We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved this little hotel!!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Twentynine Palms, California, United States
1 review
“I loved this little hotel!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I just checked out of this hotel today (6/2) and immediately came home to write this review. This hotel is not as modern as some of the others close by but that was not an issue for me. A friend of mine booked this hotel on a whim and we are sure glad things worked out that way! I stayed on the lower lever with an epic marina view. The rooms were clean and the staff was by far the most helpful I have ever experienced when staying in a hotel. The front desk clerk (I wish I could remember her name) went out of her way to make sure we were happy. This hotel has the best access to the beach in comparison to its neighbors. The Cheesecake factory is literally next door and only about a 40 second walk, which was great because their outdoor patio section is full of heat lamps and beautiful fire pits with lounge seating if you just want to sit out and look at the marina while having a cocktail as the day ends. I am already planning my next trip back to stay here. It was also only about four miles to the Santa Monica Pier and even closer to Venice Beach which is where we spent our time when we chose to leave the hotel. Great location!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lower level facing the marina if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nycole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
It makes us so happy when our guests are pleased with our hotel, location and staff. We try very hard (owners, management and entire staff) to offer clean, friendly and comfortable accommodations for our visitors. Thank you so much for your timely and favorable review. We welcome your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    148
    54
    11
    18
See reviews for
111
125
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is conveneintly located close to LAX is next to a small supermarket, the cheesecake factory and the marina's beach. The hotel main reception has wondeful views of the marina as wiil the rooms on that side of the hotel. Our room was not amazing but good for the price the lighting could be improved but otherwise clean. The staff were really helpful andknew the area well, the inn had nice touches such as the free dvds and coffee and snacks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We thank you for your recent stay and comments on our inn. We are very fortunate to have the lovely views and close proximity to The Cheesecake Factory, market and beaches. We offer the many free amenities, clean rooms, etc. to compensate for the size and age of our hotel and to keep our guests happy. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We chose this hotel for it's proximity to LAX, but the location is lovely as well. The views of the beach and harbor from your room/ terrace are just lovely. The surrounding area is very nice and the beach is only a 10 minute walk away. There is a Cheesecake Factory next door, which is a great place for dinner and drink - and no need to drive. The room itself is fine, the beds are comfortable and the room is clean. The hotel was quiet at night. We will definitely be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony - these are on the same level as the lobby. Rooms with a terrace are down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and took the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor. We strive to please our guests and find this site extremely useful. We, also love our location, The Cheescake Factory, next door is a great bonus. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is basic accommodation but made special by the warmth and professionalism of the two gentlemen at the reception desk who couldn't have been more helpful - plus the stunning view across the beach to the Marina - a room with a water view is a must. The Inn is next door to the Cheesecake Factory Restaurant which has an excellent menu featuring some great salads. Venice Beach is an approximately 25 minute stroll away. There is a free shuttle to and from LAX, organised by the gentlemen at the desk. Happy to recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and have a room with a view over the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Falksnviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel recently. We appreciate the nice comments on the professionalism of our desk personnel and their friendliness. We love the Cheesecake Factory too! The menu is extensive and the food consistently good. The views from the Marina side of the hotel are hard to rival, as is the location and our many free amenities. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
383 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We choose the hotel for the complimentary shuttle they offer from LAX. However the shuttle company was not very helpful (did not answer e-mails and the call we should have made after landing was not possible and when we finally got out and got a signal, the phone was answered by a Spanish speaking lady only - so we took a cab anyway - 28,00 for the ride but at least we arrived sooner after a very long overseas flight).
The hotel is clean and the staff friendly. We had a room with Marina view which was nice, basic furnishing, but you have all the necessary. The balcony was convenient to relax outside after the flight. There is no coffee or coffeemaker provided in the rooms, you however can get free coffee, tea and snacks in the reception area.
Breakfast is included and is not bad.
We had the "manager's special" which included dinner at the Cheesecake factory, which was very good. We actually got a credit card with 50.00 towards our dinner check.
We can recommend the hotel and would stay again. This made it possible to rent the car only the day after arrival, which safed a rental day and the hassle of driving out of the airport if you are tired.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Engadiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are glad you stayed with us and enjoyed the nice marina view, while relaxing. The Cheesecake Factory is hard to beat and so conveniently located next door. Thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. The comments help us stay on our toes and constantly try to improve, as well as being of great benefit to other travelers. We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights as a base to Universal Studios and Venice Beach. Room was a good size and clean although the walls were very thin and the man next door snored very loudly the whole ight and might as well have been in my room!. Not keen on the decor of the hotel but thats just superficial. Breakfast OK - standard American breakfast. Was some items that you just microwaved which was a sausage and egg muffin which was not my cup of tea but cereal and yoghurts were available. Cheesecake Factory was next door which serves fantastic food and lovely view over the Marina. Would stay here again if I was in the area or needed to be in the area though

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review. Our hotel is not new but we all try our best to do a good job & present a nice product, including the extensive complimentary breakfast; not to mention our many other free amenities. Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We chose Marina del Rey as a kickback break after a frantic 6 week tour of Asia, Aus and New Zealand. Our flight from Sydney arrived early in the morning (7 am) and whilst our room was not available when we arrived Graham Spencer, GM, did his best to accommodate our state of mind and exhaustion and had the room ready c12.00.

Foghorn Harbor is a small up scale motel type resort with only 23 rooms, although all enclosed in the one building. Only two rooms face the main / road car park with the balance split between elevated (at ground level as you enter the property) rooms with balcony and lower level (ground level onto marina / beach) with large enclosed patio with views over the marina. The rooms are clean and tidy with flat screen TV and fridge. The beige / cream decor doesn't do the rooms justice and some of the fittings, especially the patio sliding doors, have seen better days. There are no in-room tea / coffee making facilities, although there is a 24hr tea / coffee / light snacks facility (free) in the entrance.

A real surprise was the inclusion of a complimentary continental breakfast available in what was previously two rooms on the lower floor with outside space. The choice was extensive from fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, bagels, muffins etc.

The Inn is well located with a mini supermarket next door with an extensive range of wines at good prices. There is also an outlet of excellent Cheesecake Factory next door as an extension of the Inn property. Other eating places nearby include The Jamacia Inn and Killer Shrimp, which is a real "steal" at happy hour.

The Foghorn is well placed for visiting the eclectic Venice Beach, Venice its self and Santa Monica, with downtown LA just a bus ride away. Another couple of bonuses: the famous LA catering trucks visit the adjacent car park on a Thursday night and the Inn also provides free transport to and from LAX. Together with friendly helpful advice from the front of house staff (Graham in particular) this was a very enjoyable visit.

In summary: if you are looking for somewhere clean and tidy at a reasonable price without all the trimmings of a full service 4* resort ( no pool etc, but on the beach) this may meet your requirements. We would certainly use the facilities again when we are in the LA area.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower level have greater outside space, but as an offset you may get some noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueboyFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the descriptive review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and gave some good compliments about our hotel & the Manager. We would love to have you come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Marina del Rey Marriott
#7 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel

Property: Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
Address: 4140 Via Marina, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly, but big on details. "Diamond in the rough". Great location in Marina del Rey, with water & beach views. Cheesecake Factory Restaurant next door (package available). Close to Venice Boardwalk. Extensive complimentary continental breakfast, 7:00 am to 10:00 am. Coffee in lobby 24/7 with snacks. Free taxi to & from LAX, on-site parking,free WiFi in all rooms, DVD's & desk-top computer with printer in lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foghorn Harbor Hotel Marina Del Rey
Hotel Foghorn Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing