We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, We will be back =]”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 584 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Marijayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank CjGj
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We drove up and down PCH1 between Seaside to Carmel looking for an affordable and decent hotel. Anywhere near Monterey was expensive so we stopped at Marina and found a cluster of hotels near Marina's municipal airport. Although not visible from the PCH1 it is still close. The rooms are brand new, clean and spacious. Everything updated and modern. Not a full house tonight so it's quiet. Gas station right next to hotel which made it easy for us to walk a few meters for supplies. Our room has a microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, flat screen tv, blow dryer and iron. All this for under $100!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you ever so much for a great review. It seems that you covered all of the points. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are pleased to have been of service to you. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed when we attended the Sea Otter Bicycle Classic in Monterey with our son and his cycling teammates. The rooms are immaculate and very large. I noticed the furniture, curtains and bed linens are all new. The hotel rates in Monterey are too expensive, so if you want to save money stay here! The continental breakfast was great and because we were running late to my son's bicycle race, the manager insisted that we take whatever we wanted to eat while on the road. Excellent customer service. We will definitely return next year!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdrgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for the review. We have many events in are area and it is always enjoyable to have Sea Otter bicycle classic racers stay at our Howard Johnson Marina location. As you mentioned large clean rooms with continental breakfast. Easy drive to the venue.

Thank You again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This establishment is very clean and fairly priced. The breakfast is simple but good nevertheless. Besides, the staff does an excellent job in keeping it well stocked.

I definitely would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stinkytofoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

As always Thank You for writing a review and Thank you for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina. As you have noted clean rooms good continental breakfast. As the new owners we have been working on all of the details to make our customers stay pleasant and enjoyable. For points of interest in our area take a look at our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/HowardJohnsonMarinaAtMontereyBay

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Quiet, comfortable room. Amenities were fine. Variety of food at breakfast was excellent! Hotel is off the freeway and roads are under construction. No fault of the hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Gordon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank You very much for the great review. As you have noted Sarah has put together a continental breakfast with a lot of variety and she is always coming up with new ideas. Our staff keep our rooms clean. Thank you again for the opportunity to serve you. You might enjoy some information on our Facebook page Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay.
link https://www.facebook.com/HowardJohnsonMarinaAtMontereyBay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#3 of 9 in Marina
530 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
158 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,085 reviews
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Marina The Dunes On Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

Address: 416 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933-3320 (Formerly Days Inn Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range: $81 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing