We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson by Wyndham Marina at Monterey Bay
Nearby Hotels
Laguna Lodge(Marina)
$98
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Marina)
$127
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$489
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveler rating
350
199
47
19
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
199
47
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas stationmini martchocolate chip cookiesmini sausagesfree cookiesconvenience storebagelsroom was cleanfresh blueberriesmanager sarahmonterey baybottled waterboiled eggsstay there againcontinental breakfastgreat place to staymicrowave and fridge
Filter
Updating list...
582 - 587 of 625 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The rooms are large and recently renovated. The only complaint on the rooms I have, is the toilet paper dispenser makes is hard to unroll the tissue. The service was excellent with the exception of checkout through the convenience store. I am sure that will be taken care of when the Lobby renovation is complete. Mercedes and Sarah were very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nevyntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Yes the lobby is now finally open at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay. We are now serving a continental breakfast and Sarah is much happier working at an actual front desk. We now also have two computers with printers available for our customers in the lobby. We have finished the upgrade to LED lights for the overheads in the rooms. Thank you for the taking the time to write a review on our property and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

1st of all I do realize that they are doing some rennovations to their office area so the check in between fuel customers was different, 2nd, There was a man who smoked on the balcony 2 doors down and the smoke from his cigaretts seemed to go right into our room. 3rd, housekeeping knocking on our door at 8:30am? why? our checkout isn't until 11:00am. 4th, we leave to go have some breakfast at about 9am. returned at about 10:15 to discover we are locked out of our room and housekeeping had entered. This is very unnaceptable!! when I went looking for a manager to speak with in regards to these issues there was not one available. i called the next day from our home to speak with a manager at which time I spoke with Sara who was very appologetic and acknowledged my concernes refunded 50% of my bill. which is all well,but my wife and I should never had endured cigarette smoke or the invasion of our privacy well before checkout time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Eddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

March 29, 2013
We are very sorry that you had a problem with other guests who smoked. All of our rooms are non smoking, but as you experienced people still continue to smoke. Sarah did her best to help resolve your issue. She additionally talked to all of the room support staff to make sure that they do not begin cleaning the room too soon. As you noted the rooms are kept very clean but in this case they started too soon. We value your business and are very sorry that you had problems with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at the Howard Johnson in Marina CA for two weeks. The staff was friendly, the maids let you sleep in, the rooms are big and clean, and the manager was the nicest manager I have ever met. She was very accommodating and was willing to go above and beyond to ensure customer satisfaction. The rates are the best in the area and the location is very close to tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin4jazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Lin4Jazz
Thank you for staying with us at our HOJO Marina. Thank you for taking the time to write a review both for our staff and our future customers. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews