We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveler beware of this Motel 6 In Marina, California worst experience ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Monterey - Marina
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Family and I arrive Saturday evening, maintence guy checking guests in. Line to get into lobby reaches outside into parking area. Maintenance guy checking in guest to the motel. Manager no where to be found. People who made time to make a their reservations find out that people are already staying in their rooms. That is exactly what happened to my family!!! We check in get our key and go to our room we find out ou room has already been checked out. We finally meet the manager and I speak to her and she tells me that she had a staff problem. No housekeeping!!!!! She is out trying to clean rooms half decent to accommodate guests. My family made reservations for two days. We had to go search for towels, our room was never cleaned or vacuumed, and the manager didn't seem to care one bit. Never again Motel 6!!! For premium paid for the room and experience my family had to go through their is no excuse. Please don't leave the light on Tom!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VinobearCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Owner at Motel 6 Monterey - Marina, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear VinobearCab,

Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had as a result of the check-in and housekeeping issues you experienced. These conditions are not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 184 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here three nights in August 2013 as part of a tour of the Coast. Reception area was clean. Rooms very clean and quiet away from the road. I would have given this Motel 6 five stars if it was not for the fact that every piece of grass was covered with literally HUNDREDS of dog messes. I had a dog with me and actually took him to a piece of waste ground next door to do his business as I could not find a clean place for him. You could not even have walked on the grass without looking at every step you took. I know people should clean up after their dog and I always do, but Motel 6 should make sure that they clean this place up at the end of every day. There are enough people looking for work I am sure!!!! I love that Motel 6 welcomes dogs, but this was ridiculous - I have never seen the like of it. When I got home, I called the Corporate Office and made a complaint. The girl apologised, but I never heard anything further. Otherwise a really nice stay. There is a nice courtyard and the building is an unusual design and very attractive. There is a really good Denny's just close by you can walk to. Had breakfast there twice and dinner once. All very tasty. Good place from which to explore the Montery Peninsula and Carmel area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoldenSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We've stayed at many Motel 6's but this one was truly unique.The GM,Mrs.Borba was super nice,and was always taking care of her flowers,and shrubs on a beautifuly arranged patio.We even had pizza on a table outside our room.the price was low concidering where we were(8mi from Monterey).Would have givin' a 5 but a little differcult to find at first.Be sure to hit the local beach to watch the "humpbacks"check this one out for yourself when in the area.thanx David/Cheryl sargent

Room Tip: Book EARLY as your close to Monterey,Stay on 1st level on patio level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PUPPYPUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good choice for visiting Monterey and Carmel. It's an ok place if you plan to spend one or two nights while visiting California Coast. Close to Monterey and Carmel. and way cheaper than hotels on those cities. Rooms acoustic isolation are not very good. If you happen to get a noisy neighbor it's gonna be disturbing.

Room Tip: I always go for the ground floor so I don't have to carry my wife's luggage upstairs. As usu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KitesurferBRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Was the cheapest hotel in the area within closest proximity to the beach. Well maintained grounds, decently nice staff, and clean rooms make it well worth the price. Only complaint would be no tissues in the room, also there are not fridges and microwaves in every room (just some). People who complain have forgotten how much they paid-- you get what you pay for. Happy I stayed here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Who'd know that the weekend that I wanted to go to Monterey would be the yearly car show in
Monterey. So...naturally, every hotel/motel has jacked up the rates for this particular weekend.
Remember this folks, August 14,15 thru Sunday the 18th this weekend every year. So I guess when I'm paying $120 a night at a motel 6, I going to be kinda picky. Two adults in a room should
give 2 bathroom towels. But immediately, I called room service. An additional towel pretty quickly.
The next day same thing, only 1 towel. This time after visiting the front desk, they had to call an
additional person to get us the towel. Mediocre airplane coffee in the lobby in the AM.
Oddly though, I'd consider it again, as I did like the location, ie right on the coast. 10 minutes
drive into Monterey.

Room Tip: We had a queen bed for 2 people, yet I tried to get 2 doubles. The front office told us that there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Stevie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Having stayed at a number of hotels/motels during our 3 week trip of the West Coast this was the most disappointing.

It was what it was, a box with a bed!!! although it was on route, for the price we paid it was over priced compared to many of the other places we had stayed such as RedRoof and Travelodge. As for toiletries I hardly think a small bar of soap equates to toiletries. There were no facilities at all, coffee maker, iron, hair dryer, fridge nothing! Not sure about being pet friendly either nothing against pets but surely not very hygienic having pets sleeping in your bedroom ?

The quilts on the beds are not very inviting and very dated ours and the couple we were travelling with had cigarette burn holes in them.

Have to say this does not reflect on the staff the lady who checked us in was great, she was friendly and very helpful.

Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for so pay a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
1.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#5 of 9 in Marina
532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#1 of 13 in Seaside
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Monterey - Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Monterey - Marina

Address: 100 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933-2517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range: $61 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Monterey - Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Motel-6, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Monterey - Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Monterey - Marina Hotel Marina
Motel 6 Marina
Motel Six Marina
Marina Motel 6
Marina Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing