We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, but for good reason.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monterey Beach Dunes Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, but for good reason.”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here mid-week during 4th of July. It's a 5 minute drive to Monterey and a 5 minute drive to Moss Landing, which is where we went for a whale watching trip. The positives: Bed was comfortable and room included a mini fridge, cofee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Negatives: Unfortunately the building is old and in need of a face-lift. One of the seats had a stain on it that just looked disgusting (see picture) and the room was not properly vaccumed (see picture). You can't see the beach; you only have a view of the restaurant across the street (Kula Ranch). The room was cheap for the area, but it is definitely a "no frills" motel. By staying here we had enough money to do some fine dining in Monterey. We will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Motel has three floors, but no elevator. One side of the building faces the noisy highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigdaddypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    38
    48
    46
    63
See reviews for
68
76
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel primarily for the price, and it showed. We rented one of their "Suites" which is two rooms at the corner of the building behind one common door. One room had two queens and the other a single queen. Each had its own bathroom. Neither is more than a regular room of that bed-count size. In other words, while it is labeled a "suite" there is no living room area in either. The two-bed room had two chairs and a small table by the window. It was fine for our purposes but hardly a suite. The two rooms we had faced the back of the building on the top (third) floor and the highway and parking lot noise was very loud. Keep in mind also that the third floor is a walk-up only. We stayed two nights and on the second day, the housekeeping staff made the beds and changed the towels but nothing else. They did not vacuum nor did they empty the trash cans. Also, when we checked out and wanted to split the room bill they said they were unable to do that.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front, away from the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here (luckily only) one night on the way to San Francisco. The whole facility is run down, and poorly maintained. Our room was not very clean, and very noisy all night long, with teenagers running / screaming up and down in the outside (balcony-like corridor). Also, wifi did not work for most of our stay, and we had to walk all the way to their sister hotel to use internet. The manager was super rude and unhelpful, and she did not see why we are upset not having wifi. Breakfast was a joke, it was very basic. The breakfast room was small and dirty, with hundred people waiting a single toaster. Also, if you booked your room through hotwire, beware that they will treat you as you have a disease, and allocate you the worst room (and the manager was very transparent about it). I would not stay there again !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bahadir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Monterey Beach Dunes Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I want to apologize for the issues you experienced while a guest at the hotel. The WIFI problems we were experiencing were addressed and were fixed propmtly. The breakfast meets the standards set forth by Choice Hotels. We welcome all guests warmly no matter which avenue they have chosen to book their hotel reservation. I sincerely apologize for the perception you received of our hotel and hope that you will contact us in the future to allow us to provide you with the excellent customer service we pride ourselves in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marina hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I had the best night sleep. Wonderful staff( Christina, Annette and Shaunay)had issues with my shower and front desk actually came to my room to assist me which was much appreciated thank you Annette,and Christina. I will return at the end of the month for another perfect nights sleep,hope to see you girls again.

Sincerely
Mr.Neuman

Room Tip: no elevator only stairs,front of hotel had more of a view. backside has highway view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

old hotel, beds not comfortable, rooms are small, location was ok. close to a beach, nothing was around the hotel, the only close place to eat was dennys, i think overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I've stayed here before and it seems everytime gets worst. The rooms, are too out dated, the price is way over rated but it walking distance from the beach. Shower an sink has'nt been cleaned properly. Breakfast, ill... But staff are real friendly.

Room Tip: Think twice, for the price, there's better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank menione m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We choose this hotel because we wanted to visit the Monterey area, the hotel was okay for the price we pay. Our room was clean, the breakfast was average, but they actually have a room where you can seat.
The hotel is close to the sea, but there is not really a lot of place to eat or hang out in the area.
We also had the bad surprise to be charged twice for the room, even if we assured when we arrived that we already paid for the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarineDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
0.2 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
6.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#4 of 9 in Marina
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Beach Dunes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Beach Dunes Inn

Property: Monterey Beach Dunes Inn
Address: 3280 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933-2005 (Formerly Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes)
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Beach Dunes Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Beach Dunes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes Hotel Marina
Quality Inn Marina
Marina Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing