We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great start to the honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marina del Rey Marriott
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We arrived at the Marriott after 22hrs travelling [ from Europe] to start our honeymoon. From the moment we got out of the taxi till we left 3 days later I could not find fault with anyone. The service is first class , The public areas of the hotel are fabulous but the rooms could do with an upgrade. but this did not effect our stay as to us it is all about service . I would like to say a special thanks to our server [ Bianca ] in Stones restaurant , where we had a lovely meal upon arriving, she was simply the best. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smbkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

We strive to provide the highest quality service possible, and I'm delighted to hear that our staff made such a great impression on you. I'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Bianca. You'll be happy to know that we are starting room renovations in the fall, so I hope you will come stay with us again after they are complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went to Marina Del Rey to see some fireworks for the 4th. We went with the Marriott as it seemed closest to the show. We also paid for the concierge floor for a better view and the morning coffee, etc. The view part worked out great, but there was a notice that the concierge service would be closed from the 4th - 7th. I am not sure why I had to pay the extra and not get the benefits. Overall, the hotel is what you would expect; decent & clean room and grounds. This would be a good location for someone who has a layover at LAX. It is much better than staying right outside the airport for a $25 cab ride.

Room Tip: Marina side - boats, Santa Monica side - coast at a distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itsabigworld321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our view of the 4th of July fireworks! We are privileged to be located so close to the marina and all that Marina del Rey offers. I am sending you a private message in order to discuss the concierge lounge issue – please reach out so we can discuss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed there last week and had a nice stay. The staff upgraded us as we were on our honeymoon and gave us complimentary breakfast. The room was big, clean and nice. The bed was comfortable and the shower was pretty good. All members of the staff were friendly and helpful. We will return again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kinglaura22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Congratulations again and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for a break between two long night flights. It is 15 mins from LAX by taxi (around $20). Whilst the hotel building is pretty much what you expect from a mid-range chain hotel, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the beds were as comfortable as we have encountered anywhere. The front rooms look out over the vast marina, which is pleasant to wander round. Venice Beach is a few minutes walk away, with plenty of eating and drinking establishments - though seemingly geared to youngsters. Santa Monica, Beverly Hills and Hollywood are easily accessible. Food in the hotel was surprisingly good, and reasonably priced. We would certainly return if we needed a night or two in LA.

Room Tip: We paid $20 extra for a marina view room with a small balcony, and it was worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thamesboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us - we appreciate it and are so glad you had a nice stay. Other travelers will find your tips about the area very helpful. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My last stay here was in 2007 for a conference, and I looked forward to spending time outside around the fire after dark. At check-in, the clerk and bellman were friendly and helpful, and I got a room with a great view of the beach and the Hollywood sign.

A friend came to join me for dinner in the lobby restaurant, but dinner was a bit of a disappointment: Had to send back my steak for being seriously undercooked, and the brussels sprouts were like rocks. Dessert outside by the fire was just what I wanted it to be (except there are cigarette butts in the fire pits).

The room itself was clean but a felt a bit warn. The 'balcony' is a sliding glass door with about six inches of standing space, so don't expect to be able to do anything but stand out there, but it's nice to have the door open to catch the ocean breeze.

Met some friends for a drink in the lobby bar the next day, which was nice - It's a wide open space but still managed to feel private.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach view over the harbor view for a sweeping vista. There is a concierge level that ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tammyloans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We're happy that we could have you back for some outdoor relaxation in Marina del Rey! We're very proud of our Glow Lounge, and we're glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your review and feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The location is good, adjacent to Venice and not far from Mar Vista, Palms, etc. to the north.
The public spaces are well appointed and outside bar becomes a nice coffee lounge in the morning.
Pool is small (actually borders the front drive up area) but nicely landscaped. Buffet brunch was excellent. Our room #609 and had a view of the rooftop parking of the strip mall below, plus Venice to the north. I think they remodeled the public parts of the hotel but haven't gotten to the rooms yet. There is an odd 'hip' shower head fixture that looks European/cool but actually is absolutely useless and terribly annoying, dripping water on top of your head only. If you don't want to wash your hair, you have to press yourself against the wall of the shower to avoid soaking your head. Very odd.
The plumbing /pipes growled all night long - really loud!! above us, and woke us up through ear plugs several times.

Yes parking across the street in the public lot was about $10 and safe and easy. It's a closer walk than it looks when it's late and night and you are tired.

Front desk reception was friendly and easy.

The place was packed for weddings, etc. and full of excitement - I hope they can catch up with their 'look' and support it with the service that their look promises.

Room Tip: Go for a harbor view from a high floor if it's not marked up too much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback. We're sending you a private message to follow up about your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The family and I stayed here before traveling up to Valencia, CA and this was a really nice place. The location is really nice for beaches in Santa Monica and close to UCLA.

We had a room on the 9th floor with a mini balcony. We had a super nice view of the boats in the bay. The hotel lobby is really nice and the decor is up to date. The beds were really comfy and very spacious.The bathroom was VERY nice and spacious.

There is a cute little Waterbus that you can take for a dollar per person. Take the Waterbus over to El Torritos, we had a really nice dinner and watched all the boats in the bay and we even seen a seal!!!

Overal, the staff was nice and there is ONLY valet parking. There is a TON of shopping all over and you are really living amongst the locals. The area was super laid back and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: High Floor for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimK729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for the great review and recommendation! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we're glad that you could explore Marina del Rey by boat as well! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Los Angeles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marina del Rey hotels
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
818 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
658 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina del Rey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina del Rey Marriott

Address: 4100 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-6207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
#6 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range: $242 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marina del Rey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come explore a brand new hotel experience at the Marina del Rey Marriott in the heart of one of the most desirable coastal communities in Southern California, and surrounded by nearby Santa Monica, Venice and Playa Vista. With our brand new lobby, inviting outdoor lounge and spacious new guest rooms offering panoramic views of Marina del Rey, Southern California coastlines, along with city and mountain views of the entire Los Angeles basin, you'll find that our hotel is the perfect location.Located just 4-miles north from Los Angeles Intl airport (LAX), 3-blocks from the beautiful sandy beaches of world-famous Venice Beach and 2-miles south from Santa Monica shopping attractions, our hotel offers easy access to a variety of Los Angeles area highlights, in addition to providing access to over 30 restaurants within walking distance, making our distinctive location an ideal meeting and social destination while offering everything you need to relax or conduct business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina del Rey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing