We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This Motel Needs Some Best Western Cash Flow!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This Motel Needs Some Best Western Cash Flow!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A motel that charges in the $170 range and with the Best Western name attached, should have a certain basic quality esthetic; this motel was lacking that.
Our room was #139, this is on the lower level. Maybe other rooms are better appointed, but ours was lacking. As has been said before, the bathrooms are small; whenever I closed the door, I bumped into the toilet! And the walls and floors are very thin; TV on one side, voices on the other, and the Boishoi ballet upstairs! Okay, I understand that this can't be fixed easily, it's a matter of how the rooms were designed to begin with but here are some points that can be improved upon:
Door frames and doors were dirty where people had handled them; the shower curtain had mold growing on the lower section; the bathroom in general needed a complete restoration; the carpet was okay, but just barely; when we returned to our room - late in the afternoon, on our second day there - the room had not been made up. When I called to complain I was told it was because we had left our "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door... quess what, we did not even have a "Do Not Disturb" sign, it was missing.
Now for the good points:
There was a manager there - I feel terrible for not getting her name - and she was terrific! Very much on the ball, the kind of person you want in the hospitality business. The breakfast was very well presented, this same manager was in charge of that. The beds were very nice, with pillow tops, probably still rather new. I see this as must for all motels and hotels due to the bed bug epidemics.
Again, I see this as Best Western dropping the ball. This motel is in a great seaside location with tons of tourist potential - of course BW could argue that they already have all the tourist they need for this location, but I am speaking in the broader scope of their reputation as a hospitality provider. I have stayed at a Motel 6 that charged less than half the price of the BW Dunes motel, but gave much better value.
Would I stay here again? If it was a second story room and cleaner, yes.
But really, in the Monterey Bay area you take what you can get for the $170 range. And I am sure that "they" know it!

Room Tip: Request a second floor corner room, in order to get as quiet a room as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    202
    133
    68
    42
See reviews for
274
143
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Room was clean, a/c worked fine. Pillows were horribly lumpy and none of us slept well. The comp breakfast was good, areas were clean. Hot tub was clean. Walmart is really close for prepared foods, groceries, etc. The whole staff was more than friendly. If the pillows were nicer I would have rated it better. Seems like I am being picky but we want a hotel for a good nights' sleep and those dang pillows ruined my sleep. If they fix that one thing or you bring your own pillows.....great place for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs and at the end so in case you have noisy neighbors it will only be on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank go_mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here in July of 2012. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and attentive. We had a room with a refrigerator, but you need to request this when making your reservations, as not all rooms have them. The beach is within walking distance and unspoiled. The location to Monterey makes it an excellent choice, as well as it's proximity to the beach. You feel like you are almost on the beach at this hotel. It is an older hotel, but definitely a great choice for this area - especially considering the very reasonable nightly rate. We would definitely stay here again - and we are very picky when it comes to hotel selection. Our experience visiting the Monterey area was quite pleasant - including our stay at the Best Western Beach Dunes Inn!

Room Tip: Ask for room on the end away from the highway, facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelsColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovereto, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The room was modern and fairly clean, some of the bedding had stains. The bathroom is very small and the water from the sink has a strange taste. Our room was not ready when we arrived around 5:30, normally that isn't a problem at that hour but we had plans and reservations later and wanted to check in first. The hotel is in a quiet area, it's out of the downtown but you can still hear some freeway traffic from the room, maybe the windows need to be replaced. AC is the old-style unit that is under the window but it works well. Overall, it doesn't seem like the normal quality you get from a Best Western. It's not a bad hotel but a bit noisy and it looks more like a lower-range motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chekedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marina hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Where to begin? We arrived while the lady at the front desk took calls on the phone. When she was ready she checked us in. When checking out she had her back to me - she knew I was there, she was just busy and said as much. When I asked about safety deposit boxes or safes in the room she said the manager knew about the safety deposit box and then pointed to something that looked like it was tethered by a bicycle lock to the back the front desk. We decided we wouldn't leave our passports there...

The room had a cloying floral scent which was revolting. The beds were ok and we managed to sleep. The bathroom was grim but just about ok. I just tried not to think about it all too much. Breakfast was grim and we gave up going when we realized it would run out if we weren't there at the crack of dawn. The breakfast room was unbearably noisy and I was relieved we decided to give it a miss. Why there wasn't enough food for the number of guests, I have no idea.

Our room was cleaned one day. The next day someone had half made the beds and changed the towels and that was it. Why even bother half making a bed?

Parking was ok. The beach up the road was beautiful and desolate and that made up for a lot. As did being a ten minute drive from Monterey and close to supermarkets etc.

Price wise I just felt annoyed we had paid the same as we did for a Best Western later in our trip that couldn't have been more different - clean, professional and welcoming.

I just found the whole place strange, bleak and unsettling. I think back to our time there and shudder.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JMS97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I love Best Westerns and we decided to spend one night for a little cheaper in this hotel and spend a second at a more expensive Best Western in Monterey. By Best Western standards, I was disappointed in this hotel. We were met at the desk with no desire to be helpful and made us feel as though we were putting them out by being there. The room was a good size and clean. It had a separate little area with a chair that was nice. There were virtually no amenities. No microwave, fridge, or anything. It also claimed to have HBO, but we couldn't find it. We actually could only find about half the channels listed on the guide provided by the hotel. There is no pool, but there is a very small hot tub which was lukewarm.
The breakfast was pretty good with the standard stuff provided by Best Western with the waffles and things like that. It was fairly crowded but they kept everything stocked. Overall, it was ok, but I would definitely spend more to be in the nicer places closer to Monterey. The price difference was not worth the difference in quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A 3 minute drive takes you to a beautiful sunset on the Pacific Ocean--just on the other side of the sand dune. The rooms were clean, comfortable. No gripes. Not as nice as a Hampton Inn, but so much better than most Best Westerns. Breakfast room was very crowded during our stay. Very helpful staff.

Ask for a room AWAY from the highway. You'll still have highway noise, but it is more than tolerable.

Room Tip: Request room AWAY from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
0.1 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
Monterey Beach Dunes Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 9 in Marina
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn
Address: 3290 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beach Dunes Hotel Marina
Best Western Marina
Marina Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing