We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, I would certainly stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Clean, quiet, easy check-in, reasonable price. Easy to reach power plugs and a desk. Not much else to say.
Clean, quiet, easy check-in, reasonable price. Easy to reach power plugs and a desk. Not much else to say.
Clean, quiet, easy check-in, reasonable price. Easy to reach power plugs and a desk. Not much else to say.
This is what results when websites require a 200 word minimum.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonCCRdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Well I must admit that sometimes the "rules" are a bit much. But then again its nice to hear , "Clean, quiet, easy check-in, reasonable price. Easy to reach power plugs and a desk." a few times. Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 585 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We did a little research to see what the most reasonably priced room would be in the Monterey Bay area and settled on this, still overpriced, but that's the only problem we had here. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Super sweet front desk girl.(Yes the front office is in same building as the gas station, off to the left of the main entrance of the station) Balcony off the back of the room was a nice bonus. Not the best of area's, as some of the other reviews stated, Marina has a substantial homeless problem. As do a lot of the wonderful coastal towns of California, I don't blame them, that's where I would live if I were homeless, but if your not used to seeing people picking through the trash, you might be upset.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Indeed Monterey Bay is beautiful and our location provides clean comfortable rooms with a good continental breakfast so you can go enjoy our area. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Came for Monterey Auto Week and our room was booked by a Corvette group sight unseen. Found owners to be extremely pleasant and accommodating. Property also has gas station and convenience store. At the coastal end of Reservation Road with quick access to the beach and dunes. Rooms were spacious, clean and had a comfy bed with lots of pillows. The owners are REALLY nice people and did everything to ensure a pleasant stay. Fresh cookies and bottled water were always available. The room had a roomy fridge and nice microwave. There were LOTS of outlets for chargers, etc. Wi-fi was free and speedy. I can't say enough good things about this place. It was quiet and the location is convenient. You won't be disappointed in the property or the value. We look forward to going back next year!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank jacksondlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Wow thanks for the great review. Go Corvettes! It was a pleasure having your group stay with us during auto week. We were more than happy to have you stay with us with your fantastic machines.
You more than covered the high points of our property so all I can say is thank you for staying at our Howard Johnson Marina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was very satisfied with my experience at this hotel. The price was extremely reasonable for the area and the breakfast was outstanding. If you are expecting the Four Seasons, you will be disappointed. The rooms do show signs of aging, noise retention is not the best, and the bed was a bit softer than I prefer it to be. However, the owner Sarah is friendly and welcoming, and the other staff member, Chris, did his best to help out with info about the area. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering trip to Monterey or the surrounding areas who needs a budget-friendly place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you have noted our location gives us excellent access to all of the Monterey peninsula activities. We serve a nice continental breakfast with clean well kept rooms. Not the "Four Seasons" but a very good value as you have noted. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was here last month, the Room was really great, very clean, and comfortable, the attention for the girl on the front desk was magnificent, this is really a great place to stay, and even better the price for the night was very low

Congratulations…

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you ever so much for the great review. Our staff are "magnificent" as they all work hard to serve you our customer. As you have noted clean comfortable rooms at a good price. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the best Howard Johnson we've ever stayed in. In fact, it is among the best motels The owners are enthusiastic and sincerely interested in their customers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and its high compliments. Sarah and her team really appreciate a happy customer. You hit the nail on the head they are sincerely interested in you and your stay. Large clean rooms and a continental breakfast with variety. Thank you again for staying with us and writing such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#3 of 9 in Marina
530 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
158 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,085 reviews
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Marina The Dunes On Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

Address: 416 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933-3320 (Formerly Days Inn Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range: $81 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing