We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

First off, there's really nothing horribly wrong about this motel, it's just showing its age. I only paid $65 on Hotwire so I shouldn't really complain. On the plus side, the room was fairly large and it was clean, the bed was comfortable and it's in a pretty area right next to the dunes. Also the front desk staff were very friendly and eager to help. The breakfast was more than adequate for a continental breakfast. The wifi was sort of hit or miss, it worked most of the time but sometimes, inexplicably, it would just stop working for a few minutes. I just found the room sort of depressing. It's all sort of brown and beige and the double tubes of 7-11 style, florescent, lighting over the sink don't help. The TVs are old tube models and everything just looks kind of worn. I stayed there for 3 days and by the time I left I was really ready to go. It's really crying out for a renovation.

Room Tip: I had a second floor room away from the highway and it was pretty quiet. I suspect the rooms near R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    211
    138
    71
    45
See reviews for
280
153
31
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed two nights on our way down the coast. Booked through Priceline and at first was disappointed to be so far away from Monterey/Carmel. Very close to the beach in a wide open area. Highway is right behind the hotel but wasn't too bad. We had 3 rooms and all were clean. Staff was very accommodating. Very easy and close to where we wanted to go. 17 Mile Drive was only 15 min away.
Breakfast was busy but perfectly fine.
I can't blame the hotel for the screaming child next door....the room was comfortable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
264 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

This is a very quiet place that is perfect for the family scene. The breakfast is above that of a normal Continental. The hot tub is cozy and there is a small play area for the kids. You cannot hear much of the traffic that is on the highway.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RDWNG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Fairly close to state beach across the street. Room a bit small, but decent and clean. Okay breakfast, get there early, the dining room gets crowded fast. Pretty good for what they charge. MINUS: Walls are very THIN, can hear the TV noise from next door. If you are a light sleeper, might not be a good idea to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ling T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We arrived at this hotel late at night after an amazing concert, checking in somewhere between 1-2 am. We were received by an extremely warm, friendly, kind and helpful woman named Janice at the front desk.
We were extremely amazed by her awesome customer service at such a late hour, it was so pleasant to experience when we were so tired and weary from our travels.
It truly made our brief stay at this Best Western a delight to be treated so well and if I could personally give this lady a raise I would.
The room was clean and comfortable. Our only complaint was that the check-out was at noon and we wanted to sleep in a bit later.

Ultimately though, we enjoyed our stay a lot and were very impressed with how well Janice treated us last night. Customer service like hers is rare these days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Set your bar down, it is a chain motel NOT a hotel or resort. You will not be wowed by the location and condition of this Best Western. It is not a slum but maintenance could be better, housekeeping needs to step up, and road noise is the kiss of death if you are in the the end of the property near PCH (Hwy 1.) Pluses: The nicest people in the world work here. Marina State Beach is a rock throw over the dunes - lovely place to stretch your legs and enjoy the ocean. Location makes it a good choice if you have business with CSUMB, but it's a bit of a drive into Monterey proper. If you want to save your travel budget for whiz-bang attractions and good restaurants, planning only to lie your head down after a full day this will do. But more than a couple nights here and I'd be chewing my leg off to get out of it.

Room Tip: Stay as close to the front as you can to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I had already made my reservations when my sister checked tripadvisor. You need to update your information. Location is beautiful with two short routes to walk on the beach. The room was clean and comfortable, with all the modern, expected amenities. The staff was friendly, accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
0.1 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Monterey Beach Dunes Inn
6.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 9 in Marina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn
Address: 3290 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beach Dunes Hotel Marina
Best Western Marina
Marina Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing