We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    180
    43
    17
    6
See reviews for
196
174
50
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The rooms are large and recently renovated. The only complaint on the rooms I have, is the toilet paper dispenser makes is hard to unroll the tissue. The service was excellent with the exception of checkout through the convenience store. I am sure that will be taken care of when the Lobby renovation is complete. Mercedes and Sarah were very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevyntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Yes the lobby is now finally open at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay. We are now serving a continental breakfast and Sarah is much happier working at an actual front desk. We now also have two computers with printers available for our customers in the lobby. We have finished the upgrade to LED lights for the overheads in the rooms. Thank you for the taking the time to write a review on our property and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

1st of all I do realize that they are doing some rennovations to their office area so the check in between fuel customers was different, 2nd, There was a man who smoked on the balcony 2 doors down and the smoke from his cigaretts seemed to go right into our room. 3rd, housekeeping knocking on our door at 8:30am? why? our checkout isn't until 11:00am. 4th, we leave to go have some breakfast at about 9am. returned at about 10:15 to discover we are locked out of our room and housekeeping had entered. This is very unnaceptable!! when I went looking for a manager to speak with in regards to these issues there was not one available. i called the next day from our home to speak with a manager at which time I spoke with Sara who was very appologetic and acknowledged my concernes refunded 50% of my bill. which is all well,but my wife and I should never had endured cigarette smoke or the invasion of our privacy well before checkout time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
March 29, 2013
We are very sorry that you had a problem with other guests who smoked. All of our rooms are non smoking, but as you experienced people still continue to smoke. Sarah did her best to help resolve your issue. She additionally talked to all of the room support staff to make sure that they do not begin cleaning the room too soon. As you noted the rooms are kept very clean but in this case they started too soon. We value your business and are very sorry that you had problems with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at the Howard Johnson in Marina CA for two weeks. The staff was friendly, the maids let you sleep in, the rooms are big and clean, and the manager was the nicest manager I have ever met. She was very accommodating and was willing to go above and beyond to ensure customer satisfaction. The rates are the best in the area and the location is very close to tourist attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin4jazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Lin4Jazz
Thank you for staying with us at our HOJO Marina. Thank you for taking the time to write a review both for our staff and our future customers. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#4 of 9 in Marina
517 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 9 in Marina
153 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,050 reviews
6.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

Property: Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Address: 416 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933-3320 (Formerly Days Inn Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing