We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lobby, go for the marina view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marina del Rey Marriott
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The lobby has the feel of a good club rather than traditional hotel lobby. Plenty of seating, different areas and a very fresh atmosphere. The rooms are great, the food was wonderful. Definitely get a room looking towards the marina.

Room Tip: Get a marina view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NapGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MdRMarriott, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our lobby, rooms and food were what you expected and deserve. We appreciate your time in sharing with us your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

When friends ask me where to stay in SoCal I only recommend the Marriott! In addition to the great rooms, terrific location, and beautiful views of the mountains/marina, their restaurant is incredible! I take high end clients to the Marriott for meetings because the food rivals the top restaurants in LA. Also the staff at the MDR Marriott is AWESOME! Everyone treats you like you are a VIP and ensures you have a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Marina... absolutely beautiful at sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ccolakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MdRMarriott, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments. It means a lot to us coming from a local. We really appreciate your referrals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here one night on business and as many of the other posters have said the staff is among the best I have encountered. Kudo's to the GM here. The hotel is well located close to LAX and Santa Monica which is where my meetings were.

The hotel has the best outside patio that I have seen in many years. It has a very unique tiered gas fireplaces as well as extremely comfortable seating area's. Will return to enjoy this.

The rooms are another matter, while they are clean and well kept they are dated, very dated. My only compliant for this price point one would think

The hotel has limited food/bar options.

All in all the best managed Marriott I have seen.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghostrider5408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MdRMarriott, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for your review, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here for a few days after flying in to give us time to adjust to the timezone. Hotel was reasonably well presented. We had a junior suite which was plenty big enough. Decor is a bit dated and probably ready for a freshen up. The hotel is in a nice location, walking distance to beach, restaurants, shops, transport , marina and markets. Some staff were a little confusing/unhelpful. We arrived a early and despite requesting an early check in and receiving confirmation it was in place, this didn't happen. Food is ok, standard hotel fare. Rates a lityle bit on the high side for what was offered, but it is high season.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MdRMarriott, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate any opportunity to take our guests feedback, share it with our staff and find ways to improve our service and enhance our guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed for two nights in this very pleasant Marriott. the room was comfortable and had a good view from a nice small balcony type rail. The staff were very helpful, and it was easy to walk to the beach and some nice restaurants nearby. In my opinion much nicer than the hotels right next to LAX but still very convenient

Room Tip: ask fr a room with a view over the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfhmgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MdRMarriott, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

I'm happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and hope you'll return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Within the Marriott flag, the Marriott brand spans a fairly wide array of hotel quality. Marriott then has several brands which are higher-end, such as J.W. Marriott and Ritz Carleton. This particular hotel is a bit of a mix -- the lobby/common area ambiance and the service are clearly reflective of the highest end of the Marriott flag. The rooms and the concierge lounge, which are very nice, are nonetheless more reflective of the mainstream Marriott brand. The location is across the street from the water, in contrast to the Ritz Carleton property, which is right on the water nearby. I was there on business, and it was apparent this is a nice, up-scale business hotel in a great location.

Finally, I would stress the service, which was top-flight. I would note that this is a "company-owned" property. It's often hard to discern unless you ask, but "company-owned" Marriotts seem to generally be a notch above the franchised properties, particularly in customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnK1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MdRMarriott, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for your review, I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The excellent employees, location of this hotel and great views of the Marina are the best thing about Marriott Marina del Rey. The breakfast buffet is very tasty and the omelet station make it a definitive plus. The elevators are fast. Though clean and spacious, the room was nothing special whatsoever - it was very much standard, though priced and billed at an "exclusive suite". This highly overpriced accomodation is most definite in need of redecorating. We were highly disappointed that the room did not include a refrigerator nor a microwave. Please be advised that parking is not included and for your own convenience, you are pretty much forced to pay for Valet Parking each night, which is very expensive. Otherwise, the parking situation is a headache. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. When I inquired at the front desk for directions, they were more than happy to print out detailed instructions for me and even offered other suggestions, for which I was most appreciative.

There is a extremely nice looking club/bar in the outside lobby area but I have to assume because of the cold temperatures, was empty. This particular area has beautiful fire pits and even a waterfall.

Whereas this was a good experience I do have to warn you it is overpriced and not updated but I would be willing to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StressFreeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MdRMarriott, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for the excellent review. We have renovated our rooms and have other renovations planned around the property as well. I hope you'll come back an enjoy them when we're finished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,282 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
761 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
595 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,410 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#10 of 354 in Los Angeles
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina del Rey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina del Rey Marriott

Address: 4100 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-6207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#8 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range: $246 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marina del Rey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come explore a brand new hotel experience at the Marina del Rey Marriott in the heart of one of the most desirable coastal communities in Southern California, and surrounded by nearby Santa Monica, Venice and Playa Vista. With our brand new lobby, inviting outdoor lounge and spacious new guest rooms offering panoramic views of Marina del Rey, Southern California coastlines, along with city and mountain views of the entire Los Angeles basin, you'll find that our hotel is the perfect location.Located just 4-miles north from Los Angeles Intl airport (LAX), 3-blocks from the beautiful sandy beaches of world-famous Venice Beach and 2-miles south from Santa Monica shopping attractions, our hotel offers easy access to a variety of Los Angeles area highlights, in addition to providing access to over 30 restaurants within walking distance, making our distinctive location an ideal meeting and social destination while offering everything you need to relax or conduct business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina del Rey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing