We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Grandchildren” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    135
    31
    13
    6
See reviews for
141
132
40
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Hotel was clean and nicely furnished, However it also hosts a gas station and mini mart. It was a bit confusing as a sign indicated you check in at the mini mart, but in actuality the office was poorly marked around the corner. I have to admit I was right next to the office and could hardly get wifi to show up and when it did it was really slow.
Weak Shower heads made for mediocre shower.
Other issues were the multiple dogs across the street that would howl when an ambulance would go by. Sort of like the kennel from hell when what sounded like 20 dogs started to howl. The other issue was the chair outside our room, became the smoking and chatting chair of locals visiting the mini mart. I woke up an found an ash tray of butts and a few beer cans.
Breakfast was minimal, yogurt, banana, cereal, and cheap packaged danish. The coffee was served through the Mini mart and you had to go out of the small office are and to the mini mart and back. I really give the place a 2.5 stars. But it was clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Neutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We keep our motel clean and try to provide good service to our customers. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

New furnishing , new flat screen tv ,conntinental breakfast but, wifi not working It was okay we had pleasant stay with my wife.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Corazon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We think the Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay is a great location at a great price. I have been working on balancing the internet service and I am sorry that you experienced difficulties. At one time during your stay we had over 60 connections and I did not have the bandwidth properly allocated. We do have direct connections in the rooms and the front desk has ethernet cables.

Again thank you for the kind review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
399 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The rooms are large and recently renovated. The only complaint on the rooms I have, is the toilet paper dispenser makes is hard to unroll the tissue. The service was excellent with the exception of checkout through the convenience store. I am sure that will be taken care of when the Lobby renovation is complete. Mercedes and Sarah were very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevyntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Yes the lobby is now finally open at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay. We are now serving a continental breakfast and Sarah is much happier working at an actual front desk. We now also have two computers with printers available for our customers in the lobby. We have finished the upgrade to LED lights for the overheads in the rooms. Thank you for the taking the time to write a review on our property and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
1.8 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#4 of 9 in Marina
3.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#2 of 13 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

Property: Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Address: 416 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933-3320 (Formerly Days Inn Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing