We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marina del Rey Marriott” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina del Rey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marina del Rey Marriott
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marina del Rey Marriott”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The location of the hotel is not bad at all. It's facing the marina and if you get the right room, you can have a view of the ocean. Driving up to it was a little hard and I almost missed it because the road that leads to it is so small.

Our first night, we decided to hang around downstairs in the lobby and watch the Laker game and had so much fun. We ordered drinks and lots of food, which turned out to be really great. The best dish was the calamari in my opinion. We loved it so much we ordered 3-4 plates and theres only 4 of us. The servers were great and were always attentive. Great customer service.

The rooms on the other hand didn't look and feel so fancy compared to how the hotel looks from the outside and the lobby. I expected better quality from this hotel.

There are plenty of restaurants and entertainment located around the area. The beach is also just down the street if you want to take a walk or a jog.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Lery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
You're not the first guest to go "Calamari crazy"...So happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the great review, and we hope to see you again for more sports and seafood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    447
    165
    50
    36
See reviews for
275
269
50
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Arrived at the hotel after the long flight from Sydney with a very sick daughter. Even though it was only 9.30 in the morning the staff found us a room, the head chef came to see if he could make anything to make my daughter feel better, and guys at the front who take care of your bags were amazing. Later they sent a fruit platter and drinks up to her room. Everyone continued to enquire and show concern the whole time we were there.
N
We chose the hotel as we had a very early flight to Canada and it's an short easy drive to the airport. We found the area quiet (out of season) and whilst its a bit of a drive to some of the sites LA is easy to get around in a car.

The rooms are adequate without being impressive, some have a nice view over the marina, and there are a couple of restaurants, take aways and dry cleaners etc within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dthomps8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We're always happy to do everything we can to make your stay with us as painless as possible, especially when there is a sick child involved. Thank you for the great review. We hope your daughter recovered quickly enough to enjoy your vacation, and we hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Los Angeles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hills, Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our three kids and it was perfect for our needs. We were visiting friends in Malibu so the location worked well and we also enjoyed the short drive to Santa Monica. The hotel was great and our kids enjoyed the pool area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiChad5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Great to hear that you had a comfortable and convenient stay with us! Thank you for the wonderful review. We bet your friends in Malibu would love to see you again, so we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in the LAX area and this is the first time I stayed here. I found the check in extremely courteous and friendly. I received advance notification of my arrival and a request for anything I needed upon my arrival to the hotel.

Rooms here clean and fresh and the hotel staff very helpful.

A good stay all round.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
...And a wonderful review all around! Thank you for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a great stay with us, and we hope to see you again on your next business trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I held off writing this review as I gave the Manager - John at the front desk a chance to honor his promise but my stay was a month ago and he still hasn't added the points as promised.
Our family stayed at the hotel for my daughter's graduation from LMU. We are silver medalion members and have stayed at many different Marriotts and I have to say...this was the worst experience. It started with check in. We flew in from Boston and were eager to check in. We were told by John at the front desk that the room (1 bedroom suite) was empty and just needed to be cleaned which would take about an hour. We then went out for lunch and came back aprox 2 1/2 hours later and the room still was not ready. We waited about 30 minutes longer and finally checked in. I have never been so dismayed with a room. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the parking lot and the "Balcony" that is advertised with a one bedroom suite was actually a one ft juliet balcony that you can't even stand out on. They had no rooms available to switch to so we unhappily stayed where we were. Here is a list of the other problems with the room. No exhaust in the bathroom so you couldn't even get dressed in there because there was so much steam. No A/C vent in the bedroom. If you closed the doors for privacy (there were four of us in the room), the room was really stuffy and smelled moldy. They give you a hair dryer but the electrician who installed the outlet in bathroom has it so close to the marble border that you can't plug in the dryer. Same issue in my sister's room. No robes which is very unusual for the price of a suite. No paper in the morning, even though they asked us at the front desk and we said yes, no complimentary coffee in the morning...again unusual for a Marriott. On second day, we didn't get cleaned until I called down at 3:30 in the afternoon even though we were out of the room at 7:00am for the day. Turn down service came every day at 5:00pm while we were in the middle of getting dressed for dinner so we never used it. I voiced my concerns to John the manager at the front desk and while he did send up two waters and a dessert and bought us two breakfasts for a party of four, he told us that he was crediting our Marriot account with 30,000 points and he never did it. I sent him a letter after our stay to remind him and he still never did it.
My advice is to stay at the Ritz for a little bit more money...it will be worlds better. I contemplated checking out and moving on the first day after seeing the room...I should have listened to my instincts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murrayjjmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it, and we want to make it up to you. Could you send us a private message with your email so we can have the appropriate person follow up?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Marina del Rey is a standard good quality hotel, as good quality hotels go. Its location is at about 10-15 minutes walk from Venice beach with its surfers and birds. Rooms are tidy, beds comfortable, the desk staff helpful though as is practically inevitable, impersonal in a friendly manner. The nicest were the men in front of the hotel, quickly helping me with my luggage and quickly getting me a cab. I stayed here three days for a small (about 200 persons) conference. Conference facilities were adequate and I can recommend it for such purposes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanFromE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for recommending our conference facilities, and thank you for the great review! We're glad that you had a pleasant stay with us, and we'll pass your compliments on to our staff. We hope to see you again for a Marina del Rey vacation next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I have a nice stay at this hotel, unfortunately too short, while on a business trip. The front desk staff checked me in and got me to my room very quickly. The room was nice, comfortable and clean. I did not see the outside lobby bar until the next morning, but it looked pretty cool.

I had dinner at the lobby bar while watching a game, and the steak tacos were very good. They were almost as good as the ones I had in Cabo. They have a nice selection of wines by the glass.

All in all a too short stay, but I want to come back soon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Manager at Marina del Rey Marriott, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Love hearing that our Steak Tacos contend with the ones you had in Cabo! Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope you can come back soon to hang out at our outdoor Glow Lounge and explore the beautiful surroundings in Marina del Rey and Venice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina del Rey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina del Rey Marriott

Property: Marina del Rey Marriott
Address: 4100 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-6207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#8 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marina del Rey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come explore a brand new hotel experience at the Marina del Rey Marriott in the heart of one of the most desirable coastal communities in Southern California, and surrounded by nearby Santa Monica, Venice and Playa Vista. With our brand new lobby, inviting outdoor lounge and spacious new guest rooms offering panoramic views of Marina del Rey, Southern California coastlines, along with city and mountain views of the entire Los Angeles basin, you'll find that our hotel is the perfect location.Located just 4-miles north from Los Angeles Intl airport (LAX), 3-blocks from the beautiful sandy beaches of world-famous Venice Beach and 2-miles south from Santa Monica shopping attractions, our hotel offers easy access to a variety of Los Angeles area highlights, in addition to providing access to over 30 restaurants within walking distance, making our distinctive location an ideal meeting and social destination while offering everything you need to relax or conduct business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Marina del Rey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing