We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Mom and Pop" kinda place - homey, comfortable, perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Placitas, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“"Mom and Pop" kinda place - homey, comfortable, perfect.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at Foghorn with teen daughter for a quick weekend trip to Venice Beach. First, thank you Rick for all your help in sorting out our reservation and patience with all my questions. We stayed in a upper level Marina view room - with balcony. Great advantage point for watching the world pass by. Lower level - hmmm. Your patio is glassed in and may feel stifling. Altho, both levels have advantages.

Rooms are large, comfortable to move around in. Clean and simple. Bath towels are monogrammed, plush. Almost didn't want to use them. I found the bed mattress and linens equal to higher end hotels. Extremely comfortable!

Breakfast is continental. The basics - large variety. Hard boiled eggs, waffles, packaged burritos and egg sandwiches, cereal, muffins, breads, hot and cold drinks. Won't leave hungry.

Free wi-fi and there is one computer in the lobby. Breezy seating areas in the lobby with view of the marina. My compliments to housekeeping and the front desk. Extremely accommodating and met all our needs without a delay.

The hotel contracts a shuttle company for transportation from LAX. Make sure to make a reservation prior to arriving in LA. Front desk will make your reservation for trip back to airport.

I highly recommend the Foghorn based on location, cleanliness, price and amenities.

Room Tip: request a room in north end of the building. The Cheesecake Factory restaurant is to the south and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVidaLoca505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at The Foghorn Harbor Inn. We love your review. It speaks volumes for how we try to make our guests feel. We will let Rick and the rest of the staff
know how much you appreciated their efforts.

The Manager shops almost daily to keep the breakfast plentiful and fresh, so our guests can start the day with a full stomach & plenty of energy to enjoy Marina del Rey and the activities in and around the area.

We do take pride in keeping our place clean, well supplied and as fresh as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    149
    56
    12
    18
See reviews for
111
128
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a 2 night stay and this was within our budget For $179 a night you are directly on the beach. We had a lower room with outdoor patio which is boxed in by a plexiglass window. There was a volleyball net about 20 feet away and you have access to the public beach. Despite my concerns about noise it was very quiet at night and safe. Wet for an early am walk around the Marina
Which is quiet. The staff couldn't have been nicer and breakfast with includes hard boiled eggs cereal, yogurt and some fruit bagels coffee is included. The room was fairly clean but the rugs in all the public areas and rooms need shampooing. Fat screen tv microwave but no coffee
Pot in the room. The best part about our stay was the location. Very close to Venice and Whole foods and many restaurants

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msmouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Foghorn Harbor Inn. It is not new and lacks some of the advantages of the bigger hotels. We make up by offering lower prices and a large selection of complimentary amenities not available at the other hotels. We have one of the best beach front locations in Marina del Rey

We are in the process of having all the carpets cleaned.

We appreciate your time in reviewing our Hotel. All comments help us improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I traveled to Marina del Rey on business in April of this year and was put up in this hotel by my company. I was underwhelmed when I first saw it as it is fairly low key. My opinion changed very quickly the minute I checked in! The staff was WONDERFUL. Very friendly and helpful upon my arrival. The room was a little older in style but the back patio and views were amazing. The location allowed for access to just about any of the local attractions and a ton of great bars and restaurants.

This definitely a place I would stay again even with my family. The lobby area has a library of DVDs you can check out free of charge as well as unlimited free snacks. Also, right outside the hotel is a beach area with volleyball and other activities. My kids would love it!

Room Tip: Request the bottom floor, the patio is large and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for the comments regarding your April stay at our hotel. We appreciate the time our visitors take to post on Trip Advisor, especially when they are good. We hope you will come back. Look into our package offer and treat your family to The Cheesecake Factory, next door. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Absolutely brilliant hotel/motel, only 10min walk away from Venice beach and only a short drive away from Santa Monica.
The rooms were lovely and there is a store right next door.
The breakfast in the morning is lovely, and there is a great selection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We take great pride in our little hotel. We try to keep it fresh, clean and with many complimentary amenities to choose from. Our manager takes great care in the breakfast choices. If you haven't tried the Cheesecake Factory next door you should look into the package we offer. Their menu is fabulous. We look forward to you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We used to live in Marina del Rey and have stayed at the Foghorn a number of times since moving away. On our most recent trip, we were more impressed than ever by this modest 1970s-style motel for its cleanliness and the customer care. First, you are right on "the beach" (even though Mother's Beach is among the most polluted in L.A. because there is not enough tidal outflow). Second, you can walk or bike to interesting places like Venice and Santa Monica. L.A. is a difficult place to be without a car, but from this location, visitors can cover quite a bit of territory West of Hwy 405 by foot, bike or bus. Third, even though this is in no way a deluxe facility, it is clear the management and staff are trying hard to make guests feel welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: In this two-story motel, all rooms have either beach-level enclosed terraces or balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Foghorn and your review. We are very glad that you noticed the improvements and that you have stayed with us and choose to return. All of our staff try very hard to please the guests. The maids put a lot of effort into keeping the hotel clean (which is harder to do with an older establishment). The manager is constantly working on keeping the breakfast varied, fresh and bountiful. We are fortunate to have one of the best locations in Marina del Rey. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My fiance and I are from Vancouver, BC, Canada and had traveled to Disneyland at the beginning of July - from there we went to Marina Del Rey and stayed in the Foghorn Inn. It surpassed our expectations by far! It is intimate but spacious for an inn, has a GORGEOUS location, attached to a market with a deli and liquor, right beside the amazing cheesecake factory, and only a five - ten minute walk from Venice beach!

The hotel isn't brand new but it is far from old. Extremely well maintained, aesthetically pleasing and outstanding location. Our room was large, with a King bed (I had the best sleeps of my life there) and spacious balcony on the marina side (we paid $30.00 a night for an upgrade and it is oh so worth it). There was a fridge, microwave and wall mounted TV, free DVDs to borrow in the lobby, a large variety of breakfast is provided downstairs, and the staff is sooo friendly. We were so sad to leave and will definitely go back. Free parking was included but we didn't have a car and used their free shuttle vouchers to and from the airport (which is nearby). Santa Monica is also a short and insanely beautiful bike ride away. The overall atmosphere of the hotel is a 11/10!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the ocean view room for sure - priceless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFS1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. What we lack in size, we try to make up for by offering other incentives like our many complimentary amenities. The view is probably one of the very best in Marina del Rey. Thank you for staying with us, posting the pretty pictures of the Marina view and your wonderful comments. Please hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent location! Had a second floor room overlooking the bay. Room was adequately furnished with comfortable beds, refrigerator and microwave. Loved watching the sunset from the balcony. Hotel also has free parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msphx12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The sunsets are wonderful from the patio. If you are an early riser the sunrise is amazing, as well. Location, location, location, that really speaks for itself. We do take pride in our comfortable rooms, friendly staff and many free amenities. We hope you visit us again and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Jamaica Bay Inn
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,249 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
701 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 351 in Los Angeles
762 reviews
Marina del Rey Marriott
#7 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel

Property: Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
Address: 4140 Via Marina, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly, but big on details. "Diamond in the rough". Great location in Marina del Rey, with water & beach views. Cheesecake Factory Restaurant next door (package available). Close to Venice Boardwalk. Extensive complimentary continental breakfast, 7:00 am to 10:00 am. Coffee in lobby 24/7 with snacks. Free taxi to & from LAX, on-site parking,free WiFi in all rooms, DVD's & desk-top computer with printer in lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foghorn Harbor Hotel Marina Del Rey
Hotel Foghorn Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing