We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really not a nice place to stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Monterey - Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Monterey - Marina
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Marina
lausanne
2 reviews
“really not a nice place to stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

we went there for only one night and it was really disappointing!
The room is poorly soundproofed, it had a smell of wet linen so very bad. However, the room was clean and the shower is good but you don't have any shampoo or soap. There is a laundry which is great. The room is really overprice for what it is! We payed 120$ and you have to pay 3$ more for the wireless! And you have to drive 15min to be in monterey, so in comparison of other motel, the price is really abused!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gauthier f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    47
    36
    18
    23
See reviews for
33
50
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

What a bummer. I wasn't planing on staying long so I went cheap and I thought I could count on the Motel 6 Brand. No Shampoo ect. One Bar of soap. Awful (Really Really BAD pillows.) No alarm clock. 25in TV. The price was not cheap. We paid $120. The service wasn't helpful. our room wasn't available

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tree4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marina hotels

Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

except for sympathy and kindness of the ladies at the reception how can I suggest a motel with dirty sheets with holes , with no stairs and no elevators (heavy luggages do not fly) and noisy? I really no recommend it after a long drive

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertapd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This motel 6 is located near the beach, a short distance to conveniences like drug & grocery stores. Shared property with Denny's. The hotel style is not classic, the grounds were great - big courtyard with trees & flowers. Rooms were clean. Traveling with our Scotties - they enjoyed the grounds and the day trips to the beach. Recommend Phil's fish market for dinner in moss landing. And Tito's for breakfast or lunch. I would return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank readytogogram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Not all rooms have all of the amenities, so be aware. I had no microwave or fridge in my room, but I also had no alarm clock or hair dryer. It was a room with a bed and a bathroom and tv. That was it. I wasn't expecting it to be as nice as Holiday Inn or Comfort Inn, but I thought it would have a few more amenities as it was advertised. The room was clean, but the linens on the bed looked old and very worn and didn't smell great. I was on the back side of the hotel and had a great view of 7-11 and WalMart. Don't be fooled into thinking you're getting a great deal by the beach---it's actually across the highway from Marina State Beach. Looks pretty from the outside, but disappointing on the inside.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We ran the Big Sur Marathon and stayed here for one night. The receptionist, Ronell, was very helpful. We got clean room, no smell or anything. A typical motel room, basic amenities. One thing I couldn't bear was how thin the walls were. I heard everyone walked by and even when they flushed the toilet or turned on the facet. It was difficult to sleep when you have a race the following day. However, my friend didn't have any of these problems.

Bottom line, you get what you paid for and if you are on a budget, this would be an OK motel. The receptionist definitely made the difference. If I were to come back next year to run, I would pay a little bit more to stay in Monterey.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cranqee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Marina Motel 6 has a friendly, helpful staff and modest price for a high priced location. It is about 10 miles from Monterey and a little farther to Carmel. Rooms have exterior entrances, microwave and small fridge. We stayed in a 2nd story, end room and it was large and had a nice tree view. The carpets could use cleaning but otherwise the room was reasonably clean. There was no swimiing pool or hot tub. There was no dog area on-site but the area seemed safe enough for dog walking at night. Marina State beach and a nice park, where you can walk a dog, are near the property. There are few restaurants in Marina but many inexpensive restaurants in adjacent Seaside.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes
1.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
6.6 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Monterey - Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Monterey - Marina

Property: Motel 6 Monterey - Marina
Address: 100 Reservation Road, Marina, CA 93933
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Monterey - Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Motel-6, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Monterey - Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Monterey - Marina Hotel Marina
Motel 6 Marina
Motel Six Marina
Marina Motel 6
Marina Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing