We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hotel! Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our family picked this hotel because it was reasonably priced, close to the Monteray Aquarium and had a free breakfast. We were so happy we found this spot! The hotel was so clean! The beds didn't have the typical old comforters, that you don't want to sit on because you don't know if they get washed. Instead the beds had very clean, white linens. The room was spotless as well as the sauna/hot tub area. The hotel felt very new like it was just built. We were also happy with the breakfast. The kids loved the pancake making machine and I enjoyed the very hot coffee. We stayed in 5 different hotels over our vacation and this was by far the best hotel overall. We missed the cookies....heard they were good too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 245Cal245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 282 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Didn´t like that hotel. Staff was friendly and gave me an "upgrade".. That was a, admittedly spacious, room, but it was really noisy, I heard every slamming door in that "hotel"! The best thing at this hotel was the Walmart across the street, where I could buy some beer to stand the night!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jens F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Jens F,

Thank you for you review. I am glad that our staff were friendly during your stay however, I am truly sorry about the noise disturbance in your room. We try our best to ensure all guests have a great stay and undisturbed sleep. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Upon my arrival the desk clerk was nice but I had explicitly asked for a top floor room and she gave me a 1st floor room. She did fix it and give me a top floor. There was a place to park my 30' truck, which is very important.
The breakfast was fair. They use those prefab hockey puck type eggs. The coffee, both in room and in the breakfast room is terrible. The hallways looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in days.
Room was ok but the mattresses in my room really need replacing.....

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank kernvilledaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Wheelchair user, pleased that room accommodated all my feeds throughout my stay. Have no problem saying if I come back to that part of the world again, I'll be happy to stay there. Staff very friendly, nice touch was being offered home made cookies in reception.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshalsw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We put up the extra money for a junior suite, which was only $10 less than the already reserved deluxe suite, and oh boy was bad luck.

The room was about 5ft. longer than the traditional two bed hotel room. The bummer part is that it costs significantly more. Live and learn on that one.

Something I think that cannot be changed is the staff. The front desk is operated by owners son and wouldn't lift a finger if it meant going out of the way for the customer. Don't try to check in before 3 because they certainly won't help. Morning breakfast was quite a treat. All you really need is a freaking plate to collect your food, but they made it seem like you might try to take their first born.

So, bad staff and bad room equals bad experience. Pay the extra money and stay in the city you are going to be spending most of your time anyways... Monterey.

Room Tip: Get the least expensive room. The more expensive rooms are 100% the same as those half as much. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happiestbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Happiestbaby,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received poor service from our staff which was unacceptable. I understand the discomfort this caused you. We will look into this. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Although this hotel is a little dated in decor, it's a great hotel to be in.
The location just off the highway means to can travel easily from here to many attractions, but also stay close for the beach.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are large and have all you would wantin them.
Breakfast is inclusive and for that is very good indeed.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank paddyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were actually on Fisherman's Wharf when we realized late in the evening we had not made a hotel reservation for the evening while on our two-week PCH journey. While this particular Holiday Inn Express was a little higher than our daily hotel budget, it was well worth the extra dollars. In a busy area such as this, we got the last room but it was very nice. The evening front staff person was exceptionally friendly, the hotel was very upper-scale for a Holiday Inn and our room was "roomy". The morning breakfast was excellent. Would stay here again when visiting the area!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LENNYPAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
0.7 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Marina The Dunes On Monterey Bay
0.9 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#4 of 9 in Marina
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
158 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina

Address: 189 Seaside Ave, Marina, CA 93933-2505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range: $105 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marina, CA!We are located on the Monterey Peninsula, just minutes from Downtown Monterey, Cannery Row and Monterey's Fisherman's Wharf. Santa Cruz, Seaside & Sand City are also nearby.Close to the natural beauty of the dunes and Marina State Beach Park, this hotel offers the guest great value and proximity to the areas world-class golf, dining, and attractions. We are a short drive to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea, 17 Mile Drive, & Pacific Grove.Our beautiful hotel features complimentary Deluxe Express Start Continental Breakfast, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, and free local phone calls. After a day of sightseeing, return to your comfortable room to relax or enjoy an invigorating work out in our fitness room or dip in our oversized hot tub. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel very soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Marina
Holiday Inn Express Marina
Holiday Inn Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing