We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Our company has a job in Salinas and have been working on the weekends and  during that time we have been staying here for the last month.  The manager, Anna, has been so helpful getting our accommodations taken care of and Dev was great in getting our account setup with a corporate discount.  We also brought our daughters down and while my husband worked and we went to Monterey to the Aquarium (just about 20 mins from here).  Very clean and breakfast has worked out great.  If you need a place to stay in this area is is a great place to come!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 284 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

That's our only complaint the elevator was out before we got there we stayed there a week and it was still out when we left. It is unexcuseable for a 3 story hotel in California to not have the elevator fixed in that time period. The front desk staff and housekeeper where great! Had we known that we would spend a busy week hauling gear in and out up and down stairs we would not have stayed there. Call ahead

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wyotravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear wyotravler,

Thank you for leaving a review. I am deeply sorry for the problems you encountered with the elevator. This problem has since been resolved. We take all comments seriously and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is any thing we can do to make your next stay more comfortable. Please do not hesitate to ask.

Katie J
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Amazing!! Freeway junctures made it a little difficult to get on the right road, but easy to find after that. Once we arrived the front desk staff was very accommodating, and knowledgable about the surrounding area. BEST OF ALL was the indoor outdoor hot tub. And its super close to the ocean, so convience is not an issue.

Room Tip: Show up late, we did and got the roome we wanted but couldnt get with the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel several times in the past and have always been happy with the amenities and staff. This weekend, however, we were very disappointed. We stayed for two nights in the presidential suite. When we arrived and asked for extra towels for our family, the front desk clerk delivered a bath towel and informed us that they were out of washcloths. WHAT?! Later when we went to visit the spa, which was at best lukewarm, there were no towels in that area, so I called for some to be delivered and was rudely told to check next door in the workout room. Luckily there were three towels for us to use. The next morning, we set out on our adventures and upon returning around 3pm, discovered our room had not been tended to that day. Housekeeping had only come in to pick up our dirty towels but had done nothing else. We had no fresh towels and our beds were a mess. The night staff was very unhelpful and didn't seem to care.

Room Tip: Hotel is very quiet and usually meets our expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The staff at this hotel are probably the worst I have encountered (yes, included the one who smoked in my room). Say yourself some money. Do not book here.

Room Tip: Just don't go here; pretty simple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noneof Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The HIE in Marina is a comfy place to stay - close to Monterey, Carmel, and the other fun tourist spots in the area, but far enough away to enjoy a quiet evening out of the hustle bustle. There is a park with walking trail across the street for quiet morning and evening strolls. A Super Wal-Mart right next door makes it easy to get supplies. We like staying at HIEs and this one did not disappoint. Room was clean, up-to-date, comfortable, and equipped with refrigerator and microwave. The breakfasts were very good, especially the warm cinnamon rolls. However, the best part of our stay were the staff - in particular Holly (in the breakfast room) and Melissa (at the front desk in the morning). They always greeted us with smiles and friendly conversation. Definely, would stay here again if visiting the Peninsula.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. The 2nd floor is actually the one at ground level. The 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funNsun324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I have been in and reviewed many HI Ex's through out the western portions of the U.S. Being a Priority Club member, this brand is one my family of 5 know what we need and should expect. Its not always met, so I tend to review those that I would take my family and friends too. This is one of those hotels the family thinks of as "hidden gem". The HI Exp of Marina has a great location (4 minute walk to the Pacific Ocean/7 minute drive to Monterey and the Aquarium, etc), amazing staff (manager made breakfast gravy for us even though is wasn't scheduled..) huge spacious rooms for families. Why this motel isn't busier is a mystery, albeit a happy one for any p.c. member making their points stretch out. Been there 3 times and going back again next week when we visit family. 24 minute drive up Hwy 1 to downtown Santa Cruz and Boardwalk and 20 minute drive down to Carmel. They even have a Starbucks for my wife across a city park from hotel! Love this place!

Room Tip: 1st floor is actually lower level but near the awesome HUGE hot tub and sauna. 2nd has the suites a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doc0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
0.7 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Marina The Dunes On Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#5 of 9 in Marina
535 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina

Address: 189 Seaside Ave, Marina, CA 93933-2505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range: $103 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marina, CA!We are located on the Monterey Peninsula, just minutes from Downtown Monterey, Cannery Row and Monterey's Fisherman's Wharf. Santa Cruz, Seaside & Sand City are also nearby.Close to the natural beauty of the dunes and Marina State Beach Park, this hotel offers the guest great value and proximity to the areas world-class golf, dining, and attractions. We are a short drive to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea, 17 Mile Drive, & Pacific Grove.Our beautiful hotel features complimentary Deluxe Express Start Continental Breakfast, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, and free local phone calls. After a day of sightseeing, return to your comfortable room to relax or enjoy an invigorating work out in our fitness room or dip in our oversized hot tub. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel very soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Marina
Holiday Inn Express Marina
Holiday Inn Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing