We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired, but with some nice features”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Beach Dunes Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little tired, but with some nice features”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for a few days, mainly for the price. Its seemed like best value in the area esp if you want two rooms - they have rooms with a connected with a joint entrance door. The hotel is around 7 miles from Monterey and hence a short drive into town (this is the USA !). The best feature of this hotel is that its ~ 300m from Marina State Beach which is clean and quiet, a great place to watch the ocean and birds. A special mention to Katrina the "breakfast" lady, she was really focused on her customers and wanted to make sure that everyone had what was available .. coffee, cereal, toast, doughnuts and waffle maker ...top employee. Despite some claims we found the rooms tidy and clean, water always hot... although the rooms were dated. We didnt use the hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isca_cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    38
    48
    46
    63
See reviews for
68
76
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I didn't have access to a computer to read the reviews but the location of this hotel seems perfect..near the freeway and the rugged beachfront just south of Monterey. And the price seems reasonable..until you see the rooms. The fridge was mouldy, the bath unclean and the place is old and worn. I don't accept other reviewers 'you get what you pay for' adage. I had a wonderful hotel in downtown San Fran for $70 a night which was impeccably clean, quality beds with huge comfy pillows. Do yourselves a favour, pay a few extra dollars for somewhere worth the money.

Room Tip: Don't take room 412! Try for a room on the 3rd floor at the front..they are probably the best a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Avrilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marina hotels

napa, ca
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

It's a bargain for Monterey for a reason. The photos of the property are far better than you would imagine. The hot tub is big but it was broken during our stay. I asked about a discount and they would not commit to giving me one. The rooms are in need of some remodeling or just some deep cleaning. The staff was great, which is why I am rating this hotel better than it deserves to be rated.

Room Tip: Good somewhere else and spend the extra $20 a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hudds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The room is not acceptable for $100 a night. I stayed at Courtyard by Marriott for about the same price and it was 4 stars.

Please do not be fooled with the picture. The carpet is dirty, and the bathroom is old. The bed is even older. Breakfast was ok. I think it is overprice because it is near Monterey. Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe try Best Wester next door, it is nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wowparry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here mid-week during 4th of July. It's a 5 minute drive to Monterey and a 5 minute drive to Moss Landing, which is where we went for a whale watching trip. The positives: Bed was comfortable and room included a mini fridge, cofee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Negatives: Unfortunately the building is old and in need of a face-lift. One of the seats had a stain on it that just looked disgusting (see picture) and the room was not properly vaccumed (see picture). You can't see the beach; you only have a view of the restaurant across the street (Kula Ranch). The room was cheap for the area, but it is definitely a "no frills" motel. By staying here we had enough money to do some fine dining in Monterey. We will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Motel has three floors, but no elevator. One side of the building faces the noisy highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigdaddypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel primarily for the price, and it showed. We rented one of their "Suites" which is two rooms at the corner of the building behind one common door. One room had two queens and the other a single queen. Each had its own bathroom. Neither is more than a regular room of that bed-count size. In other words, while it is labeled a "suite" there is no living room area in either. The two-bed room had two chairs and a small table by the window. It was fine for our purposes but hardly a suite. The two rooms we had faced the back of the building on the top (third) floor and the highway and parking lot noise was very loud. Keep in mind also that the third floor is a walk-up only. We stayed two nights and on the second day, the housekeeping staff made the beds and changed the towels but nothing else. They did not vacuum nor did they empty the trash cans. Also, when we checked out and wanted to split the room bill they said they were unable to do that.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front, away from the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here (luckily only) one night on the way to San Francisco. The whole facility is run down, and poorly maintained. Our room was not very clean, and very noisy all night long, with teenagers running / screaming up and down in the outside (balcony-like corridor). Also, wifi did not work for most of our stay, and we had to walk all the way to their sister hotel to use internet. The manager was super rude and unhelpful, and she did not see why we are upset not having wifi. Breakfast was a joke, it was very basic. The breakfast room was small and dirty, with hundred people waiting a single toaster. Also, if you booked your room through hotwire, beware that they will treat you as you have a disease, and allocate you the worst room (and the manager was very transparent about it). I would not stay there again !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bahadir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Monterey Beach Dunes Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I want to apologize for the issues you experienced while a guest at the hotel. The WIFI problems we were experiencing were addressed and were fixed propmtly. The breakfast meets the standards set forth by Choice Hotels. We welcome all guests warmly no matter which avenue they have chosen to book their hotel reservation. I sincerely apologize for the perception you received of our hotel and hope that you will contact us in the future to allow us to provide you with the excellent customer service we pride ourselves in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
0.2 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
1.3 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#4 of 9 in Marina
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Beach Dunes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Beach Dunes Inn

Property: Monterey Beach Dunes Inn
Address: 3280 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933-2005 (Formerly Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes)
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Beach Dunes Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Beach Dunes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes Hotel Marina
Quality Inn Marina
Marina Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing