We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food at a nice price”
Review of El Torito

El Torito
Ranked #37 of 135 Restaurants in Marina del Rey
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food at a nice price”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Fast friendly service and fresh authentic Mexican that I just love.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nihonjin777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great location, mediocre food”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I love the view of the Marina from the large windows at this restuarant. You can see water, boats, exotic birds and the ocasional seal. Also the sunset of course. The margaritas are great and we all liked the chips and salsa. The food is another matter and the night we went, our server was very spaced out and brought us the wrong thing a couple of times, but I woudn't judge all the servers from this one. I ordered the sizzling combo which was not sizzling at all. The shrimp, which was the tastiest item on the plate, were not hot and barely warm. The steak taco (while warm) were tiny squares of meat and not too many of them, but they were fatty and not tasty. The chicken enchilada was Ok but not great and also not that hot. My daughter had a tamale which was just OK and my husband's meal was also mediocre. We tried the fried icecream for dessert and it was fine. Get your parking validated and it is free and plentiful. Usually this place is packed on the weekends, so if you don't want crowds go during the weak. Again, it is a lovely place for chips, salsa and drinks, but don't have any expectations about the food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
192 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A favorite watering hole...”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

... and the food is excellent, too. I visit often, alone at the bar, or with friends or family in the dining room It has a great marina view of the main channel and H basin. I avoid it on weedends or for happy hour when it tends to be too crowded.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foredeckchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I'd go back.....”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

If I was in the area and wanted a Inexpensive lunch without a crowd. The food was average. I had the street tacos which were ok. My wife had the grilled shrimp fajitas, which were average as well.

The view overlooking the harbor is nice and provides some entertainment throughout your meal.

We had an extra long layover at LAX and opted to grab a cab to find lunch. 10-15 mins from the airport. Should cost around $20 each way in cab fare.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
121 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great Tex-Mex on the Marina with great water view.”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I was taken to El Torito by a friend who lives in the Los Angeles area. The food was great, the service was great, the view was awesome as our table was right above the water and next to the window. The place was packed and obviously very well liked by locals and travelers. One of the things I noticed was the patience of the servers. We sat there over 3 hours talking, and we weren't rushed by the staff to leave since we were no longer ordering more food. That's rare these days. The server was tipped well for 'leaving us alone.' I will definitely be back. It's nice when eating out while traveling for a place to make a permanent impression on you and want to go back. Now as soon as I think of travel to LA, the next thing I think, is YUM, I get to eat at El Torito too.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank struct84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Torito also viewed

 
Marina del Rey, CA
 

Been to El Torito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing