We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel near Venice Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    148
    54
    11
    18
See reviews for
111
125
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed at hotel for 3 nights when first arrived in LA. Nice quiet location with great views from room across marina. Stayed in an upstairs room with balcony. Ideally located next door to the Cheesecake Factory, which is great to walk for a meal and a convenience/liquor store also next door. Also, 5 mins walk to Venice Canals and Venice Beach. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful and were accommodating with our early arrival by allowing us to change clothes and store our bags for the day until our room was ready. Tea/coffee and snacks available in lobby all the time . Room décor is a bit dated, but rooms were clean and bathroom was a reasonable size. Downside was the double beds which I found to be a bit small if you are tall. Hotel offers a great complimentary breakfast selection each day. Free parking at front of hotel was also ideal. We didn't have any issues with noise from other guests.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with balcony overlooking Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are delighted to hear that your first stop in L.A. was at our hotel and you had a great experience. Our location is one of the best in the Marina. We take pride in our small, comfortable environment. Our staff will be happy to hear your comments. They strive to make your stay as welcoming and pleasant, as possible. Please come again, Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Perfect place to stay with beautiful beach/marina views. Comfortable room, with large windows and balcony with the constant view. Hard to make the effort to actually go out sometimes, as just enjoyed being there seeing everything from our room. Very clean and comfortable. Also, being small, was quiet and did not have a hotel feel.
Impressed with the fact that the price to stay included free bus from airport. The fact that the price also included breakfast was a real bonus. This was very good, plenty of choice. The breakfast room never too busy - again due to being a small place. Lovely peaceful spot to eat, looking right onto the beach and water.
Always someone at reception willing to offer advice about area and how to get about.
Right next door to an excellent place to eat out - The Cheesecake Factory.
As we did not have our own transport, really good that the water bus was running for most of our stay and we got all around the marina easily and cheaply - free bus available too!
Would definitely stay again - would consider no-where else if stopping at LA!

Room Tip: We loved having the upper floor room - a small bit extra to pay, but good to have view looking out f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIwiKouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are very glad you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and were happy with the room, the 24-hr. staff, extensive continental breakfast,(our manager puts a lot of effort into providing variety and keeping things fresh) and of course, our great location! Apparently not having a car didn't prove to be a problem because of the available transportation and proximity to The Cheesecake Factory and other fine restaurants. Thanks so much for your review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

It's not a fancy shmancy hotel BUT location location location. The rooms directly overlook the Marina del Rey ocean bay beach and yachts. That is, you're on a beach. The front parking lot is shared with a small market which is soooo convenient. Next door is a Cheesecake Factory and it's just off Washington Blvd. Turn left and in one minute you're at the ocean boardwalk and restaurant row. Excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We like your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. You thought the location was great, enjoyed the convenience of the market,The Cheesecake Factory next door and the accessibility of the local attractions all at a good value. Thanks for taking the time to rate your stay. We hope you come again and tell your friends about our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larvik, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotels in this area are quite pricy, or so we thought. With this in mind, The Foghorn is a clean, nice and value for money place to stay. The breakfast included was simple - make it yourself style , but still we were impressed with the number of choices supplied. Eyleen and the rest of the staff gave good advice and directions and were in general very helpful. The hotel is within walking distance of Venice beach, and the rest of LA you'd probably need a car or taxi to reach anyway. The only 'con' we had was that the AC didn't work and although it was a 'quiet' room, opening the terrace door would let traffic noise straight into the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kansas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
You traveled a long distance, so thank you for choosing our hotel. We are very glad that you thought our price fair and enjoyed the location and breakfast. I hope that you let the manager or desk clerk know that you air conditioning wasn't working. We try to stay on top of everything so our guests can be comfortable. We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

A welcome haven after long flight! ...and welcoming friendly staff too. Our comfortable room on upper floor, with balcony and almost directly over the sand seemed paradise to me. Lower floor rooms had large, sheltered patio areas at front. Complimentary self-serve breakfast was more than adequate with good choice; and coffee with snack available all day in Reception. Wish I were there now!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Oban27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your very welcome comments about our hotel, location and our staff. We wish you were here too! We will share your review with our manager & staff, they always love to hear good remarks; they work hard at being helpful and friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights as wanted to be close to Marina Del Ray area. Hotel position is fine - right on the beach to the marina. Hotel itself was looking a bit tired. We had a marina view room on ground floor which had a boxed-in patio area with glass screen - provided a bit of privacy from your neighbours I guess, but felt like being in a goldfish bowl when people passed by on the beach walkway. I imagine the balconies on the rooms above would be better, although cost more. Breakfast room was similar set-up and badly in need of refurb. Beds were a bit too soft for our preference. If we come back we will look elsewhere for better value.
On the positive side, free wifi and parking were good.

Room Tip: Marina view on upper floor nicest, but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and your comments. The location can't be beat nor can the price when you include all the complementary amenities. If you don't find a better value, perhaps you will come again & try an upper room with a balcony. The views are extraordinary and worth a little extra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Marina del Rey Marriott
#7 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel

Property: Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
Address: 4140 Via Marina, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly, but big on details. "Diamond in the rough". Great location in Marina del Rey, with water & beach views. Cheesecake Factory Restaurant next door (package available). Close to Venice Boardwalk. Extensive complimentary continental breakfast, 7:00 am to 10:00 am. Coffee in lobby 24/7 with snacks. Free taxi to & from LAX, on-site parking,free WiFi in all rooms, DVD's & desk-top computer with printer in lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foghorn Harbor Hotel Marina Del Rey
Hotel Foghorn Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing