We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rat Pellets on bed”
Review of Ramada Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Marina
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Marina
SOUTH GATE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rat Pellets on bed”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

stayed at the Ramada in Marina because i had a loss in the family and booked the Ramada in marina. We had a long night dealing with our loss and went to bed only to wake up during the night to find rat droppings on the sheets. I believed Ramada standards to be high in every hotel so I didn't think to check the sheets for rat droppings before getting into bed. When i woke up at 4am in the morning to go to the restroom, I noticed two black things on my bed. At first i thought it might be dirt or trash, but when i looked at t carefully, I noticed it was rat droppings. I took off the whole blanket from the bed and noticed there was another dropping towards the end of the bed. I called the front desk and told them bout the droppings, and asked if I can be moved to another room. They told me that they had no other rooms and that i'd have to wait for housekeeping to come in to change the blanket around 6 r 7 and for the manager at 7. I basically stayed up all morning sat on the couch waiting to get out of there. I called back at 715am and spoke to the manager and told him about what was going on. He said he'd go to our room w/ the manager of housekeeping to see it. They came about 10 minutes later and asked where was it. I showed them and the manager asked the housekeeper if the cleaned it the day before, she said no one cleaned the room since monday... I stayed there on a weds night... so one bothered to clean it before we got there. He said he'd have housekeeping clean it. He left w the housekeeper and called us about 20 minutes later and said he's give us a suite for the night, but we were leaving that day. So he said he would comp our room. Nevertheless, i felt so disgusted by all that, that i didnt bother eating breakfast there. I reported the incident to the dept. of health. It was the worst stay there. Will never stay at any ramada again let alone recommended. I even took pics of it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
3 Thank JULIE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritesh P, Manager at Ramada Marina, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Julie P, I sincerely apologize for the experience you had during your stay with us. Rest assured that our hotel does not take incidents such as these lightly, therefore after the incident occured we immediately contacted our pest control service whom services our hotel on a monthly basis. Upon inspecting the items on the bed, he could not conclude exactly what the items were but did confirm that they were not rat droppings. We take room cleanliness very seriously and apologize that your room was anything less than perfect. I am glad to hear that we were able to rectify the issue for you. If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me. I can be reached at (831) 582-9100 Extension 555.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    192
    112
    38
    30
See reviews for
242
125
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
RIVERSIDE
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

When visiting family, we like to use hotel facilities so we can go to bed and wake up when we want. We don't want to disturb family routines. The Ramada Marina was located conveniently close to family, was very comfortable and affordable. We will return to this area again and will stay at Ramada Marina

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSEVILLE
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is the 2nd year I've stayed here and the help is wonderful. The breakfast with the waffles were great/

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Dolores B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AURORA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Everything was very nice, the room was clean, the staff was nice, breakfast was average but very nice that it is included. The extra ammendities are nice like the fridge, iron, and tv with expanded cable. Only small issues were the fridge made lots of noise and the sink was dripping. Kinda funny the room was very nice but they have a one dollar faucet that leaks. Overall, it was a nice stay and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Jeffry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This Ramada property is a nice building in very good condition and the housekeeping seemed fine. The location is just a couple minutes off the freeway. However there are a few things that really detract from an otherwise very pleasant and productive stay, first of which is useless Internet Wifi. I stayed 6 days and on none of those days could I get usable internet speeds for more than a couple minutes during normal times. Often web pages would time out trying to load and you would have to retry several times. Then things would work fine for a minute or two than stall again. I called the front desk and was referred to a toll free number where they were very helpful. They blocked several people running torrent which was using the entire internet capacity and even opened a second network. Things improved for an hour and then were back to useless. I did find that it worked ok most of the time at 4:00 AM though. You also have to sign into their internet services and work your way through there ads several times a day. Also very time consuming, counter-productive and annoying. So if you are planning on using the internet to help you plan your activities or work and don't want to get up at 4:00 AM to do so, pass this place by.

A couple other strange things were that the paint was worn off around the edges of the toilet seat like one would find in an outdoor public bathroom. This just stands out as strange in an other wise very nice facility. Also, instead of having a single recent vintage TV with a DVD player, they had two old medium size tube types, one which you could only watch the very limited cable channels on in front of the couch and another in front of the bed with a DVD player which you could not watch anything else on. You could not watch both on a single TV. Also very strange.

Very noisy road right in front of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper, you will need a back room.

The room prices were very good in September (off season) so I could accept the vintage TV(s) and worn out toilet seat. This just means they don't want to spend enough money to keep the lesser features up to date with the building. But there is no excuse for useless Wifi internet. They could have limiters on each user so that no one could use the entire bandwidth, but they don't. That is the only feature I really couldn't tolerate or do anything about.

Room Tip: Don't stay if you want to use the internet as it doesn't work here. If you cannot sleep thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPRendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritesh P, General Manager at Ramada Marina, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear CPRendon,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I apologize that your stay with us was anything less than perfect. Let me assure you that the issues you had with the internet during your stay are in the process of being corrected and should be completed within the month. We are also in the process of upgrading all of our televisions in our rooms to provide guests with the best experience possible.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to me. I can be reached at (831) 582-9100 Extension 555.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed one night. Had a nice large room with a sofa/bed seating area. Nice king size bed with a desk and table and chairs. Quite spacious. (Relatives traveling with us had a king room that ,was even larger.) Had a small refrigerator/freezer and microwave, plus 2 tvs. Good size bathroom. The breakfast had a waffle maker, cereal, nice selection of breads and muffins. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived before regular check-in time to see if we could check in early but it was not important. The person at the from desk told us they didn't have any rooms cleaned yet. We had reserved 2 rooms as we were traveling with 4 children. The front desk person told us he had us confirmed for a handicapped King room and a room with 2 queen beds. We explained that we reserved 2 rooms with 2 queen beds which he said we did not. After it became apparent that our request would not be granted we asked if there were at least 2 rooms next to each other which he told us 'no' there was a room between us. My wife asked to speak to someone in charge and he told us he was in charge. She asked to speak to someone above him and we were told he could not give out that information. When returned to check in and asked about two rooms together we were told there were none available and we were given rooms on opposite ends of the hall. The person at the front desk proceeded to argue with us over what we booked. My wife became very frustrated with this person (not the same as earlier) and stated we would never stay here again. At some point he decided he didn't want to converse with us any more and call my wife the "rudest person" he had ever met. I maintained my composure as we did not have another option. Upon our check out the original person, whom I assume is the manager (maybe owner) sent someone else to check us out. Stay clear of this place at any cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trend53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marina hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
6.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
7.3 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Marina

Property: Ramada Marina
Address: 323 Reservation Road, Hwy 1 Exit, Marina, CA 93933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of Monterey, California in the quiet coastal town of Marina, the Ramada Marina is your ideal hotel in the heart of the Monterey Peninsula. Renovated in 2011, the 100% smoke free hotel is only a short drive from some of the Peninsulas finest attractions including Monterey’s Fisherman’s Wharf and Cannery Row, as well as Carmel’s Shopping Center and famous 17 Mile Drive and is just a scenic drive from the famous Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. Within walking distance from the hotel you will find downtown Marina and the stunning Marina State Beach. The hotel is highly regarded to be one of Marina’s best value hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Marina Hotel Marina
Marina Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing