We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot Outside Monterey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Beach Dunes Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Spot Outside Monterey”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I ended up checking in here without a reservation due to a bad experience at a BW in Salinas. The BW Beach Dunes is excellent! Fast and friendly check in, after getting to our room the front desk lady called to make sure everything was okay. The room itself was about what you would expect for a Best Western- clean, comfortable beds but nothing overly fancy.

What really makes this hotel is the location- it's right by the sand dunes beach. Stunning views!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    223
    147
    78
    47
See reviews for
302
163
34
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel was really nice - shortly after checking us in, Loren called to make sure everything in the room was OK and met our expectations. The room was clean, looked nice. Only complaint is the bed was too hard for both of us - we need a softer bed. The hotel is located across the street from a state beach - very easy access. We were visiting Monterey, and didn't mind the short drive back and forth at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Love the location of this hotel - within walking distance to great state beach (no fees at this one) or can drive there to park close. clean restrooms at the beach and a couple of picnic tables. The room was decent, clean, and the only thing I wish they had was a frige and micro. Maybe some rooms do, ours didn't. Had cookies in the afternoon - chocolate chip and fresh baked. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Im sat here trying to think what to say. Difficult because it is what it is. The rooms are adequate without being blown away, The hotel facilities are pretty limited and the breakfast was underwhelming. I would rather have to pay a bit more and get a more substantial breakfast. After saying that this place was not cheap, but less that staying in Monterey or Carmel. Can't think of anything else to say!! Convenient for our journey from Las Vegas to Napa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGMirfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is around a 15-minute drive from Monterey centre and 45 minutes to an hour from Big Sur. I didn't spend much time in the room, more using it as a base.

That said, it was clean, big, and quiet. I had two terrific nights' sleep, I did some laundry and I used the shower. The air-con is a little noisy and breakfast is a tad basic but I'm not a big eater early in the day anyway. For me, it was perfect, with friendly reception staff, somewhere to park, and wifi that worked on multiple devices all around the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia f, Director of Sales at Best Western Beach Dunes Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Best Western Beach Dunes Inn. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will be your first choice the next time you visit the beautiful Monterey Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Now that we've been there, we've found there are plenty of accommodations in the area. Continental breakfast really isn't all that great, rather boring. I'd rather pay $10 and eat properly. The hotel was ok, but not outstanding. The windows didn't work properly, there was mold growing on them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Helene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have stayed at Best Western properties in the past with satisfactory room accommodations however this would not be the case here.

The room was not clean and inviting, it seemed as though it was just given a quick vacuum and new towels and deemed ready for occupancy.

We would not recommend a stay here; for the price we paid we did not expect a lot of amenities but we should have had at the very least a clean room.

And, read the fine print when booking as this establishment takes your money before you stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia f, Director of Sales at Best Western Beach Dunes Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I want to apologize for not meeting your expectations and I will share your feedback with the housekeeping department. It is our goal to make sure each guest has an enjoyable stay. I invite you to book directly with the hotel in the future so you do not experience any confusion regarding advance bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marina hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
0.2 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Monterey Beach Dunes Inn
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beach Dunes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beach Dunes Inn

Property: Best Western Beach Dunes Inn
Address: 3290 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Beach Dunes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Beach Dunes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beach Dunes Hotel Marina
Best Western Marina
Marina Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing