We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marina del Rey Marriott
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Sun City West, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Top Notch Hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is excellent. The lobby is the largest and one of the nicest we have experienced. Private spaces off to the side for conferences,etc.Rooms are very nice,clean and comfortable. Location is choice: across from the marina and near Venice Beach. Many good restaurants within walking distance from hotel. We look forward to our return.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank willieSunCityWestAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    476
    176
    52
    37
See reviews for
303
286
52
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Pros: Room - My room was quite large, with tiny little terrace, and was attractive. Actually, the whole hotel was quite nice looking.
Location - The location isn't nearly as bad as other reviewers have stated. It's a bit of a walk to the beach and restaurants, but not bad at all, even at night for a woman.
Gym - The gym was quite nice for a hotel gym, with plenty of ellipticals and treadmills, all with working tvs and complimentary earphones.

Cons: Service - The lady at check-in was extremely rude to our group of three, insisting we should have three separate reservation numbers for three rooms, despite us showing her our reservation confirmation, with one number and multiple rooms. No exaggeration, it took 10 minutes of her scolding us, sighing, and shaking her head while clicking away on the computer to get her to assign me a room. My coworkers would not be assigned a room yet, because it was before check-in, and she would not call them when their rooms would be ready - they needed to come back and go through this again at the proper time. When I left my room, I almost tripped over someone else's room service dishes left right outside my door. When I came back, two and a half hours later, they were still there. Another afternoon, housekeeping left some items in my room, and I was asked to deliver said items down to the front desk. I then faced questions about it from the front desk person as though I were somehow to blame. All-in-all, very sloppy.
Food - We got some food at the restaurant and some food provided at the conference we were attending, all of which was really bland. I usually don't dock hotels for poor food, but since we were forced to endure their food repeatedly, I'm counting it against them.
Room - The sensor-activated blinding light in the middle of the night when I went to the bathroom got really old really fast. Also, this is yet another hotel that really wants to be a nightclub. I had a really had time falling asleep on Sunday night thanks to the late technofest outside my window. It was a little early, but, well, it was a Sunday, I was jet-lagged, and the whole purpose of a hotel is as a place for people to sleep so I shouldn't have to justify my wanting to sleep. Lack of soundproofing was an overall problem. Luckily I was already getting up at the same time as my neighbors, because I could hear the other guests in adjacent rooms moving around getting ready in the morning.

This place wasn't horrible. It's just yet another pretty hotel trying to be a hot spot and failing at being a decent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank parslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

You will not be disappointed here. The wonderful housekeeper do bring extra hangars the minute I asked, to the front desk staff's prompt attention to requests, and the bellmen offering water bottles whenever they saw me returning from my walk, the service was excellent, friendly and professional. Guest rooms were comfortable and the view was great. I found the hotel very quiet and the staff most accommodating. All this was exactly what the other person just posted and I felt as well. The view is amazing and the beds are very comfortable with large bathrooms. One of my favorite properties and a true gem! Great job.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong. I have been here a few times and all good. Love the motion lights in the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtieSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

From our wonderful housekeeper bringing extra hangars the minute I asked, to the front desk staff's prompt attention to requests, and the bellmen offering water bottles whenever they saw me returning from my walk, the service was excellent, friendly and professional. Guest rooms were comfortable and the view was great. I found the hotel very quiet and the staff most accommodating.

Room Tip: 8th/9th floors are preferred, rooms facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzauregionaldirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Nicely appointed Marriott property -- room was spacious and clean. Front desk personnel were friendly and efficient. Room service prompt -- quality food. Meeting room downstairs was "dungeon" like due to lack of natural lighting, but service was good and on time.

Room Tip: all rooms are fine -- of course the view of the sea or the city is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRL217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We just left today after a four night stay at Marriott Marina Del Rey. We drove up for an extended weekend stay from our home in San Diego.

I'll start with the good:

The views were great and appear to be so on both sides of the hotel and get better the further up you are. We faced Santa Monica and were on the top floor. The rooftop deck was also very beautiful and had great views both ways, northward and toward the marina.

The first night we ordered room service. My wife ordered the penne pasta which was just OK, but I ordered the chicken and it was DIVINE. Whatever sauce the chef uses was amazing. Some of the best chicken I have ever had.

The bell person was very nice as were the valet and the room service personnel. I met one bartender outside of the hotel by chance named Gary and he was very nice and outgoing.

Now the bad:

Marriott Marina del Rey, if you want to be The Palms on the weekend then PLEASE do the right thing and bring your sound proofing up to code in your rooms. We were on the top floor and the DJ music from their "Club" Glow on ground level was so loud it sounded like it was in the next room. After two hours of trying to sleep (with a two year-old) I went down to ask how much longer this was going to be and the front desk person said it stops at 1AM. More realistically 1:30 or so. He said that they usually try not to book certain rooms on Saturday nights so they must make so much money with the "club" that "hotel" no longer receives precedence. They also didn't take this in to consideration when booking our room or any other on that entire side of the hotel. This is the main and biggest complaint I could give any hotel. The purpose of a hotel is so travelers can rest. It is a nice place to sleep and possibly eat. A hub located in a nice area of interest. When a hotel decides that the things that truly don't matter as much should be more important they should stop calling themselves a hotel. So from 9 or 10PM to 1:30 AM on Saturdays this place should be called "Marriott Marina del Rey at Glow" if you are unlucky enough to have booked a room on the north facing side.

Some of their staff were less than personable. The bartenders I met while at the bar don't even talk to the patrons unless they are local: guys who knew their names and clearly live in this area based on their conversations. I think I'm starting to understand the above issue even more now. The girl who ran the restaurant in the morning on Sunday was extremely snooty. A friend and I were enjoying breakfast with my toddler who accidentally broke a water glass. Her reaction was one word in the snippiest of tones possible, "OK!" No, "Is everything OK?" or "Don't worry, these things happen." This girl was just b-to-the-y.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, if you are staying here on the weekend, ask for a room on the south side facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graphicnatured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed here with the family on a weekend night. Check in went smoothly thanks to Kendall, and the family really enjoyed the view from our room, the small, but adequate pool, and the very nice breakfast buffet. During our stay I personally interacted with more than twenty different staff members, from valets, to waiters, to maids and desk clerks, etc. Each and every one of the staff were genuinely pleasant, knowledgeable, and did their best to make us feel welcomed. This is a beautiful, well-located hotel, we would definitely stay here again.

Two very minor annoyances kept this from being 5 stars -

1. My wife and I went to the "Glow" lounge at about 9:30 pm for a drink. The place was very nice, and there was plenty of unoccupied seats, but they were all (estimate about 30 percent of the capacity) "Reserved." We were told we could sit there anyway until the parties came in, but it wsn't exactly welcoming and I felt like I had just snuck into the box seats from the bleachers. We downed our drinks and moved on.

2. There is a motion detector light at the door to the room (inside). It is undoubtedly designed to keep you from splitting your head open trying to get to the bathroom at night, problem is, it activates a large light in the "hallway" closet that both startles you and potentially wakes up everyone else. Would recommend a much smaller light in or near the bathroom.

Room Tip: Even numbers look over the marina to the south (front side) of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freakwentflyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Jamaica Bay Inn
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,249 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
509 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,373 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina del Rey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina del Rey Marriott

Property: Marina del Rey Marriott
Address: 4100 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-6207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#8 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marina del Rey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come explore a brand new hotel experience at the Marina del Rey Marriott in the heart of one of the most desirable coastal communities in Southern California, and surrounded by nearby Santa Monica, Venice and Playa Vista. With our brand new lobby, inviting outdoor lounge and spacious new guest rooms offering panoramic views of Marina del Rey, Southern California coastlines, along with city and mountain views of the entire Los Angeles basin, you'll find that our hotel is the perfect location.Located just 4-miles north from Los Angeles Intl airport (LAX), 3-blocks from the beautiful sandy beaches of world-famous Venice Beach and 2-miles south from Santa Monica shopping attractions, our hotel offers easy access to a variety of Los Angeles area highlights, in addition to providing access to over 30 restaurants within walking distance, making our distinctive location an ideal meeting and social destination while offering everything you need to relax or conduct business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina del Rey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing