We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jolly Roger Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Great price for a hotel in the area. 15-20 minute walk to Venice beach. There are bus stops near by that can take you to Santa Monica Pier or anywhere else. The hotel has a jacuzzi and pool. I didn't go to the pool when I went because it was being cleaned. Free breakfast in the morning and free WiFi. I would definitely go there again next time I come to visit!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rosa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 247 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Hotels in LA and Marina del Rey are usually really expensive, Jolly Roger is a great choice for quality/price. It's located close to the awesome Venice beach (you can go walking) and in a quiet area with a lot of good restaurants!
Breakfast is ok and we really liked the possibility to park our car in the covered parking for free. I recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew_G66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Well I got a room on a low rate and they put me on the road side upstairs, had booked 2 nights and the traffic was noisy. I asked if they could give me another room cause I had difficulties sleeping. They said no and I was suprised cause the hotel was most definetely not full.
Poor, just poor.
The room is ok though I guess, but I don't like bad service.
And I definetely won't stay there again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank sjustistu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Motels/ hotels in Marina Del Rey are spendy, so if you are looking for budget motel that is convenient, quiet (despite being on a busy street), clean, with friendly staff, Jolly Roger is a good choice. The rooms are basic with older decor, but it is clean and quiet. It's a good budget choice and is walking distance to Venice Beach (although it's on a super busy street).

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We rocked up enjoying the fact we were staying in the Jolly Roger hotel and kind of expected some wacky pirate themed place. Our disappointment at not being greeted by a man with a wooden peg leg and shown to a 'cabin' was replaced with a feeling that our expectations had been seriously exceeded! The reception staff were absolutely brilliant, very friendly, very funny and very helpful. The room was fantastic, very spacious, very clean, and very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was ridiculously good - surprisingly so. The location of the hotel was ok, but the 30 minute stroll to Venice Beach was perfectly fine with us.

There is not much more to say really. Would stay there again in a heartbeat, and wished we had stayed for longer. Recommended!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S1m0nT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 4 night, the hotel is good and comfortable, Ok if you can use car or bike. Donna is very helpfull and nice with the guest. The price is ok comparing the hotel in the area. The breakfast could be better.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Beppe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just an all-around great place to stay. Comfortable, friendly, well located. They also offer a lot of things for free that more expensive hotels charge for. Parking, in-room wi-fi, and breakfast are all included in the price of the room! The breakfast is simple but adequate with a few different options, parking is always available, the rooms are very spacious. If we go back to L.A., I can't think of any reason we wouldn't stay there again, a real pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Just try to get something not on the street side, they're probably a little noisy, although we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulywog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,421 reviews
Venice
Ramada Marina Del Rey
Ramada Marina Del Rey
#8 of 11 in Marina del Rey
512 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 355 in Los Angeles
800 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,295 reviews
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#258 of 355 in Los Angeles
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Roger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Roger Hotel

Address: 2904 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5547
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Price Range: $154 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jolly Roger Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jolly Roger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jolly Roger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing