We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, quiet, perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramada Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Marina
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Marina
quebec
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this Ramada. The hotel was so clean, looks like it's been built this year. The room was very wuiet we slept like babies!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyinlifeQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    186
    108
    38
    30
See reviews for
236
122
23
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Unfortunately we were not familiar with the area and found this hotel when we were looking for a place near the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The places in Monterey were booked for the holiday weeked. While the Ramada Inn appears fairly new, the hairdryer in our bathroom was covered in grime and hair. More disconcerting is the area around the hotel is not particularly nice. It is definitely something I would want to know as a guest coming to this area. Also, the room is stark white with low grade hotel furnishings. It is certainly not worth the money we paid but we couldn't find a room in Moneterey

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marina hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2009

We had reserved 3 rooms there for 1 night in January 1st week. Probably it was low season for them, so we got a free upgrade. The rooms we got could accommodate 4 people with sofa-bed and were quite large.
The next morning, we wanted to print our boarding passes. The office in there didn't have a printer - so we asked the front guy, and he gladly agreed to get them printed at no charge.
The breakfast was also had decent fare - toast, fruit juice, waffles. No eggs though.
Overall a very good stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bing0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

My bf and I paid over $240 for the two nights we stayed there back in June of this year. We picked this hotel because it was one of the cheaper ones in the Monterey area, but the cost of this stay was much greater than the dollar amount.

When we realized the second morning that we had been attacked by bed bugs, my bf checked the mattress and found signs of bed bug residence (brown blood stains). When we checked out, we showed the person at the counter our bites and told her about the mattress, but she didn't offer us any compensation. Added to the physical pain and itchiness from the bites, I was completely freaked out about bringing those bugs into my home so we had to wash everything. We emailed the hotel as soon as we got back and received no response. So I called them, only to have the person who picked up claiming to be the manager telling me that she cannot address my complaint because she's suddenly no longer the manager. She said she'll have "the manager" call me back. I never got that call. We also contacted the Ramada corporation only to be told that they are not responsible for their chains.

I would not recommend staying here. The bed bug is terrible, but their complete lack of regard for us is unacceptable (and hopefully, they had gotten rid of the bed bugs in that room that we had told them about!!).

  • Liked — They had internet access.
  • Disliked — Complete disregard for customers' safety and well-being.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaypea23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGALIA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2008

Why pay a ridiculous amount of money for a hotel room in Monterey if you can have a large clean room in a decent and fairly inexpensive hotel like this one only a few miles away? Marina is a former military town and doesn't have a lot to offer. There is a beach close by and you'll find a supermarket and drugstore in walking distance of the Ramada. No restaurants to write home about.

The hotel itself sits on a busy street: Ask for a room to the back! It is easy to reach from Hwy.1, the main thoroughfare. Rooms are giant, much larger than I have seen in any chain hotel. Furnishings are motel style, a little disappointing. But everything you need for a few nights is there. Since the Ramada is fairly new everything is very clean and in good working order. Our room had a king size bed with a firm but comfortable mattress, a fold-out sofa, a desk with ergonomic chair, a breakfast table with two chairs, a fridge and a microwave. There were two TVs and a DVD player (a Blockbuster store is close by). Don't expect a view or a pool. It is not that kind of hotel. In the lobby is a computer for guest use.

Maid service was fine, but any other service is hard to find. We had to wait at the front desk (together with another guest who arrived before us) for several minutes and rang the bell twice until finally somebody showed up to check us in. The complimentary breakfast is terrible. One day it looked like leftovers from the day before. If you're late they run out of everything. And nobody is around to take care of it.

A warning for light sleepers: The walls are thin and you can easily be subjected to your neighbor's TV program. The A/C unit has to work hard to cover the giant room - and you hear it!

  • Liked — Giant rooms, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Buddy-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

Everything was clean, the breakfast left much to be desired.
It was just cereal and milk. That's fine for me but the description of what their breakfast offers is misleading. Other than that we loved the room, we loved the deal it was and it's very close to Monterey, Cannery Row. You just hop on highway 1 and next thing you know you're at the Aquarium, we will be going back.
This is a hidden jewel.

There's a walmart down the street, pizza places near by.
If you're looking for a bargain this is it.

Think about it, the money you save for the cost of the room can be used for shopping.

We stayed here for 2 days. Nov 6 - 8, 2008. Great!

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninjasohaib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF bay area, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed here for a total of 3 nights during a golf trip to Monterey. We reserved a total of 5 rooms and no one had any problems.

My room was a king suite. It was really big. Of course there was the king bed, small round table with 2 chairs, a sofa which turns into a bed around the corner & 2 TVs. There was plenty of room for our pack'n'play, stroller, 2 big suitcases and 2 sets of golf clubs....with room to spare! The bed was comfortable. We brought our own aerobed to put onto the sofa sleeper since the mattresses on those things are pretty thin. And it did have a set of sheets folded inside.

The bathroom was roomy with what looked like a jacuzzi or jetted tub. We didn't use the jets, just showered. It was all clean and they provide soap, shampoo, conditioner & lotion. There is a hairdryer also.

The hotel is located on a busy street, Reservation Rd. There's not much around it. McDonalds, Walgreens, SaveMart (?) and Walmart are down the road. The parking lot is well lit and the area seemed safe.

There is complimentary breakfast included in your rate. It's from 6am-10am. It basically consists of waffles (make your own kine), cereal, yogurt, toast, bagel & danishes. They also had bananas and apples when i was there.

I don't have any complaints about this place. I'd recommend it if you cannot get a room in Monterey/Carmel but try ask for a room that doesn't face the main drag.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJhulawahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
1.3 mi away
Monterey Beach Dunes Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
6.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Marina

Property: Ramada Marina
Address: 323 Reservation Road, Hwy 1 Exit, Marina, CA 93933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of Monterey, California in the quiet coastal town of Marina, the Ramada Marina is your ideal hotel in the heart of the Monterey Peninsula. Renovated in 2011, the 100% smoke free hotel is only a short drive from some of the Peninsulas finest attractions including Monterey’s Fisherman’s Wharf and Cannery Row, as well as Carmel’s Shopping Center and famous 17 Mile Drive and is just a scenic drive from the famous Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. Within walking distance from the hotel you will find downtown Marina and the stunning Marina State Beach. The hotel is highly regarded to be one of Marina’s best value hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Marina Hotel Marina
Marina Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing