We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST STAY EVER!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We had been planning a trip to Marina bay for a while, and when I say my stay at this Hotel was possibly the best experience ive had at a hotel so far, I mean it. My girlfriend and I spent two weeks here while exploring Marina bay, and one of the things that made this stay such an exceptional one was the manner in which the staff conducted themselves; they were very professional, courteous, and caring at all times, they were also very pleasant to be around and conversate about the local attractions and cuisines. Chris, the front desk attendant was very helpful; and Sarah, Oh Sarah, possibly the be best Hostess one could ever hope for. Always had an infectious smile whenever we saw her; and shes also an exceptional cook, the delicious continental breakfast thats always ready and hot each morning, she make them! How amazing. The whole staff was very prompt in responding to all our inquiries and concerns, as a result we had more time touring the area. For our next trip to Marina bay, we already know where we are staying

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Marie
Thank you for staying with us and Thank you for writing a review. The Monterey Peninsula is spectacular and our location offers a great jumping off point to see all the sights. Of course there is the aquarium, then the wineries, then Fishermans Wharf, then Pt Lobos, then Big Sur, then the 17 mile drive, then .... well I am not sure 2 weeks is quite enough time. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 596 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

I chose this place based on the glowing reviews on this site, which I find slightly suspect considering my experience there. First off, when I opened the lid of the toilet in the bathroom shortly after entering my room, I was greeted with a toilet filled with urine, and 2 long black hairs, presumably from the maid. (Now that I look at more reviews on here, it appears they have a problem with communication between the housekeeping staff and the front desk --- sending guests to rooms that aren't clean.) I found the room to be sparse, cheap looking, and nothing special --- nowhere near what I was expecting from these reviews. It's also a bit out of the way if you're looking to sightsee in the Monterey and Carmel areas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregs_out_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Manager at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Number one Thank You for writing a review. Sarah called in all of the housekeeping staff for a meeting based on your review. We are never happy when the room is not totally clean and ready for our customers. We are very sorry to have presented a room to you in this condition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

If you are looking for clean rooms with amazing breakfast in the vicinity, this is the best bet! Convenient location to all major attractions, yet quiet and safe night stay. The staff members are professional and very helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visualinterface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Visual
Thank you for writing a review and for being our customer. We are a travelers choice with a great team and a great location to access all of the Monterey sights as you have noted. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

The manager Sarah, is very personable and helpful. The rooms are very clean and HUGE. I am in town for 30 days and wouldn't dream of staying elsewhere. I haven't tried the full breakfast yet but judging from the amount of people there in the morning it must be pretty good. The guy that works there is very nice as well and was kind enough to tell me where to go to get my car fixed for a reasonable price. I would strongly recommend that anyone cone and stay here.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Mel Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Large clean and fresh rooms with a great breakfast delivered by a helpful friendly team. A travelers choice every time. Thank you for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Patricia S Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

For my anniversary, my husband surprised me with a trip to Carmel, and he booked our stay at this motel. The owners went out of their way to accommodate us. I was worried at first because our door was wide open, but they explained it was due to steam cleaning. Nothing beats a super clean motel, and it really helped me relax during our romantic getaway.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for writing a great review. Yes you are right our team works hard to keep every room clean and fresh. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great getaway. Thank you again for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#5 of 9 in Marina
534 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Marina The Dunes On Monterey Bay
7.1 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

Address: 416 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933-3320 (Formerly Days Inn Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range: $71 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing