We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good RV park but not great value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Dunes RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marina Dunes RV Park
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good RV park but not great value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Wooded spot directly adjacent to sand dunes makes for a nice location but the nearby high way is quite disturbing. Our space was roomy but had a slight slope to it. The common room, free coffe and wash and laundry rooms were all great but prices seemed a little high compared to better equipped parks elsewhere on the CA coast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    20
    15
    10
See reviews for
34
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We booked the website 1 day in advanced we simple fill out th form on the website and they would call us (this is what they say on there on website ). After the email confirmation we tried to call 3 times but no answer. The morning of arrival we called from our previous location to confirm the rv spot the lady (same one that did the finally check out) confirmed over the phone that there will be a spot and again wrote down our european telephone number (we told the lady that its a european cellphone and gave the landcode never had a phone call from the email never a call after the phone contact).

And there it was the big suprise on arrivall at 6:00 front desk closed no name or reservation on the board outside only a few full hook ups (and we didnt need those because they where verry expensive ).

There where a few spots left and one with a name on it saying reserved saying Nopp on the paper (because we are european we thought this was our spot Nopp stand for name on paper ?).

and then right behind us a rv pulls up with people taking the paper and park on the only space left .
so they didnt reserve our spot what we asked for they didnt ask our creditcard info trhougout the phone when we did reached them .
botom line no solution in the morning when we went to the front desk and ended up with a bigger spot full hook up and a higher rate and no service and a unfriendly front desk worker.
the only plus side about this campground is the beach (and the other side a highway behind it with a lot of noise).

Never again this rv spot there are better ones and cheaper and maybe they appreciate there customers more .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marina hotels

Beaumont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

A 4 laner, hwy. 1 runs beside this place and it will wake you up very early. WiFi is sporadic and can't be trusted to do even an email. Way overpriced. Wouldn't refund any money for poor Wifi, even though some hotels do. Hotels in Monterey are cheaper. Sites are good, free coffee/cocoa, workout area, and TV in rec room. Across street are huge dunes and wide ocean beaches.

Room Tip: Don't stay ere if you need a good sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EdwardRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasoned traveller from Devon
Level Contributor
298 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We arrived here in a rented RV on our first night out of San Francisco.
The site is adjacent the freeway and until you get used to the traffic noise is can keep you awake at night.
The facilities are good, laundry, internet, tv in the 'club' area, free coffee etc but the cost at over $70 per night is one of the most expensive parks we've stayed in.
Yes it's a 5 minute walk over the dunes to Marina Beach but is it worth $70 when there are State Parks at half the price in similar locations?
The manager/ reception lady said everything's expensive in Monterey so that's the reason / excuse for the price.
Not a place to which we would return.

Room Tip: Try to book a site away from the freeway where the sleeping part of your RV is pointing away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chocky1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Reservations & check in went smooth & easy.... Very friendly personnel. Clean park & well cared for. Right across from the dunes and only 5 min walk thru dunes & you're on the beach. Each rv pad has a paved patio area with BBQ, fire pit & picnic table. There are only a few sites that will accommodate a big rig so make sure you inquire about availability. Great home base while we visited our daughter who lives in Pacific Grove & saw all the sites Monterey had to offer. We will definitely be returning to this park. Thank you for your hospitality. - Mike & Maureen Welsh

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank m0welsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holzhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Only a few meters away from Highway 101 the noise level is only good if you are used to right on a main street. Rest rooms not well taken care of. No toilette paper @ 8:30. Bad smell in wash room. 10 minutes walk away from the beach - nice. Local staff is friendly, though, hard to understand how they can keep the price as high as they are.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onlineoldie1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My spouse stayed at Marina Dunes from Dec 2012 thru Jun 2013 in a 24 foot Class C RV. Jane and her family were watchful over her and quick to help out whenever needed (I was in another state). Yes, the traffic on the highway was loud and yes, there was a ton of traffic through the RV park, but Monterey is a very busy area with lots of tourists, especially on the weekend. That being said, the area is very conveniently located, with a Wal Mart and Denney's just a few blocks away. The beach is within walking distance and there is easy access to the interstate. Overall, we were happy with the experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank collinsml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
0.2 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
7.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.2 mi away
Monterey Beach Dunes Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Dunes RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Dunes RV Park

Property: Marina Dunes RV Park
Address: 3330 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933-2003
Location: United States > California > Marina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Marina
Number of rooms: 62

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing