We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No real complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monterey Beach Dunes Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No real complaints”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Rented our room completely last minute on Memorial Day weekend after our original hotel canceled our reservation without notice. We were just grateful to have found a room for a fairly decent rate. Nothing special to report, staff was very nice though, which was appreciated. Had a queen room which was pretty small but doable. The shower was weird though, kept changing water temp on its own. We could only find one power outlet to charge our phones with and we had to alternate, but since we were only in the room long enough to sleep and shower, it wasn't too big of a deal.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    38
    49
    46
    64
See reviews for
68
77
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We chose this property for our Memorial weekend getaway. It was a last minute decision to getaway from the North Bay and take our 3 boys with us. Beach time is always a good time and the property was within walking distance to Marina State Beach. The beach is massive with lots of room to play and no entrance fee into the park, but on a first-come-first serve basis. Parking is very limited. The hotel is in serious need of a facelift. Our room was old and stale, as to appear dirty. The bathroom was in serious need of a grout and scale cleaner and rust was covering the shower rod. I found it odd that the hotel claims to be a "Green" sustainable business and that's why water isn't used to keep the room clean. The hotel also claims to have a pool but fail to tell what kind of pool. It's a very large hot tub to accommodate 15+ people. The water temperture was less than 90 degrees when the manager said it is kept at 104. The water was filthy with floating plant debris. Don't waste your time with the free breakfast. It is poorly located and its a fight to get anything. No formed line and its a free for all to grab what you can. Tiny Bistro type tables with only a couple of chairs. No scrambled eggs, only hard boiled eggs that were probably cooked in the microwave. No Fruit, no choices! Coffee was always gone with only 2 carafes. The pastry tasted more than day old stuff. We were kept up late because of the revelers who were in the pool past 10 pm screaming and shouting. We even had a couple outside of our room having a very loud chat by the window. My husband had to tap on the window to make them move away. I realize that location has a way to justify the cost, but this property is over-rated and over priced. No value!

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the spa area and you might be able to get some sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepidhiker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was this first time we stayed at this hotel. We came out here for the Reggae Fest. We usually stay closer in land but it was out of our budget this year. I found a great deal through AAA for the Quality Inn. I had a concern and was worried about paying more for a further cab ride to the fairgrounds because we were further out but Theresa, Hotel Concierge, gave me a yellow cab contact that would take us there for $25, which is worth it because their meter went over that amount. The other thing I liked about this hotel is that there is FREE breakfast in the morning, not just continental but waffles, biscuits and gravy, and all the other stuff breakfast should be and it was good! When we checked out, we even took a nice little romantic walk on the trail across the street that took you to the ocean, so beautiful and relaxing. Good customer service, good location and good food! We will be back soon! Thanks Theresa!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlysiaLovesTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel. at first we were a bit scared from the reviews we previously read online about this particular hotel. After driving up there we weren't able to check in until 3, so we decided to explore around there. the hotel is good because its close to highway 1, and the local state beach.

Room Tip: if you do stay here be sure to get a room that faces the beach dunes, its a great view and better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The ENTIRE staff was friendly! And not just a fake smile and a bored, "good morning". Which is an amazing site for someone who lives in the Bay Area...

The extended breakfast was the best I've ever seen and was very efficiently restocked all morning. The location it is across the street from the beach and a three minute car drive into town which has a great selection of restaurants, shops, and stores.

Also, we needed a (very) small refund but the manager was away (paperwork was needed for refund), so the girl working tried to give us the few dollars out of her own purse so that we could have the refund right then! It was very sweet. This place is absolutely dedicated to good, efficient service. I can't find a single reason that anyone would ever regret staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prospect ny
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

i have come here 9 consecutive years,and hope to visit again next spring... very reasonable price,very quiet at night,a clean room, very helpful staff,including manager teresa. the hot tube is wonderful-it's the size of some swimming pools...i've spent many hours in that hot tub....also,a great free breakfast,waffles, oatmeal,hardboiled eggs,all kinds of juice,cereal,fruit,sweets,biscuits and sausage,etc etc. and the smell of the 'california blue blossoms' is heavenly. it's across the street from the beautiful dunes,and of course, the ocean.it's right off of route 1,very close to the most beautiful place in the world-Big Sur. anyways, i love this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victorProspectNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We thought for the price, we would have a half reasonable experience. The room was small & smelly; breakfast was the worst offering of food served in what must have been an old bedroom. Worst was the service! Don't expect them to help before 9am as 'we don't start till then' even to find a hair dryer that should have been in the room. No where to eat close by. On the good side, the beach is close & shower pressure was great. But if you can go elsewhere to have a pleasant stay, do it!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
0.2 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 9 in Marina
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
1.4 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#4 of 9 in Marina
517 reviews
6.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Beach Dunes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Beach Dunes Inn

Property: Monterey Beach Dunes Inn
Address: 3280 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933-2005 (Formerly Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes)
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Beach Dunes Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Beach Dunes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes Hotel Marina
Quality Inn Marina
Marina Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing