned out that the waiter was on her second day and slipped up. It was delicious anyway, but the interesting part was how concerned the management was! First the general manager came and apologized and then the owner (!) did the same and deleted the salad from our bill. That gave us a chance to rave about food. We learned several bits of information: first, they have burst into fame with their new management and indeed the place was hopping with customers on a Thursday night. They have hired a famous chef and in addition, they have a chef who just perfects the fish dishes. We mentioned how exceptional the food was but the noise level, we found, was deafening. They were working on that, we learned--drapes, a rug, but trying to keep it informal with the bamboo accents throughout the hotel. In addition, we were impressed with their extraordinary marketing to the neighborhood. Big signs welcoming locals at the elegant entranceway overlooking the marina. In addition, the local customers got 10% off the prices, and two or so dishes were very reasonably priced. None of these accommodations to the less affluent client diminished their extraordinary gourmet offerings. It made us admire them more. We just hope that there can be some acoustic adjustments to make the interior more warm and inviting. Meanwhile, visitors can have the perfect --even romantic--experience if they dine outside overlooking the water, the gardens and the marina.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann2009CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Two meals, terrific service!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Jamaica Bay Inn and had dinner the first night here. It was cool out so they sat us under a heater and we were very comfortable. We had a deal from our room so it was buy one, get one entree. A great treat! My husband had the Pacific Sole fish & chips and I had the pasta; both were great! Paired with wine and a drink, we were able to relax. The service was as fantastic as the food and atmosphere!
The next morning, we had coffee and our own creations of scrambled eggs overlooking the marina beach. Our server was attentive but not intrusive. It was a great location and the food is so worth coming back for again and again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandysisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shighland, General Manager at Beachside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sandyisland,

Thanks for the great feedback! We can't wait to see you again next time!

All the best,

Shawn Highland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NY Foodies in CA loved this restaurant!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We live on LI in metropolitan New York and have access to many good restaurants, but you'd have to pay double in NY for the quality of food served at the Beachside at the Jamaica Bay Inn. The prices, freshness of ingredients, and inventiveness of the menu made this the top rated restaurant on our SoCal trip this month. This surprised me since we usually don't frequent the restaurants in hotels. We ate a lovely breakfast each morning outside as well as three dinners and the patio setting on the water added to the experience. Four stars to a wonderful chef and the ultra friendly and engaging wait staff!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOANNE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great food, service, and outside patio dining”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a great dinner on the patio and had fabulous service. We had requested an outside table and when the evening was chilly, our waiter, Mason and another staff member set up a table side heater for us to enjoy our meal and evening. They were friendly and very attentive, without being intrusive. We all had wonderful food, drinks, and loved the location facing the marina beach. The Jamaica Bay Inn looked like a very special inn and the location right on the marina was fabulous. Thanks to the staff for an excellent dinner and evening after a very long walk from our hotel to the Beachside Restaurant. We recommend it for sure!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kattriprevus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachside Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Marina del Rey, CA
Marina del Rey, CA
 

Been to Beachside Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing